

2023

CORWEN TROPHY

Online on RealBridge 3rd & 4th June 2023

PROGRAMME Revised 2023-06-02

1 Introduction

Welcome to the 2023 Inter-County Pairs Championship of England, played for the Corwen Trophy. The expected entry for the event is 87 pairs, see Entries below.

2 Schedule of play

11:00 - 13:50	Session 1: 24 boards
14:30 - 17:20	Session 2: 24 boards
11:00 - 13:50	Session 3: 24 boards
14:30 - 17:20	Session 4: 24 boards
	14:30 - 17:20 11:00 - 13:50

The sessions will consist of 12 x 2-board rounds. There will be a sit-out.

3 Starting positions

Players should log on to RealBridge with their name and EBU numbers. Starting positions for the first session will be assigned randomly by the platform. Starting positions for the second day will be determined by the movement – players will be taken to their seats by the platform when the log on.

4 Master Point awards

Green Points to half-way, with a top award of 14.00 points per player and a minimum award of 2.00 points per player. Awards for intermediate places are in accordance with the standard EBU congress scale formula.

5 Prizes

This is a county representative event and there are no prizes for this event – this is reflected in the entry fee. The are medals for the winners.

6 Special regulations

6.1 RealBridge

See EBU RealBridge Instructions

6.2 **Ties**

A tie will be split only for the purpose of establishing the winner of the Corwen Trophy. Standard EBU split tie procedures will apply, the first test being the result of the head-on encounter between the pairs involved if they have all met. Tied contestants share equally any master point applicable to those places.

6.3 Systems and conventions

You are required to have a system card online that should make available to your opponents at the start of each round, by posting a link in the table chat. This event is a Level 4 event and you must use an EBU system card (you may not use WBF system cards, which are only permitted in EBU Level 5 events).

You can use any existing link to your system card. Otherwise, system cards can be uploaded to My EBU > Utilities > System Cards, where you can get a link.

6.4 Best Behaviour at Bridge

Please be nice to your partner, be pleasant to your opponents and be polite to the Tournament Directors. Otherwise you may well be given a Disciplinary Penalty!

6.5 Telephones and other electrical communication

Mobile phones and other electronic communication devices may not be used during play, except in an emergency.

6.6 Scoring queries

Scoring queries for the first two sessions may be raised until the start of the final session. For the penultimate session they should be raised within twenty minutes of the end of the event, and for the final session by 5pm on Tuesday.

6.7 Special circumstances

General EBU regulations apply in relation to any matter not detailed in these conditions (e.g. protest time). However, any conditions, whether they be general or specific to this competition as set out in this programme, may be varied by the Chief Tournament Director in order to accommodate any unforeseen circumstance and in order to facilitate the smooth running of this event.



English Bridge Union Limited Broadfields, Bicester Road, Aylesbury HP19 8AZ phone: 01296 317200 e-mail: postmaster@ebu.co.uk web site: www.ebu.co.uk

7 Entries

Ed Scerri	Steve Eginton	Berks. & Bucks.
Steven Lynch	Paul Dolphin	Berks. & Bucks.
Dick Davey	Nigel Wolfendale	Berks. & Bucks.
James Chapman	Mike Wenble	Berks. & Bucks.
Dee Lindon	Peter Lindon	Berks. & Bucks.
Matthew May	Ross Midgley	Cambs & Hunts
John Liebeschuetz	Rod Oakford	Cambs & Hunts
Gordon Scott	Rosanne Mattick	Cambs & Hunts
Graham Boxall	John Honey	Channel Islands
Henry Gompertz	Wendy Williams	Cornwall
Chris Bickerdike	Jo Bryant	Cornwall
Geoff Smith	Glyn Meredith	Cornwall
Pravin Tailor	Richard Edwards	Derbyshire
Douglas Dunn	Nigel Wain	Devon
John Vaughan	Mike Hamon	Devon
Daphne Twinberrow	Rosemary Caddy	Devon
Janet Smith	Kelly Courtney	Dorset
John Gardner	Sarah Fazakerley	Dorset
Hugh Kevill-Davies	Jon Holland	Dorset
Ashley Sawyer	Gary Waller	Essex
Chris Chorley	Paddy Murray	Essex
Linda Fleet	Petra Bromfield	Essex
Audrey Hartley	David Embleton	Essex
Mike Kinsey	Tony Truluck	Hants & I.O.W.
Andrew Doye	Lilias Lamont	Hants & I.O.W.
Simon Taylor	Stephen Scott	Hants & I.O.W.
Fred Hotchen	Steve Preston	Hants & I.O.W.
Ben Britton	Mike Ralph	Herefordshire

