JeremyChild

About

Username
JeremyChild
Joined
Visits
2,053
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • @34264 said: Are you entitled to think for (say) up to 14 or 15 seconds (10 for the disregarded stop plus 4 or so for normal reflection) before calling without the risk of being accused of imparting UI to partner who might wish to take furth…
  • @Senior_Kibitzer said: @JeremyChild said: My partner and I don't play any signalling or discarding methods. I am surprised. If you really have an agreement that you don't play any signalling or discard method, then you …
  • @gordonrainsford said: @JeremyChild said: My partner and I don't play any signalling or discarding methods. What does this mean? Do you always play your lowest card when not trying to win or promote a card? Do you discard e…
  • @Mark_Brown said: 2D over 2C: Alert: Explained as "Relay". Surely it needs qualifying as to whether it's forced or denying certain stronger hands. onnies My understanding of "relay" is that it shows nothing about the hand (i.e. weejonnie's…
  • @gordonrainsford said: Is "6+" a typo? If not, how many points did EW expect? In any case, if West has a very weak hand, the double is likely to be passed around whatever its meaning. No it's not a typo, and exactly!
  • Thanks, @Robin_BarkerTD
  • @gordonrainsford said: 60/40 seems right. Agreed - but under which law? I'm conscious of 12B2 (The Director may not award an adjusted score on the grounds that the rectification provided in these Laws is either unduly severe or advantageous…
  • I am sure nobody behaves like that at Jeremy's clubs - but EW do have cause to feel unhappy. I had something similar the next day (in effect but not execution). South was declarer and claimed with 3 tricks to go. Dummy had three cards left in…
  • Hi Peter Thanks for taking the time to respond - your feedback is much appreciated. The idea for this came about when I had to do a two session pairs all play all event. I can breeze through a single session with my eyes closed, but wasn't quite …
  • @16248 said: I always make it clear that players should never put boards on top of each other. Only one board actually on the table. It makes a lot of situations easier. I think this is an excellent approach, but presumably it's a persona…
    in POOT Comment by JeremyChild March 4
  • Here's a similar situation where UI and MI conflict and avoiding MI wins. Opponents open 1H, my partner overcalls 1NT. I bid 2C (Stayman-ish) but my partner does not alert. Partner bids 2D and the opponents ask me about the 2D. I can't explain t…
  • @mikeindex said: I tend to think, though, that in the circumstances as outlined above my decision was the best on the spot. No club wants to discourage inexperienced players, or indeed good sportsmanship. I agree that's it's difficult when …
  • "Common Bridge Knowledge" is to an extent based on the expectations and experience of the players at the table (and hence isn't really "common"). I wouldn't call a jump NT overcall Common Bridge Knowledge. Yes a lot of players know about it but it'…
  • Generally No. Opponents are only entitled to knowledge about NS's system. However, there may be other elements of the system which would have a bearing on possible meanings - either calls in similar situations or other calls not made (thus excludi…
  • @Mitch said: @JeremyChild said: ...This does not say that you are obliged to protect your opponents if they give misinformation. Are you suggesting that, if the opponents forget to alert a call, it's OK to knowingly misinfo…
  • Playing devil's advocate for a moment, and remembering that it is the system that opponents are entitled to know about, not what the actual call means. Under 4 A 6 If there is no alert and no announcement, opponents can assume that there is an unde…
  • Thanks @Robin_BarkerTD
  • @Mitch said: Manning goes through the simple options of Mitchell + Double (interwoven) Howell. For even numbers of tables, he also lists some double Howell alternatives to the Mitchell. pp 102-123 in the 1992 edition - don't know pp for the …
  • I have 25 pairs, aiming at 2 sessions and around 48 boards. A quick look at EBUScore shows it has the movements for 13 table all play all already in it - a switched Mitchell and a double Howell. Further investigation shows similar movements for ce…
  • @weejonnie said: There is no UI from the withdrawn bid, BTW - see Law 23b) Sorry yes - poor choice of words on my part. I should perhaps have said "knowledge of his partner's withdrawn bid". 23b says the (sometimes draconian) UI rules do n…
  • @Tag said: Regarding point 2, dummy can strive to prevent an irregularity by declarer. The irregularity hasn't been committed until declarer plays a card to the subsequent trick, so dummy can speak up until he does so. Interesting point a…
  • @Tag said: @JeremyChild said: @ais523 said: What about J8 AQ6 AKJ32 KQ5? That hand looks like a 3 overcall to me (at least, I can't think of an alternative call that seems appropriate in the situation, unless 3 ha…
  • @ais523 said: What about J8 AQ6 AKJ32 KQ5? That hand looks like a 3 overcall to me (at least, I can't think of an alternative call that seems appropriate in the situation, unless 3 has been agreed as a conventional call appropriate for this so…
  • @GrahamC said: Can't see how failing to alert the 2d has damaged anyone. There is some onus of oppos to ask questions. I certainly would if I was in the pass out seat. Experienced pairs are expected to protect themselves against weaker pai…
  • @dgemerson said: @JeremyChild said: Irrespective of North's reason for bidding 2C, the bid is deemed to strong in the NS system (Law 21B1b). South's 2D response should therefore be alerted, and since it wasn't, NS have committed a…
  • Irrespective of North's reason for bidding 2C, the bid is deemed to strong in the NS system (Law 21B1b). South's 2D response should therefore be alerted, and since it wasn't, NS have committed an infraction. Moreover, it seems likely that North ha…
  • 1) To state the obvious, 4C is a jump bid, so next player has to wait an obligatory 10s before calling. 2) Definitely bullying, covered under BB@B Looking at the misinforming of the opposition as to the laws: 3) Law 81C "The Director (not the pla…
  • @34264 said: Gordon Rainsford is, of course right I find this to be an almost universal truth
  • @Tag said: Note that if the defenders agree to play on at declarer's request, they may still dispute the result and ask for the director's adjudication after the hand is played out. Only if the non-claiming side requests play to continue will …
  • Actually I guess declarer's best option is to get defenders to agree to play on. Interestingly the requirement for claimer to face their hand comes when the claim is made - i.e. before the option to play on is available. Do the laws intend that it …