Gisborne team wins Hubert Phillips Plate

The Hubert Phillips Plate - the consolation event in the EBU's mixed pivot teams competition - has been won by Dave Robinson, Sandy Davies, Richard Pike and Tom Gisborne (pictured l to r).

They beat Barrie Cantello, Ann Sharples, Keith Bartlett and Robert Mott (Chris Stevens played a match earlier in the competition) by 1880 points in the 48-board final at Cheltenham BC on Sunday.

U26 Women's team for World Championships selected

The team to represent England in the U26 Women's competition at the World Youth team Championships has been selected.

The team is:

  • Yvonne Wiseman & Liz Gahan; Olivia Bailey & Ewa Wieczorek; Laura Covill & Siyu Ren; NPC: Sally Brock

Yvonne, Olivia, Ewa and Siyu were part of the medal winning team at the 2017 European Youth Team Championships. Liz played in the last World and European U16 events and is moving up to the U26 team this year. Laura has made numerous international appearances, dating back to 2013.

This is the fourth and final team to be selected, so the line-ups for China are now set.

Donations to support the teams continue to come in, with the total now reaching £37,000. Many thanks to everyone who has donated so far. There is still lots of time to make a donation before the young players fly to China - the event is not until August - so we can still hit our target of £60,000. No donation is too small, and all are gratefully received. Individuals can make a donation through this page on the EBED webpage so gift aid can be reclaimed. Any bridge clubs, counties, or other organisations should contact us to find out how to donate.

Scotland wins Teltscher Trophy; England second

Scotland has won the Teltscher Trophy - the 'senior Camrose' competition - with England finishing second.

At the event in Mold, in Wales, Scotland were undefeated in the double round-robin, scoring 147.67 VPs. England finished with 131.71 VPs, a long way ahead of Ireland (89.33) in third.

The England team was: Sandra Penfold, Norman Selway, Tony Forrester, David Kendrick, Brian Senior, NPC: Derek Patterson (John Holland was selected but was unable to participate).

The winning Scottish team was: Iain Sime, John Matheson, Gerald Haase, John Murdoch, James Forsyth, Nigel Guthrie (NPC: Anne Perkins)


Subscribe to English Bridge Union RSS