Allfrey team takes lead in Premier League

There are new leaders of Divisions 1 and 2 of the Premier League after the second weekend of matches. The Allfrey team and Dhondy team now lead their respective divisions, while the Gipson team stayed ahead in Division 3.

Aided by a large victory in the head-to-head match, the team of Alexander Allfrey, Mike Bell, Tony Forrester, David Gold, Graham Osborne & Andrew Robson overtook the Hinden team (Frances Hinden, Jeffrey Allerton, Michael Byrne, Kieran Dyke & Chris Jagger) and are now just under 4 VPs ahead. The De Botton team is in third place, a further 11 VPs behind.

As in Division 1, Division 2 saw the top two teams switch positions, with the Dhondy team (Heather Dhondy, Sally Brock, Brian Callaghan, Barry Myers, Franklin To) vaulting the Morris team and taking a lead of around 4 VPs. The Fawcett team is in third.

Paul Gipson, Alex Gipson, Sarah Bell, Alex Roberts & Graeme Robertson maintained their lead of around 3 VPs in Division 3, with the Igoe team in second, and the Gross team in third.

The final matches in all divisions will be played in Solihull on 4th & 5th November.

Ten TDs receive promotions

Congratulations to the ten Tournament Directors who achieved a promotion to the level of County TD at the recent County Directors weekend. The successful TDs were:

Srimath Agalawatte John Dagnall *
Jim Edwards Gareth Evans *
Nicky Ferguson * Mark Hooper *
Rob Richardson Keith Spencer
Jean Stelfox Steve Wright

* - passed with distinction

Hauge & Laland do double at Guernsey Congress

The week-long Guernsey Congress concluded on Sunday, with Reidar Laland & Rune Hauge (pictured) completing 'the double' of winning both Swiss competitions.

Playing with Dan McIntosh and Kristian Stangelan they finished the Swiss Teams on 186 VPs, 27 ahead of Bernard Goldenfield, Rhona Goldenfield, Joy Blakey & Irving Blakey. The Commins and Cooke teams were joint third on 152 VPs.

Rune & Reidar lost only once in the twelve-round Swiss Pairs to finish on 179 VPs. Dan Crofts & Andrew Thompson were second with 172, and Gordon Rainsford & Lorne Anderson were third with 158.

The other winners were:

Pre-Congress Pairs Gordon Rainsford & Lorne Anderson Pivot Teams Janet Latham, Ted Latham, Peter Baxter, Agnes Baxter
Men's Pairs Ted Latham & Peter Baxter Women's Pairs Mary Andrew & Margaret Andrew
Senior's Pairs Joy Blakey & Irving Blakey Open Pairs Dan McIntosh & Michael Bane
Mixed Pairs Susie Farnon & Robert Plumley Multiple Teams Bernard Goldenfield, Rhona Goldenfield, Joy Blakey Irving Blakey
Senior's Multiple Teams Bernard Goldenfield, Rhona Goldenfield, Joy Blakey Irving Blakey

Laurie Champniss: 1939 - 2017

The EBU is sad to learn of the death of Laurie Champniss. Laurie was the founder of South Bucks Bridge Centre, one of the country's busiest bridge clubs. In 2015, he generously donated the club to English Bridge Education & Development* - he is pictured (right) making the donation to then General Manager, Barry Capal.

* - EBED continues to coordinate a large teaching programme at the club, although it ceased running the club in 2016.


Subscribe to English Bridge Union RSS