Kay Carter

I was born in Oxford and live with my partner in a village at the foot of the Chiltern Hills. We have two children - Daniel aged 15 and Emma aged 12.

I started working for the EBU when the offices were in a house on the third floor over an estate agents in Thame, Oxfordshire, many years ago (we’ve been in Aylesbury since 1988)! Since having the children I work part-time 4 days (27 hours) a week as Administration Assistant. My job is varied and includes preparing and dispatch of Shareholder & Board agendas/papers and distribution of minutes. Looking after shareholder records and issuing share certificates. Preparation and dispatch of all election documents, including nominations for all Committees, leading up to the EBU AGM. Administering the Dimmie Fleming awards, including liaison between Counties and panels regarding nominations, production and award of certificates. Maintaining staff holiday/sick records and general office duties including answering the phone.

Do I play bridge? After working at the EBU for so long many people ask me if I play, the answer is no - although I have played mini-bridge a couple of times and did enjoy it! I enjoy working for the EBU and have seen many changes over the years, made some good friends, and still admire many bridge players that remember what hands they played at certain events.

In my spare time (after working, looking after two children – running them about everywhere, helping out my partner with his own gardening/firewood business and housework) I like to do puzzles, read books mainly on travel & living in different countries. I enjoy family days out - walking in the woods & by the river, visiting zoos and having family fun.

My partners family live on a farm and we have a Collie dog called Gem who stays at the farm (more room that in our house). If I could be an animal I think I would come back as Gem, as she gets the run of the farm, lots of open space to roam and gets spoilt rotten by everyone – what a life she has!

I would like to live by the sea one day, somewhere warm would be nice!

Last updated: October 2013