Joe Amsbury

1928 - 1989

By David Carlisle
BM May 1989

It was with great sadness that I learned of the death of Joe. To me and to many others he will be best remembered for his ability to impart to others his great passion and enthusiasm for the game of bridge.

As a teacher of the game, with special reference to good players or those with the ability to be­come good players, his talents were se­cond to none. As a player he was dangerous and, more importantly, un­predictable - when Joe was an oppo­nent, the game was never easy. He could, when the occasion demanded, play a strong percentage game, but he will be best remembered as an action player who brought in more points than he lost. His record as a player was first class - he won every major event in domestic bridge and also represen­ted his country, always giving of his best and usually bringing in fine results.

As the long-time editor of Internat­ional Popular Bridge Monthly he was never afraid to put forward his own views on the game. Always a passion­ate publicist of the game, in my exper­ience he never criticised without put­ting forward a constructive alterna­tive. He was for some years the prop­rietor of the Acol Bridge Club and tire­lessly worked long hours to enhance the enjoyment of its clientele. His com­ments on the game were always back­ed up with a wealth of experience.

Many of the top players today learn­ed a lot from Joe: Tony Sowter, Steve Lodge, Chris Dixon, Bob Rowlands, Phillip Alder and myself to quote just a few. Joe’s enthusiasm and never­ say-die spirit were never better shown than in a Crockfords match some years ago when he, Marius Wlodarczyk and the Sharples brothers were 46 imps down with eight boards to play - they won by 21 imps.

Joe will be sadly missed by his family and friends; his death is a great loss.

Camrose Trophy Selections: 1973 1977 1978 and 1979

Gold Cup Winner: 1970 and 1978

Spring Foursomes Winner: 1968

Brighton Pairs, Harold Poster Cup Winner: 1968

Brighton Four Stars Teams Winner: 1967 and 1971

The Hubert Phillips Bowl Winner: 1971

Tollemache Cup winner: 1970 1977 and 1978