National Inter Club Knock Out (NICKO)

The NICKO, as it is affectionately named, is probably the most popular of all tournaments with around 300 teams entering annually. The NICKO is open to all affiliated EBU bridge clubs. The early rounds are of 24 boards, increasing to 32 boards for the quarter-finals and semi-finals and 48 boards for the final, with the draw regionalised to reduce travelling.

Why not get together with your regular partner and a couple of teammates from your club and ask your club secretary to enter your team for the NICKO? An unlimited number of teams can be entered by a club.

Seeding for top teams (usually 16) will be based on Gold Points, except that the previous year's finalists will be seeded if known in time. Seeded teams will usually be exempt from the first two rounds and will be not be eligible for the plate competition.

In order to avoid excessive travel, seeded teams may be drawn against each other from round four.

The Plate competition will be open to all unseeded teams defeated in their first match of the main event, either in round 1, or in round 2 following a bye.

Important: Player Eligibility Criteria

It was necessary to disqualify teams from the 2015/16 competition for fielding players who were not registered members of their club. Please help us to ensure that this course of action is not necessary in future competitions by including in your team only players who are registered members. For help on ensuring your club's membership list is up to date watch the second video on the 'club help' page.

Please ensure that your team complies with the criteria given below.


Entry forms are available for all affiliated clubs. Entries should be submitted by the Club Secretary, who should be satisfied of the credentials of the players. Players must be members of the affiliated club (and included on the membership list registered by the club with the EBU), and must have been so for at least three months immediately prior to the closing date for the competition. Moreover, nominated players must play regularly at the club or for the club or contribute regularly in some other way OR have met this criteria in previous years, yet be unable to currently do so through some personal circumstance (e.g. illness, work, childcare, etc).

Clubs are required to ensure that their members meet the criteria outlined and are thus eligible to represent them. Clubs are also asked to ensure that their representatives match the ethos of the competition. If any complaints are received that a team does not meet these criteria, the club will be required to explain why they believe the players to be eligible.

Each club can enter an unlimited number of teams, to be referred to as teams A, B, C, etc. in no particular order of preference. Each team can be four, five or six players. At least four of the players must be nominated on the entry form at the time that the entry is submitted;

Extra players may be added, up to a maximum of six, at any time during the competition, provided (a) they are qualified as above, and (b) they have not represented another team in the competition. No player may represent more than one team during the year of the competition.

The fact that a player may represent one club in this event does not bar him or her from representing another club in the Garden Cities Trophy or any other inter-club event. Teams will not be drawn against other teams from the same club for the first two rounds, but may be thereafter. This is designed to reduce travelling distances for teams in the middle rounds.

Holders - 2016

Cup - TGR A; Artur Malinowski, Thor Erik Hoftaniska, Marilyn Malinowska, Graham Orsmond, Tom Townsend and Janet de Botton.

Plate - British Rail A: Roger Mallinson, Peter Kelly, Andy Wells, Alex Hogg, Sheila Kelly & Cedric Cockcroft

Current results

2016/17 Cup; 2016/17 Plate


2017/18 Main Event (provisional)

To be completed by


19th November 2017


21st January 2018


4th March 2018


22nd April 2018


3rd June 2018


15th July 2018


9th September 2018


21st October 2018

2017/18 Plate Event (provisional)


28th January 2017


11th March 2018


29th April 2018


10th June 2018


22nd July 2018


16th September 2018


28th October 2018

Entry Fees

2017/18 Entry Fees: £77 per team

2016/17 Entry Fees: £75 per team

The closing date for entries is 11am on Monday 25th September 2017

Master Points

Main Event

Round I II III IV V VI VII Semi Final
Green Points 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 6 8


Round I II III IV Quarter Final Semi Final
Green Points 1 1 1.5 1.5 2 3 4


Level 4 agreements are permitted in this event.

Halfway venues

Some clubs are available for hire by teams wishing to hold a knockout match at a 'halfway venue'. A list of some of these is available here.

Terms and Conditions