Home EBU TDs

Statistically unfair movements

Small club is growing and now regularly has more than 16 tables. Members are used to simple Mitchell movement and one section. The forthcoming AGM will discuss movement fairness and I need help in finding information describing how fair/unfair such a move is for various table numbers and boards played ie what is the statistical margin of error to the final results table.

Pointers to website giving such numbers would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• I'm not an expert on movements , so I'm afraid I'm not going to answer the substantive question, but I do rather wonder about how productive it will be to have a discussion of this sort at your AGM. In my experience when AGMs discuss matters of this sort (unless it is to have a brief discussion of a couple of well-researched options, before voting on which to adopt), the red herrings are very much in evidence, But perhaps your club is different - good luck, anyway.

• You might want to look at http://www.ebu.co.uk/70-per-cent-rule and the link to "suggested movements".

There are various ways of avoiding having 30+ boards in play with 15/16/17 tables. With 18+ tables you can play in two sections.

• Great news about the expansion of your club. If your club has access to a dealing machine web mitchells are a good option. There is more about movements including web mitchells at http://www.ebu.co.uk/laws-and-ethics/publications

• They may be used to one section but with ever increasing numbers two sections could be better.
    I don't know how easy it is to run Bridgemates with two sections. We do it with two separate computers.

Alan

• Very easy with EBUScore. Can be totally different movements and number of tables if you wish. Currently up to 50 sections supported I think. So only need one server and computer.