Julie Murray

The year of the big freeze January 1963 West London, youngest of two girls I was born. My Mum thinks that’s why I adore snow and one of my many favourite Countries is Austria. Sadly my sister Linda lost her strong fight with Multiple Sclerosis when I first started at the EBU.

My husband Joe and I have been together nearly thirty years; we have three wonderful children, all adults now. Kayleigh is a Secondary School English Teacher, Emma is Head of Business Development for Klood and Liam our youngest is Maintenance Manager at Total Garden Care.

We moved out of London just before our eldest daughter Kayleigh’s 2nd Birthday, we have never looked back, my Husband and I still love London and go back frequently. I adore where I live, 5 minutes walk from the Chilterns; one of our favourite pass time is walking our two dogs in the woods or along the canal.

My first job from School was as an Export/Import Clerk for Michael Davis (Shipping) Ltd Specialists in Antiques & Personal Effects in Kew, Surrey. This was an exciting and fascinating introduction to working for a living and I stayed there until we started a family.

When our youngest daughter Emma was two years old I returned to work part-time as Secretary to the National Fundraiser later to become Small Grants & Appeals Officer for a Charity called TOC H. I worked alongside the fundraising team, volunteers and TOC H members for eleven years until due to family commitments I left.

I joined the EBU in May 2011 and my role is Reception/Office Assistant which is very varied.

Something not everyone knows: - I had never left home, never flown in an aeroplane, no knowledge of the Jewish religion but decided to leave Michael Davis (Shipping) Ltd to live and work in Tel Aviv for one year. I worked for a wonderful Orthodox family, Judith & Chiam looking after and teaching English to Asafi age 5 and Odie age 3. I learnt to speak Hebrew (extremely hard language) and tried to learn to write it without much success. Once I returned to England Michael Davis (Shipping) Ltd wanted me to return as an Export Co-Coordinator. I remained happily working there until I was expecting our first daughter.

Do I play Bridge? No but I am inspired by the EBU members commitment and enthusiasm, maybe when my life is less busy.

Hobbies: Reading, Walking, theatre and travel. There are so many Countries I want to see and experience. My Ultimate destinations are Japan and Australia.

Last updated: January 2014