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Panel TD Promotion Exam – 2009 
 
 
 

Name ……………………………………………………… 
 

 
You should attempt all the questions. You are allowed to use your Law Book, Orange 
Book or White Book. 
 
Where possible you should give Law references or OB references. 
Marks are given for correct answers – not long essays. So if it helps give your answers 
in note form or as bullet points (particularly no. 26) 
 
There is no time limit – probably about an hour and a half.  
 
Section 1 – Law Book Rulings 
Questions 1 to 18 are true/false (1 mark for the an swer, 1 for the law reference) 
Tick either true or false and write the law referen ce in the box. 
 
1)  North bids at South’s turn to call. 
 
South must pass whenever it is his turn to call.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
 
2)  The auction goes 

W  N  E  S 
1NT pass 2♥ 

At this point West drops ♦A on the table. 
 
East must pass whenever it is his turn to call.  
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
3)  West / East swap to East / West because East has sensitive eyes and the sun is 
shining brightly. They do it without asking the TD. 
 
They can do this. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
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4)  In an old fashioned Swiss Teams where boards are dealt at the table for each 
match one table wants to redeal a board that they have passed out. 
 
The TD will let them. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
5)  In a Swiss Teams competition a team wants to rejig its team line-up at the end of 
a match for the next match. 
 
The TD will let them. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
6)  East/West move to the wrong table and the auction starts 
      W  N  E  S 

  1NT pass  
The correct pair arrives; the original pair sent on their way and a new auction starts 
      W  N  E  S 

  3NT   
 
The TD cancels the board giving NS 60%, EW 40% and does nothing else. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
7)     W  N  E  S 

 1NT pass 2♣ 
Pass 2♥ pass 4♥ 
end 

East leads ♠A. AT his first turn to play West asks for a review of the auction but stops it 
after N:1NT, S:2♣. 
 
He can do this. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
8)     W  N  E  S 

1NT pass 2♥ 
A few seconds pass. Before South calls east calls the TD and asks to change his call to 
2♦ because he forgot he was playing transfers. South is happy to allow the change. 
 
The TD will not allow the change and rules the 2♥ bid must stand. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
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9)     W  N  E  S 

1♥ pass 3♥ 
    Pass 4NT pass 5♦ (RKCB 1 or 3) 
    Pass 5NT pass 4♥ (meant to show 2 kings) 
5♥ is a permitted rectification call. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
10)  Dealer East. North opens 1♠ out of turn. East calls 1♥. He did not see the 1♠ out 
of turn and thought he was opening 1♥. 
 
The TD treats this as an insufficient bid. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
11)     W  N  E  S 
    1NT dble pass dble 
    Redble pass 2♣ 
 
The TD is called when East bids 2♣. The auction stands and continues normally from 
this point. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
12)  South is declarer in 3NT. At trick 3 he has the lead in his hand but calls for the 
♠A from dummy. Dummy says ‘your hand’ so he leads ♠6 from his own hand. 
 
Dummy can do this. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
13)  South plays in 4♥. At trick 3 he leads ♥5 and West plays ♥3. He calls for ♥A but 
dummy plays the ♥8. East plays ♥9 and wins the trick. Now East leads ♠A at trick 4. 
 
Trick 3 stands as played as does the lead to trick 4. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
 



GO TO NEXT PAGE  4 

14)  Declarer South is in 3NT. At trick 8 he leads a heart from dummy forcing out the 
ace. In so doing he plays both of his hearts ♥J 10 from hand but does not notice. He 
wins trick 12 in hand but now realizes he has no card to lead for trick 13.  
 
The lead passes to West for trick 13. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
15)  South is defender and has ♦K 7 as 2 penalty cards. He is on lead. 
 
Declarer (West) can choose which card is led. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
16)  South plays in 4♥. He draws trumps but East fails to play his last trump. At trick 6 
South claims the remaining tricks; East and West both agree to the claim and East faces 
his hand – the last trump is there. 
 
East’s revoke is not established. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
17)     W  N  E  S 
    1♥ pass 3♠ dble 
 
Then East says ‘I didn’t mean 3♠, I meant 3♥’. The TD deems it was inadvertent and 
allows the change to 3♥. South changes his double to pass. 
 
The fact that South doubled 3♠ is unauthorized information to North. 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
 
 

 
18)  Playing with duplimated boards, declarer South leads ♣10. West also contributes 
the ♣10. The TD investigates and discovers that South’s ♣10 has been exchanged with 
the ♣8 on the next board. All other cards are correct. 
 
The TD rules the board unplayable and awards 60% to both pairs. 
 

 TRUE  FALSE 
Law references: 
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Section 2 – Orange Book 
 
Questions 19 to 21 are on the current Orange Book a s amended on August 1 st 
2007, August 1 st 2008 and August 1 st 2009. (1 mark per response) 
 
19)  Is the final or only call in the following auctions alertable or not? 
 
