Inadvertent / insufficient call
A deceptively simple TD call last night. Bidding was p - p - 2h - 2c.
Went to the table and was about to get myself ready for comparable calls, accept or not, but first i wanted to know why offender had bid 2c.
Took her away from the table and she claimed "I meant to bid 3c, but pulled the wrong one out". I didn't look at her hand (shouldn't need to, especially as I hadn't yet played it, but on later inspection it was an opening hand with 5 decent clubs), so I ruled "mechanical error" and allowed her to correct to the intended 3c.
In the bar afterwards her partner, and regular club TD, reckoned I should have first offered next hand option to accept the call, and then go into comparable calls (I think he omitted the step of making good at lowest denomination) etc.
I checked the EBU videos, and in them our beloved Gordon goes straight into these options, on the presumption that it is a insufficient call, so I suspect my colleague may be right.
Am I not right to check for mechanical error / inadvertent call first?