I was non playing TD at a beginner’s Duplicate. E/W bid as follows.
1NT / 2D ( clearly announced as transfer to hearts) / nb / 3H / 4H
At which point NS queried who was on lead and I was called to the table. No one seemed to have noticed at the time that E had put down a pass card instead of bidding hearts!
Do I (I) rule that 3H is a illegal bid and the final contract is 2D
(ii) say that the intention of the bidding was clear and the final contract is 4H with East as declarer or with west as declarer.
These are inexperienced players and we want them to continue playing or trying to play bridge!
I ruled that east was declarer in 4H. Everyone was happy. 4H went one off.