No Answers Please

As someone that doesn't get to TD as often as I want, and hence feels permanently rusty, I started scratching down some questions that would get me thinking (and perhaps better understanding as a consequence). Feel free to reply with more questions that get you thinking about the rules rather than just looking up a ruling. But please don't post answers, they should already be in the rule book(s) - create a new thread if you think they're interesting/contentious.

  • What is the last point in a hand that someone can request a full bidding recap?
  • What's the furthest you can wind-back play on a revoke?
  • Other than from procedural penalties, when could the NS score and the EW score not total 100%?
  • When does a bidding problem silence one's partner for one round, and when does it silence them fully?
  • When can one legally choose to change a card correctly played?
  • At what point should someone correct their partner's mis-explanation (both bid and play)?
  • What's the PP for eating the last chocolate biscuit that the TD had their eye on?
  • When can a player review quitted tricks (including opponents' cards)?
  • When is a card "played"?
  • Who wins if partners disagree on a decision?
  • Can you restart a hand? If so, how far in, and when?
  • Can you ever (succesfully) replace an illegal bid/play with another illegal bid/play?

Comments

  • A person keeps their Pass cards loose, face up, on the table and has done so for years without a complaint. Opponents can insist that they have to be played prior to any bids can be played from the bidding box?

  • A table forgets to arrow switch and one pair complain they lost out because they missed out on very good hands
    A table can't play a board in a multiple teams because it has been fouled (N/S cards put in E/W boxes)
    A player asks about a 5C response to RKCB mid auction having passed throughout

    Peter Bushby Suffolk

  • Law 55A - at some clubs, that I have played at, the directors state that declarer's lead out of turn from their hand may be picked up as they are declarer. When challenged they say it's opening lead out of turn?

  • @Johnathan said:
    Law 55A - at some clubs, that I have played at, the directors state that declarer's lead out of turn from their hand may be picked up as they are declarer. When challenged they say it's opening lead out of turn?

    Presumably they would then allow declarer to face his hand and become dummy! - Law 54A

  • Although of course they should then read 54E and then law 24D

  • What is dummy allowed to say during the play of the hand?
    What are defenders allowed to say during the play of the hand?

  • @GrahamC said:
    What is dummy allowed to say during the play of the hand?
    What are defenders allowed to say during the play of the hand?

    Dummy can attempt to prevent irregularities - to do so, dummy must speak up before the irregularity happens.
    Dummy can call the director if one of the other players has drawn attention to an irregularity.
    Dummy can ask "having none" of declarer.
    Dummy can answer questions from defenders (or the director).
    Although not explicitly allowed by law, dummy should call the director to deal with bad behaviour at the table.

    Defenders can attempt to prevent irregularity and can draw attention to an irregularity once it has happened and can call the director.
    Defenders can ask "having none" of each other and declarer - they should not announce "having none" when they themselves fail to follow suit.
    Defenders can ask some specific questions about the contract and the meaning of calls.
    Defenders can answer questions from declarer (or the director).

  • Law 55A & B applies to declarer mid game.

  • When can't you ask questions?
    What questions can you and can't you ask?
    When exactly should the director be called in the following circumstance?
    ...
    ...
    looking at words like 'immediately', 'at once' 'forthwith'. etc
    What happens if one side imposes an (incorrect) rectification on the other to their advantage?
    Both sides revoke on the same trick and one of them leads to the next trick before the revoke is discovered - what happens?
    Near the end of the auction, a player is in the pass-out position and thinking what to do. A defender thinks they have passed and leads a small card face up. The player then passes.

Sign In or Register to comment.