 West North East South Meaning 
a 1♠    5-card major, not forcing 
b 1♣    Might be only a 2-card suit 
c 1♥ 2♣ 3♥  Pre-emptive 
d 1♥ double 3♥  Pre-emptive 
e 1♥ 1♠ double  Penalty 
f 1♠ 

pass 
pass 

double 
double 
pass 

2♠ 
pass 
3♠ 

pass 
3♣ 
double 

 
 
Double is for take out 

g 1♣ 1♦ double  Double shows 4-card spade suit 
 

a) Alertable       /      not alertable 

b) Alertable       /      not alertable 

c) Alertable       /      not alertable 

d) Alertable       /      not alertable 

e) Alertable       /      not alertable 

f) Alertable       /      not alertable 

g) Alertable       /      not alertable 

 

In no 20 and 21 say whether the answer is true or f alse and give an OB reference. 
 
20)  In a Simple System event you can play an opening bid of 2♥ or 2♠ as showing a 
weak 2 showing a 6-card suit and 6 to 10 points with 2NT as an enquiry response. 
 

True   /   False  OB ref: …………………………………………  
 
 
 
21)  At level 2 it is permitted to play a 1NT overcall as a takeout bid (similar to a 
takeout double) of any agreed strength. 
 

True   /   False  OB ref: …………………………………………  
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Section 3 – Judgement Rulings 
 
In Q22 to 25 answers should include your ruling tog ether with Law Book and OB 
references in support of those answers. Answer in t he areas provided. If you need 
more space there is a blank page on the back cover.  
 
22) 
 

♠ K 9 4 3 
♥ 6 2 
♦ 10 9 7 4 
♣ Q 8 3 

♠ Q J ♠ 8 6 5 2 
♥ A Q J 9 5 ♥ 7 4 3 
♦ K 3 ♦ 6 5 
♣ A 5 4 2 ♣ K J 7 6 

♠ A 10 7 
♥ K 10 8 
♦ A Q J 8 2 
♣ 10 9 

Board 7 : Dealer South : All vulnerable 
Scoring: IMPs 
 
West North East South 
   1NT 
Dbl All Pass 
 

 
Trick 1  ♥Q won by South’s king 
Trick 2  ♠ to ♠K 
Trick 3  ♦10 to ♦K 
Trick 4  Cash ♥A 
Trick 5  Cash ♥J – both North and South discard Clubs 
Trick 6  ♥ to ♥10 
 
Declarer finishes with ten tricks – two Hearts, four Spades and four Diamonds.    
EW call TD to complain about revoke. 
 
What ruling do you make?       (3 marks) 
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23) 
 

♠ K Q J 7 4 3 
♥ - 
♦ A 7 4 
♣ Q 10 8 3 

♠ A 10 9 8 6 ♠ - 
♥ Q 4 3 ♥ A J 10 7 6 5 
♦ 9 3 ♦ 10 8 6 5 
♣ 9 7 2 ♣ A K 6 

♠ 5 2 
♥ K 9 8 2 
♦ K Q J 2 
♣ J 5 4 

Board 14 : Dealer East : Love all 
 
West North East South 
  1♥ Pass 
1♠ 2♠(1) Pass 3♦ 
All Pass 
 

(1) East asks and is told “Not Spades – Forcing”   
 
 
Result:  3♦ �; NS + 110 

 

 
You are asked to make a ruling from a match played privately (From Hubert Philips 
match) i.e. by telephone. 
 
 
EW ask for a ruling.  They argue that there has been Misinformation and Unauthorised 
Information and question North’s pass of 3♦.   
 
North will tell you that the partnership agreement is that 2♠ in this auction is natural and 
that he has the system notes in the car to demonstrate this.  (You may assume this is 
correct). 
 
South will tell you that they do not play that often; she was a little unsure but thought it 
probably asked for a Spade stop for NT. 
 
If you ask North why he passed 3♦, he will say “There was an opening bid on my left 
and a response on my right.  Hearts have been bid and not supported – in view of my 
void I thought partner had a stack of those and we were high enough.” 
 
If you ask North, what a change of suit means after an overcall by partner he will agree 
that it is natural, forcing and encouraging” 
 
 
Answer the questions on the next page. 
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a) What ruling do you make?      (3 marks) 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

b) What do you tell the players on the telephone?   (3 marks) 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 



GO TO NEXT PAGE  9 

24) 
 

♠ Q 6 
♥ Q 9 8 2 
♦ 6 
♣ A K 10 9 8 7 

♠ A K 10 9 8 7 4 3 2 ♠ J 5 
♥ 10 4 ♥ 7 6 
♦ 9 5 ♦ A 10 7 4 3 2 
♣ - ♣ 6 4 3 

♠ - 
♥ A K J 5 3 
♦ K Q J 8 
♣ Q J 5 2 

Board 24 : Dealer West : Love all 
 
West North East South 
2♣(A1) 3♣ 3♦ 5♣ 
5♠ Pass Pass Dbl 
All Pass 
 

(1) Acol – partnership agreement is that it may 
include nine tricks in a suit.  No one asks – the 
system is explained on the convention card 
which is headed “Acol” 

