Home EBU TDs

GJS Incorrect explanation?

I played in a local blue-pointed Swiss Pairs yesterday. At the beginning of the round, I studied opponents' convention cards and there was nothing there about discards. On enquiry, I was told very firmly: 'We have no discard system.' I was the declarer on the first board. In the six-card ending my RHO held three small useless clubs and AJ9 of hearts. She discarded the 9 of hearts and her partner duly led a heart. Do I have any recourse?

Comments

• edited December 2018

@GJS said:
    I played in a local blue-pointed Swiss Pairs yesterday. At the beginning of the round, I studied opponents' convention cards and there was nothing there about discards. On enquiry, I was told very firmly: 'We have no discard system.' I was the declarer on the first board. In the six-card ending my RHO held three small useless clubs and AJ9 of hearts. She discarded the 9 of hearts and her partner duly led a heart. Do I have any recourse?

You could certainly ask the TD to investigate, which I would expect to involve asking RHO why she chose to discard that card and LHO why they led a heart. Of course there would need to be damage before any adjustment might be considered.

• Thank you, Gordon.

In fact, I was not damaged but I was upset by what I saw as dishonesty.

• The H9 blatantly looks like a discard with meaning, so I would put the burden of proof (that it was not a discard with meaning) on the defenders.

If the director rules that they were playing a discard system then the tricky bit becomes assessing the damage, if any. Declarer has been misinformed, but if he(/she) had been properly informed what would he have done differently? In that situation, probably nothing, but has he been damaged on other boards because he was taking no notice of their discards?

I would also consider a PP under 2.8.3.4a Incomplete disclosure of methods - jumping to a second offence penalty because of the blatant nature of the failure to disclose.