Home Scoring and other IT questions

Hosting Virtual Bridge Club on BBO (or similar)

I have been asked by a few club members if it is possible to run a virtual club session like the EBU ones now hosted on BBO. I am a novice on BBO but quick to learn. Grateful if anyone with more experience, could advise:
1. Is this possible?
2. Link to advice on how to set it up?
3. Any particular issues?

Comments

• I ran a free 6-table event for Broadstairs Bridge Club last night. The people who played were in general those who would never have ventured into the EBU events.

The first step is that you have to email support@bridgebase.com for them to authorise you to be a director. I did this about 3 weeks ago. Since then BBO have had capacity problems and last weekend had to cancel all free tournaments. They have now added capacity but I am not sure if that has affected their willingness to authorise new directors.
    Assuming you get through that stage you then need to get your members to register with BBO and get a username. You then need to collect these user names. I used a form on the Broadstairs Bridgewebs site to do this. It is still there so you can take a look at it. The reason for this is that you presumably want to restrict your event to club members and not allow anybody in the world to join.