Robin_BarkerTD

About

Username
Robin_BarkerTD
Joined
Visits
4,327
Last Active
Roles
Member, Moderator

Comments

  • My first thought is that this is a typo or thinko or transcription error. The 5.0 should be 6.0 from the 6 in the upper of the two preceding tables (not the 5 from the lower table) It will be corrected - unless I have second thoughts.
  • A. The Pass card was a mechanical error - although the perpetrator talked about lack of concentration, the error between Pass and Stop was a mechanical one. B. Given Law 25A3, I think South is allowed to recognise that there may be a problem with …
  • I don't see how East can protect himself: there was an alert, they asked, they got an answer with no expressed uncertainty. East does not know there has been an infraction, so he can't get the director and remove North to ask South about their agr…
  • Buried in the White Book (81.4.1) is If the table is told not to play the board [before it is played], the board is cancelled and an artificial adjusted score awarded (Law 12C2). For a pair at fault, awarding 40% should be sufficient, but if t…
  • The default behaviour is that the names will be copied to session two. It is possible to change line-ups in different rounds and different sessions. One approach is the teams tell the scorer what they have done (when they change line up) and the t…
  • @484707 said: Law 64C b ? Law 64C1
  • @16248 said: Is there any reason why it doesn't have a nine-round Web Mitchell for 18 Tables? The same reason that it doesn't have a 13-round Web Mitchell for 26 tables?
  • @JeremyChild said: It is incredibly easy to identify when they are out of order ... Until the labels come off and someone puts them back on the wrong board! All I am saying is that it does take some work and diligence to make these schemes…
  • it is legal to play 2H as 4+ hearts with some strength or a strong balanced hand; 'some strength' can be anything. This is Blue Book 7C1: 7C1(a) + 7C1(b)(i). I don't think disclosure is much of an issue here: this hand as much strength and defen…
  • @Mitch said: In principle you can stop (& rule 'no adjustment') as soon as you get one answer of "No", as Tag observes. But I think that it's good form to actually consider all four questions, even if you don't go through all the motions …
  • We will send movements for Masters Pairs which aims to play 24 boards in each session. For a stand-alone county pairs final you can be more flexible on session lengths, so 13 tables should play 13-round interwoven howell in the second half (not…
  • I would not use 'Benji' unless 2C is stronger than one bids and weaker than 2D. If I can help it, I would not use 'Multi' (without immediate qualification) unless it refers to 2D which may be weak in a major and has strong options. I don't think '…
  • @Randhl said: I was really not bothered about the bidding just curious about the director's ruling Letting play continue was right. The artificial adjusted score would only be appropriate if this a fielded psyche or an illegal psyche or an…
  • There is no time limit in Law 79C2. Subject to approval by the Tournament Organizer, a scoring error may be corrected after expiry of the Correction Period if the Director is satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the record is wrong. If the c…
  • Something should be done to get East/West to have an agreement about their take-out doubles, and to disclose that agreement if it is unexpected. Having a discussion with East/West, with a view to recording the hand, may be that something, even if t…
  • Both players have UI: one from the explanation, one from the wince. The wince suggests bidding, so we need to see if Pass of 2D is a logical alternative. As far as openers rebid goes: when I played strong twos. 2M - Pass or 2S or 2NT was negative…
  • @GrahamC said: What is dummy allowed to say during the play of the hand? What are defenders allowed to say during the play of the hand? Dummy can attempt to prevent irregularities - to do so, dummy must speak up before the irregularity ha…
  • @Simmoal said: It was after selecting the 'Set all player EBU Details' button. All I can think of is that the EBU Database was missing or corrupt, or the attempt to access the internet to read NGS failed in an unexpected way.
  • @JeremyChild said: Actually I guess declarer's best option is to get defenders to agree to play on. Declarer can't suggest that defenders play on. Do the laws intend that it is "played on" with claimers hand faced? Surely not (and that'…
  • What was the last button you clicked before this error appeared?
  • I don't understand the problem. The defenders have objected to the claim, so they call the TD, who applies Law 70B. The director can require the remaining cards to be faced and then rules. Once the claim is found to be faulty, the defence will …
  • If declarer is happy to play the hand with thirteen penalty cards then the law should take its course. If declarer expresses the opinion that they won't enjoy having to think about the play of 3 (sometimes 4) hands then I would waive the penalty ca…
  • I think this is the same as passing a cue bid having decided to sign off in game (rather than make further slam tries): 'loss of concentration' not 'mechanical error'; and therefore not Law 25A.
  • The TD courses can teach the importance of good behaviour from the players and the need for some level of control from the TD. It is much harder to teach the skills necessary to achieve that - often the type of person who is interested in the logi…
  • Jeremy: I suggest announcing the range and "but there's more to say". But I don't suppose opponents really care about the range or the distributional constraints - when has the precise nature of a natural 2NT ever affected whether the opponents wil…
  • I don't think they would get as far a trick 13 without someone noticing there was no dummy.
  • I had problems this morning, came here to see if any one else had, saw nothing and read another thread ...
  • In apply Law 24 and Law 50 to the defender's exposed card, one might (depending on the relative experience of the two sides) apply 'unless the Director designates otherwise' and designate the defender's card as not a penalty card (because it's expo…
  • This observation does not solve the problem for the moment, just indicates what the laws/regulations could usefully say. Law 36C says When attention is drawn to an inadmissible double or redouble only after the opening lead has been faced, the …
  • You could have renumbered the pairs and arrow-switched the boards played at table 11 in round 1.