Poole team wins Silver Plate

The Silver Plate has been won by the team of Tony Poole (Captain) (Warks), Stewart Fishburne, Chris Philp, and Mike Willoughby (all Worcs) (pictured).

They won the final by 10 IMPs over the 48 boards against the team of Arthur Selman (Captain), Adrian Ford, Alan Hayward, Bill Holmes, Martin Ott and Terry Read (all Yorkshire).

Their journey began in the Gold Cup. They won the 1st round convincingly, then were drawn against Patrick Jourdain’s seeded Welsh international team in the 2nd round, where they led by 2 IMPs after 40 boards but ultimately lost by the narrow margin of 6 IMPs, thereby moving into the Plate.

It was Tony's second victory in the competition, having won the 2004 event and Mike is also understood to have won the Plate “many years ago”! The rest of the team won the title for the first time.

Update: A report on two hands from the final is available here. Thank you to the players for providing this.