Keith Stanley

Keith Stanley is former Chairman and Treasurer of the English Bridge Union, and a current vice-president. He also sits on the EBU Disciplinary Panel.

He became Chairman of the EBU in 1984, and served in the position for five years. He was instrumental in the move of the EBU headquarters from Thame to its current offices in Aylesbury, a move which he believed was necessary to provide the modern and professional headquarters which were required – “You cannot make a silk purse…” he said. He was also a strong advocate of training schemes for promising junior players, and for the EBU having more influence on European and World Bridge (this legacy led to Max Bavin becoming Chief Tournament Director of the World Bridge Federation).

Keith had an aptitude for games from a young age, playing chess against some of the top players in the world while just a teen. He learnt to play bridge whilst at university – “I spent so much time learning bridge that I neglected my studies”, he once said, adding that his professor remarked that his getting a 3rd class honours degree was “a remarkable achievement in view of my lack of application”. He went on to work extremely successfully in international commerce for a number of years before changing career to work as a counsellor and therapist. He has also lectured in commercial law.

Keith enjoyed a number of successful partnerships, winning numerous domestic competitions. His main international success was enjoyed with Roman Smolski, with whom he played in the World Olympiad in 1984 and the European Championships in 1985. He also represented England in the Seniors events at the World Olympiad in 2000 (with Bill Townsend), and at the World Olympiad and European Championships in 2004 (with Derek Rue).

His passions away from bridge include music – particularly opera – and food and wine.

Major International Appearances

European Championships: 1985
World Olympiad: 1984
Senior European Championships: 2004
Senior World Olympiad: 2000 and 2004

Camrose Trophy Selections: 1968 1972 1973 1976 and 1977

Gold Cup Winner: 1971 and 1975

Crockfords Winner: 1980 and 1984

Spring Foursomes Winner: 1968 1980 1981 and 1991