U16s continue preparations for China

The England U16 squad has held another training session as it prepares for the 2018 World Youth Team Championships, being held in China in August.

Squad leader Giorgio Provenza has written a new blog to keep you updated. Click 'read more' below to see it.

As noted in this article, we'd be delighted to hear from any members who would like to support the teams in any way - please don't hesitate to contact us. You can also make a donation to the fundraising effort through EBED's website, here.

UCL and Warwickshire Juniors triumph at 2018 Inter-University Bridge Festival

The 2018 Inter-University Bridge Festival took place on Saturday 24th February.

13 university teams took part, but it was the 'Warwickshire Juniors' team (Megan Jones, Imogen La Chapelle, Andy Cope, and young-at-heart Darren Evetts) which topped the table. The official winning university team were UCL C (Roy Goh & Ren Ziyu, Chua Teeyong & Lien Chongyou), with Imperial A in the runners-up spot, and Warwick A completing the podium.

The competition was organised by Warwick University Bridge Club, and supported by Warwickshire CBA and Coventry & North Warwickshire and West Midlands Bridge Clubs.

John Pemberton wins February online competition

John Pemberton is the winner of the February's ladder competition for our online games with Funbridge - the sixth different winner in the six months there have been EBU games on Funbridge. John finished with an average of 65.36% from his four best results. Clive Keep was second with 65.10%, with Jonny Richards in third on 64.71%.

A new competition for March starts on Thursday 1st, with games each Thursday, Saturday and Sunday during the month. You play with, and against, robots, so can play at any time during the day, stopping and restarting as often as necessary. You can win Master Points in each game, and a chance to win cash prizes in the monthly and annual competitions. Why not give them a try?!

The annual competition averages each player's best 20 results during 2018, and 36 players have already registered that many scores. Matthew Covill currently leads with an average of 58.05%.

Seven champions crowned in Masters and Ranked Masters Pairs

Seven pairs were victorious this weekend in championships aimed at those with specific Master Point rankings.

The Ranked Masters Pairs at Daventry featured six of these events, and the winners were:

The Masters Pairs, for those ranked below Regional Master, was held at multiple venues around the country, and scored nationally. The winners were Eduard Malkhassyan & Kostadin Vasilev, who played at Richmond BC, as did second placed Richard Collins & Rhonda Collins. Geoffrey Herbert & Steven Simmons, who played at West Midlands Bridge Club, finished third.


Subscribe to English Bridge Union RSS