 
Result:  5♠x -1 by West; NS +100  
(Score at other table 5♣+1 NS +420) 
 

 
South calls you at the end of the hand.  He complains about West’s 2♣ bid and says he 
has been misinformed.  He expected a strong hand.  With the correct information about 
West’s hand he and his partner would definitely have bid 6♣ and made it.   
 

a) What questions do you ask?      (3 marks) 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

b) What ruling do you make?      (3 marks) 
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25) 
 

♠ Q 10 9 4 
♥ Q J 9 7 
♦ 6 2 
♣ Q 4 3 

♠ J 7 3 2 ♠ A K 6 
♥ 10 4 3 2 ♥ 6 
♦ 3 ♦ A J 9 8 4 
♣ K 10 9 2 ♣ A 8 7 5 

♠ 8 5 
♥ A K 8 5 
♦ K Q 10 7 5 
♣ J 6 

Board 27 : Dealer South : Love all,  
Scoring IMPs 
 
West North East South 
   1NT(1) 
Pass Pass Dbl 2♦ 
Dbl(A2) All Pass 
 

(1) Announced 12-14. 
(2) Alerted – the partnership agreement was take-

out – both members of the partnership agree 
this. 
 

Result: 2♦x – 2 by South. NS = -300 
 

 
You are consulted by a TD colleague by phone.  He is at a Bridge Club where a late 
round of the Nicko is in progress.  He has been asked for a ruling on this board. 
 
The opening lead was a small Heart.  Declarer won in dummy and played a trump to the 
♦K and then the ♦Q.  West discarded a Spade  
 
Declarer finished with six tricks.  She argued that although EW had misdefended she 
might have done better. 
The Double of 2♦ should not have been alerted.  She had believed that it was for 
penalty and had made an inferior play in trumps as a result.  If she had known that the 
double was take-out she would have finessed the ♦10 on round one and might have 
made more tricks. 
 
What advice do you give your colleague?     (5 marks) 
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Section 4 – Organization. 
Answer in the area provided. If you need more space  there is a blank page on the 
back cover.  
26)  
 
You are asked to run a regional heat of the National Pairs.  The format is two sessions of 
24 boards each, played with duplimated boards provided by Aylesbury.  For each 
session you have two sets numbered 1-32.  Your heat is scored locally.   
 
You are told to expect 44 qualified pairs (22 tables), but two of these pairs have not 
replied to the entry form and may not turn up.  3 pairs have asked for a stationary 
position. 
 
How would you prepare and organise your tournament? 
 
(You should consider scoring, equipment needed, section sizes, seating, movements of 
lines, placement of stationary pairs and how to adapt if one or both of the two “dubious” 
pairs do or don’t arrive.  Where would you situate a missing pair if you had one?)  
         (10 marks) 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



  12 

Blank page for extra answers 
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Answers  

1 true 31B 

2 false 24B 

3 false 5A 

4 false 22A1 

5 true 4 

6 false 15C 

7 false 20B 

8 false 25B1 

9 true 27B1b 

10 false 28B 

11 false 36A 

12 false 43A1b 

13 false 45D 

14 false 67B2 

15 true 51A 

16 false 63A3 

17 true 16D2 

18 true 1 or any other that covers it.    (36 marks) 

 

19 a) no 5G3 (c)(2) 

b) yes 5G1(a) 

c) yes 5G2 (c)(3) 

d) no 5G3(e)(3) 

e) yes 5E2(a) 

f) no 5E2(a) 

g) yes 5G4(g) 

 

 

20 true. OB 9D9 – revised 1/8/09 

21 true. OB 11N9 – revised 1/8/09      (9 marks) 

 

22 is a straightforward equity revoke though lots of tricks  (3 marks) 

23 A pretty messy UI case  I'm for 4 Spades doubled -2 as I recall (Ruling of First 

Instance)         (3,3 marks) 

24 Doesn't meet Extended Rule of 25 so ask about why opened 2 Clubs 

      +3/-3 IMPS        (3,3 marks) 

 

25 Haven't finally made my mind up.  I don't think there's damage but should we 

adjust if there   was?  Declarer could have protected herself very easily (5 marks) 

 

26 Just want sensible answers 13 / 9 three moving lines - small number of NS 

stationary pairs - sit out in 2 board rounds - 21 awkward number 12 Blackpool?  and 

9 or 13 Mitchell and 8 table Hesitation 

Sensible timings - Use of boards -Minus marks for disobeying conditions (10 marks) 

 

Grand total   75 marks 

Red NS  1 to 13 Stay  Red NS 1 to 13 

Red EW 1 to 9 Go to White NS  1 to 9 

Red EW 10 to 13 Go to White EW 1 to 4 

White NS 1 to 9 Go to Red EW 1 to 9 

White EW 1 to 4 Go to Red EW 10 to 13 

White EW 5 to 9 stay White EW 5 to 9 

 


