
 

 

Easter Quiz 

This quiz is all about making deductions from the bidding and play as it progresses.  There is a lot more 

information to be gained which can be put to useful advantage if you know how to interpret it. 

Question 1. 

Your partner grips a small number of the main cards in the bidding box but then relinquishes them and puts 

down the Pass card.  From this you infer 

a) He has close to an opening bid 

b) He has a weak hand 

 

Question 2. 

 

Following on directly from the situation in question 1, your RH opponent opens 1NT (12-14 pts, non-

vulnerable).  You hold a balanced 14 count, not really suitable for overcalling and one point short of your 

normal minimum for a penalty double. It’s a pairs competition and you anticipate +100 if you defend 1NT – 

not good enough.  How do you bid? 

 

a) Double  (and hope nobody challenges your point count) 

b) Overcall in your 4 card suit, hoping for at least +110 

c) Pass 

Question 3. 

You are vulnerable, opponents are not.  LH opponent places his Stop card on the table followed by 2 spades.  

Before his partner has had a chance to announce it is weak , your partner has passed.  RH opponent passes. 

You have an opening hand worth a protective double, but reckon you’ll need some help from partner if you’re 

to do better to  compete than pass. 

a) Partner can’t have much, if anything, so bidding would be suicidal 

b) Partner often passes reasonable hands “in tempo”, so although you are inclined to think he is 

weak, you cannot be sure.  On balance, therefore, you decide the best course is to compete.  

c) You take no notice of partner’s  behaviour.  You’ve got 15 points, opener has an average of 7. This 

leaves 22 so on average, partner will have 11.  That’s 26 between you; so there’s a probable game 

on.  You compete. 

 

Question 4 

You are in a competitive auction and have reached the game level.  Your LH opponent outbids you whereupon 

partner quite deliberately and forcefully places his Double card on the table.  Prior to this, you were 

contemplating bidding “one more for the road”.  Do you 

a) Pass gratefully as you now know that partner has a defensive hand rather than having been 

bidding on the basis of a fit in your suit.  This action will also help partnership harmony 

(something all the textbooks encourage). 

b) Make a joke of it, Pass and hope the opponents don’t call the director 

c) Back your earlier judgement and bid one more 



 

 

 

 

Question 5 

Again you are in a competitive auction and have gone beyond the game level.  This time after LH opponent 

outbids you, partner thinks for some time (he won’t call it a hesitation) and then places his Double card on the 

table with an element of reluctance.  Prior to this, you were contemplating bidding “one more for the road”.  

Do you 

a) Bid your “one for the road” as you were going to anyway weren’t you.  If the opponents summon the 

director, you feel you will easily be able to justify your call. 

b)  Glare at your partner and Pass 

c) Pass and resign yourself to being berated by partner for not taking out his “optional” double. 

 

Question 6 

At pairs, LH opponent opens 1NT (12-14pts), partner thinks before passing and RH opponent passes.  You hold 

  J 7432  
  Q10  
  K 843  
  K7  

 Do you 

a) Pass as the hand really isn’t good enough to bid 

b) Bid 2 spades  

c) Bid 3 spades as we can probably make four if partner has an opening bid with some shape. 

 

Question 7 

You have just lead a heart and partner exudes displeasure in whatever manner is his wont.  Do you 

a) Say “Sorry partner, I should have led a spade (or whichever suit)” 

b) Carry on blithely as if nothing has happened 

c) Exude displeasure in your own personalised style 

 

Question 8 

You hesitated (or as you would say, needed time to think whether to peter or not) before following with a 

small card from two low ones.  Declarer subsequently misplays the hand as he thinks you had the outstanding 

honour and were astutely holding up.  Do you 

a) Explain at length to partner the importance of choosing the right low card to play 

b) Parry any query from the opponents by saying it was very important to decide whether to play 

the 5 or the 3 as giving count might be crucial 

c) Apologise to declarer and suggest the director be called with a view to having an adjusted score 

awarded 

 

Question 9 

During the auction LH opponent bids 2 hearts, partner places his stop card on the table, bids 2 spades and 

after a short pause says “Oops, sorry, I didn’t need the Stop” and puts it back in the box.  From your agreed 

system, you know a jump bid in this situation would show extra values.  Your hand is better than your bids so 

far have indicated.  Do you 

a) Make a bid which partner is sure to raise to game if he was worth more than 2 spades 

b) If there’s a choice, make an overbid rather than an underbid 

c) If there is a choice, make an underbid rather than an overbid. 



