Welcome to the International Selections and Trials home page. Here you will find information on all the England representative teams, who they are, how they fared and how you can try out to join them.

2016 Channel Trophy

England will be hosting the 2016 Channel Trophy - the competition for Junior teams from England, France, Belgium and the Netherlands - on 16th-18th December. It will be held at the Young Chelsea Bridge Club in London. More details will be available here soon.

2017 Camrose Trophy

England will host the first weekend of the Camrose Trophy on 6th - 8th January. It will be held at Brandon Hall Hotel, in Warwickshire, and spectators are welcome. We also seek volunteers to help at the event - any willing members should contact Gordon Rainsford (

Internationals News

England U16s perform well in Czech Republic and finish 7th

An England Under 16 team finished seventh in the Czech Republic Junior Teams Championship this weekend.

The team of Oscar Selby & Henry Rose, Jasmine Bakhshi & Liz Gahan, Alex Pemberton & Andy Cope, with NPC: Mike Bell, competed against eleven other junior sides - including some U26 teams and many with more international experience.

They struggled in their opening qualifying matches, finishing fifth of the six teams in their group. They bounced back well, however, finishing second in the next group phase to move on to the 5th-8th playoff. They lost their 'semi-final' but an emphatic victory in their final match saw them claim 7th place and improve on their good performance in the 2015 competition.

EBU Awards presented at AGM

At the AGM, which was held in London on Wednesday 23rd November, the EBU were pleased to present awards to a number of members who have dedicated many hours to bridge administration, or to promoting the game, at a national or local level.

A Gold Award - the EBU's highest award - was presented to Andrew Petrie (pictured) for his service on the EBU Board, and most recently to English Bridge Education and Development.

Silver Awards were presented to Mike Christie and Martin Pool. Roger Amey was also given the award and will receive his locally.

A Dimmie Fleming Award - for services to county bridge - was presented to Ron Heath, and will be given at local events to Chris Larlham, Julia Brough and Peggy Griffin. David Anning was also chosen as a recipient, but sadly he passed away in September. His award will be presented to those close to him at a suitable opportunity in the future.

The Tony Priday Award - for making an outstanding contribution to bridge and enhancing the game in all its aspects - was given to Jeff Smith for his work in developing bridge software which he made available free of charge.

The Alec Salisbury Award - an award to the school teacher who has made the most effective contribution to promoting bridge - was presented to Stuart Haring at the recent Middlesex Congress.

In addition, the Diamond Award recipients were announced. This award recognises achievement at the highest levels of bridge, and will be presented to Pat Davies and Bob Rowlands in the near future.

At the Summer Meeting in Eastbourne in August four awards were presented - see here for more information.

England finish 8th in Champions Cup

England's representatives have finished 8th in the Champions Cup in Zagreb. The competition featured the top ten European nations from the European Championships, plus the hosts and defending champions.

England were represented by the winners of the 2015 Premier League - Justin Hackett, Jason Hackett, Alex Hydes, David Mossop & David Price plus Paul Hackett (Colin Simpson was part of the winning team but is unable to participate).

They finished the round robin phase in sixth place, but in the playoffs they lost both matches to finish in eighth.

The competition was won by the Monaco team, with the defending champions - Allegra from Italy - down in fifth.

Allfrey team wins Premier League

The team of Alexander Allfrey, David Bakhshi, Mike Bell, Tony Forrester, David Gold & Andrew Robson have won Division 1 of the Premier League.

They started the final weekend narrowly behind the Rosen team, but a clean sweep in their final seven matches saw them take the title by a comfortable margin. The team of Frances Hinden, Jeffrey Allerton, Chris Jagger, Graham Osborne & Ian Pagan moved up in to second place, 44 VPs behind the winners. The Rosen team and De Botton team were a few VPs back in third and fourth.

The victory means the Allfrey team have earned the chance to represent England on one weekend of the 2017 Camrose trophy, and to play in the 2017 Champions Cup. They have also moved to the top of the standings in the Player of the Year Competition.

Division 2 was won by Sandra Penfold, Ben Green, John Holland, Brian Senior & Nevena Senior. They finished just 1.27 VPs ahead of the team of Simon Gillis, Simon Cope, Peter Crouch, Alan Mould & Gary Hyett. The Harris team was third, and the Pryor team fourth.