November 2017

Qualifiers known for Tollemache Final

Qualifying for the finals of the Tollemache Cup - the inter-county championships for teams of eight - has taken place. The top two teams in each of four groups have progressed to the final.

Manchester comfortably topped Group A, with Cambs & Hunts in second - defending champions London missed out, finishing fourth. Oxfordshire and Lancashire qualified from Group B. Group C was won emphatically by Kent, with Dorset just a single VP ahead of Derbyshire for the second qualifying spot. In Group D, Hants & IOW finished in first, with Berks & Bucks taking second place.

The final will take place on 10th-11th February.

Welcome to Hadleigh Bridge Club

Welcome to Hadleigh Bridge Club, in Suffolk, which is our newest affiliated club. They play duplicate sessions on Monday evening, with Chicago sessions on Tuesday afternoons. Visitors are always welcome: if you require a partner on a Monday, email the club; on a Tuesday they operate a host system.

Allfrey team finish 4th for England in European Champions' Cup

England's representatives have finished fourth in the European Champions' Cup in Riga - the best performance by England's representative team in the history of the competition*. The Allfrey team - which earned the right to represent England by winning the 2016 Premier League - topped the table in the round robin phase, but lost the semifinal and third place playoff.

The team was: Alexander Allfrey, Andrew Robson, Tony Forrester, David Bakhshi, David Gold, & Mike Bell

The competition - the equivalent of football's Champions League - was won by Dutch champions BC’t Onstein.

* - when England hosted the event in 2015 an 'EBU team' finished 3rd.

Successful applicants for Open Trials announced

The Selection Committee have accepted applications from the following pairs to participate in the trials to represent the England Open team at the 2018 European Team Championships:

Espen Erichsen & Glyn Liggins; Neil Rosen & Martin Jones; Michael Byrne & Kieran Dyke; Heather Dhondy & Brian Callaghan; Tom Townsend & Alex Hydes; Phil King & Andrew McIntosh; David Bakhshi & Artur Malinowski; Simon Cope & Peter Crouch; Jeffrey Allerton & Chris Jagger; Frances Hinden & Graham Osborne
Reserves: Tom Paske & Ed Jones

The trials, scored by Ximps, will be held over 4 full days, 12th to 15th January 2018, at the Young Chelsea BC. The 2018 European Team Championships will take place in Ostend, Belgium on 6th - 16th June.

Trials announced for Lady Milne and Women's European Championships

Applications to take part in the trials to represent the England Women’s Team in the 2018 Lady Milne competition, and the 2018 European Team Championships, are now being accepted. Applications to play in the Lady Milne trial close on 8th December, and for the European Trials close on 29th January.

The Lady Milne trials are on 26th-28th January, the trials for the European Championships will be 2nd to 5th March. For more details please click 'read more'.

Become a bridge teacher and help the game grow

EBED is running two courses in the coming months which will get you started in teaching bridge and help membership of your club to thrive. Their two day Club Teacher Training Course provides training for club members who can then go on to provide a teaching programme at their club.

  • Halifax Bridge Club - 25th/26th November
  • EBU Headquarters in Aylesbury - 31st January/1st February

Both courses are open to everyone - to book a place on one of these courses, please contact Lisa Miller on 01296 317217.

Please see the EBED website for more information.

Close finishes at Seniors Congress

The Seniors Congress this weekend saw two close finishes in the main events.

The Championship Pairs was won by Rob Lawy & Mike Huggins (pictured), who overtook Patrick Collins & Peter Law - who had led since the halfway point - in the final round to win by a single Match Point. Tom Gisborne & Sandy Davies finished third.

The B Final in the Championship Pairs was won by Jeremy Dhondy & Alan Kay (picture), with Ed Scerri & Malcolm Pryor in second. The Swiss Pairs - for those not reaching the Championship Pairs finals, or joining the congress on that day - was won by Ian Budden & Wendy Lancaster (picture), eight VPs ahead of Mike Fawcett & Denis King.

The Swiss Teams saw a tighter finish than the Championship Pairs, with the result hinging on the final board of the competition. The Anthias team (Taf Anthias, Richard Samter, Warner Solomon, Pat Davies) was playing the Sweet team (Roger Sweet, Colin Juneman, Peter Shelley, Trevor Ward) in the final match. The Anthias team (picture) picked up 10 IMPs on board 49 to win the match, pull level with the Sweet team on total Match Points, and take the title by virtue of the head-to-head victory.

Also at the congress, Pat Davies was presented with the Diamond Award, which had been announced at the previous year's AGM, in recognition of excellence and success over a sustained period for England's international teams (picture).

Allfrey team wins Premier League

Division 1 of the 2017 Premier League has been won by the team of Alexander Allfrey, Andrew Robson, Graham Osborne, Tony Forrester, Mike Bell & David Gold.

The Allfrey team retained the title by a margin of just over 9 VPs from the team of Frances Hinden, Jeffrey Allerton, Michael Byrne, Kieran Dyke and Chris Jagger. The De Botton team was in third, a further 3 VPs back.

Through their victory the Allfrey team has earned the right to represent England in one weekend of the 2018 Camrose Trophy, and in the 2018 European Champions Cup (assuming England qualifies to enter a team). In addition, all the team bar Graham (who is a few points behind) have moved to the top of the standings in the Player of the Year competition.

Division 2 was won by Heather Dhondy, Sally Brock, Brian Callaghan, Barry Myers and Franklin To (see picture here). They finished 25 VPs ahead of the Morris team.

The Gipson team (Paul Gipson, Sarah Bell, Simon Creasey, Alex Gipson, Alex Roberts, Graeme Robertson, Ankush Khandelwal and Ed Jones) finished atop the newly-formed Division 3, however they needed to be a team of eight, rather than the permitted team of six, so the Gross team which finished second (Susanna Gross, Richard Bowdery, Ollie Burgess, Andrew Murphy, Toby Nonnenmacher, Graham Orsmond) were declared winners of the division.