 

 

 

 

Question 10 

LH opponent opens 1NT (12-14pts).  Partner bids 2C which you alert and when asked, explain you’re playing 

the Landy defence which shows both majors.  Partner suddenly looks rather uncomfortable.  You hold 

  K J 9 3  
  A Q 9 5 2  
  K 4 3  
  6  
 

Do you 

a) Pass.  The sooner you get out of this potential mess, the better. 

b) Quietly bid 2H as partner has obviously meant his bid to be natural 

c) Treat the 2C bid as being  conventional and bid 4 hearts despite the odds on risk this will give you 

a bottom 

 

Question 11 

Following on from question 10, it’s the last round, you chose b) and were pleased to make your contract and 

get a reasonable score.  Opponents call the director, who awards an adjusted score of 4H minus two which 

now gives you a cold bottom.  Do you 

a) Accept his ruling. 

b) Politely suggest he’s got it wrong and ask him to reconsider as a player is perfectly within his 

rights to bid what he likes and that is exactly what you’ve done. 

c) Lodge an appeal against the director’s ruling. 

 

Question 12. 

Now, it is your chance to be the director.  What ruling would you give in the following: 

 Q 9 8 3 2 

  J 5 4 

  K 7 5 
  4 3 
  J 10 7 6  5 4  
  8 7 6  K Q 10 9  
  J 10 9 6  4 3 2 
  8 6  A K 7 5  
  A K 
  A 3 2 
  A Q 8 
  Q J 10 9 2                                                

 The following auction is visible: 
 West North East South 

 P P P 2NT 

 P 3   

 East summons the director. East explains 3  was not alerted but the North/South convention card says it 

was a transfer.  South agrees he forgot that 3  was a transfer and should have alerted 3 . East asks the 

director whether South has obtained Unauthorised Information. 

a) No South hasn’t.  Hence South can continue bidding in the full knowledge that North’s bid is 

meant as a transfer to spades. 

b) Yes South has.  He must therefore bid on the basis that 3 is natural. 



 

 

Question 13  

The same hand as above.  The following auction is visible: 
 West North East South 

 P P P 2NT 

 P 3   

 East summons the director. East explains South didn’t alert 3  and North immediately told South he 

should have alerted. East asks the director whether South has Unauthorised Information?   South says 

he knew very well 3  was a transfer: he just forgot to alert. 

a) No South hasn’t.  Hence South can continue bidding in the full knowledge that North’s bid is 

meant as a transfer to spades. 

b) Yes South has.  He must therefore bid on the basis that 3 is natural. 

Question  14     

 Following on from question 13 you asked to be called at the end of the play of the hand.  When you 

return, the auction has progressed like this and the result is 4  –1. 

 West North East South 

 P P P 2NT 

 P 3   P 4  

 P 4  All pass  

 What action should the director take?  

a) Allow the result to stand 

b) Explain that as South must continue to bid as if the 3  bid were natural then he must interpret 

the 4  bid as a cue bid exploring a slam, hence South must bid on.  N/S would then get into a 

muddle.  You will therefore give an adjusted score which will be a contract going at least 2 off for 

a probable bottom to N/S. 

Summary 

By now, you have probably realised that making the correct deductions from partner’s antics and 

misdemeanours has given you information which you wouldn’t otherwise have had.  There is no point in 

denying it; you have obtained what is called Unauthorised Information.  The crucial point behind these 

questions is that you MUST NOT take advantage of this knowledge.  (HOWEVER, the opponents are perfectly 

entitled to take advantage of this knowledge.)  You might now like to revisit your answers. 

Please send your answers to Brian Lippard (by e-mail or by post to the club) to arrive not later than 31 

December 2010.  The winner, drawn at random from those with the greatest number of correct answers, will 

receive a bottle of champagne.  Second prize is two yellow tickets and third prize is one yellow ticket. 

Brian Lippard 

Chairman 10 December 2010  

Acknowledgements:   John Pain for allowing me to use material from the EBU director’s training manual and 

Mike Griffiths for editing my early drafts. 