Tom Dessain	Tugrul Kaban	Herts
Mike Rawlins	Naomi Gibbs	Herts
Ivan Leung	Paul Lee	Herts
Anthony Osborne	Francis Eddleston	Herts
Alex Carine	Jascha Garre	Isle of Man
Jeremy Willans	Jill Skinner	Kent
Franco Carlotti	Helen Carlotti	Kent
Mark Benson	Steve Auchterlonie	Kent
John Williams	Martin Hammer	Kent
John Dearing	Ross Shine	Lancashire
Andrew Lum	David Costich	Lancashire
Alan Purdy	David W Briggs	Lancashire
Linda Smith	Michael Tomlinson	Lancashire
Justin Hackett	Martin Taylor	Manchester
Eddie Thornton-Chan	Tony Hodgson	Manchester
Kathleen Nelson	Rhona Goldenfield	Manchester
John Hampson	Matt Foster	Merseyside/Cheshire
Paddy Murphy	Tracy Sherman	Merseyside/Cheshire
Matt Millson	Mike Walsh	Norfolk
Mark Hill	Simon Budd	Norfolk
Chris Mallon	Peter Cotes	Norfolk
Reg Hornsey	Tony Watson	North East
Mark Tilley	Tim Durdin	Northamptonshire
Daniel Baines	Robert Miller	Northamptonshire
Brian Churchill	Jane Reeve	Northamptonshire
Lloyd Eagling	Stan Zygadlo	Notts
John Rolph	Sandy Fulton	Notts
Jeff Watkins	Keith Rodgers	Notts
Christopher Whitehouse	Mary-Ann Sheehy	Oxfordshire
Alan Wilson	Nick Smith	Oxfordshire

Krys Kazmierczak	Sandra Nicholson	Oxfordshire
Grant Weston	Robert Judge	Somerset
Alan Atkinson	Michael Martin	Somerset
Martin Church	Michael McCartney	Staffs & Shropshire
Helen Lees	Peter Lees	Staffs & Shropshire
David Mathews	Helen Mason	Suffolk
Dave Allen	Nancy Williams	Suffolk
Christine Cooke	Roger Bacon	Suffolk
Dominic Cooke	William Clennell	Surrey
Barry Stoker	Bob Hampson	Surrey
Adrian Patrick	Robin Griffiths	Surrey
Andrew Bannock	John Dagnall	Surrey
Christine Dyer	David Dawson	Surrey
Mike Scoltock	Peter Lee	Surrey
Dave Nastaszczuk	Philip Roxburgh	Sussex
Julian Mitchell	Peter Clinch	Sussex
Bob Foster	Val Cooper	Warwickshire
Andy Cope	Giles Ip	Warwickshire
David Pratt	David Rutter	Warwickshire
Geoffrey Bernard Evans	Stephen Moffat	Warwickshire
Sriram Chari	Tina Cottee	Wiltshire
Roger Karn	Stuart Bridge	Wiltshire
Richard Jephcott	Ross Garratt	Worcestershire
David Motley	Paul Slater	Worcestershire
Nick Woolven	Mike Ferguson	Yorkshire
Sandy Davies	Tom Gisborne	Yorkshire
David Waxman	Keith Joules	Yorkshire
David Lewis	Mike Jackson	Yorkshire
Robin Jepson	Alan Brosgill	Yorkshire