Senior_Kibitzer

About

Username
Senior_Kibitzer
Joined
Visits
1,086
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • Here's some feed-back from one of the other mid-week venues, FWIW: Last year and this year, I ran heats of the Monday and Thursday evening events (PWTE & Mixed Pairs) at Sheffield Bridge Club. Both years I wrote to about 20 other bridge club se…
  • Transfer overcalls of 1NT are not very common but I have come across them, mostly in the case of one chap at my club who heard about them, thought they were a wonderful idea and got his partners to play them, but inevitably they kept forgetting and …
  • While a system card will provide evidence of their actual agreement, if the partnership has no system card, as is often the case at clubs, then we have to judge what the actual agreement is by asking the players, and it may be either natural, or a t…
  • At WBF Cat 3 and at EBU Level 4, all responses to opening bids are permitted. Without looking at the EBL or even the ABF sites (I recollect that you are in Australia), I would be surprised if I were to be told that either use anything other than the…
  • The 2 Multi opening is not a Brown Sticker Convention but it isn't quite permitted at EBU Level 4, and that is down to the different definitions by WBF and EBU in regulating what each considers a "Strong" hand. (Some 15 HCP hands are not "Strong" …
  • Thanks, Robin. It did seem about 3 or 4 years ago but I wasn't sure. So, it means that the way Scorebridge scores small sub-fields is as per the pre-August 2015 White Book, so it was "right" till not long ago. The regulation at my club is that we …
  • Anyone know how long it is since the Small Sub-field Formula was introduced? I now wish I hadn't recently thrown out my copy of a version of the White Book of a few years ago!
  • "I could not get a straight answer as to why they bid as they did." I think you did get a straight answer in "I didn't think I was strong enough to bid 3 " and in claiming to not know what a psyche is. That the permitted agreements for the session…
  • North's testimony seems clear that there is very strong evidence of a non-permitted agreement here and that this was not a psyche. There certainly seemed no intent to deceive. I have just been covering psyches on a series of Club TD training course…
  • I have now found the source of "ask the alleged offender what they were thinking about". It is in a 2016 edition of the booklet for those taking the Club TD Training course on Judgement Rulings. The courses got revamped after the new Laws in 2017 an…
  • "I think Barrie's formula was for the maximum number of teams for the number of rounds ...." That makes sense. It was a long time ago that I last heard of it. I agree that there tends to be disappointment if you bill an event as Swiss Teams and ch…
  • Strangely, I was just discussing this with my club committee this afternoon. We have an annual Swiss Teams but sometimes we struggle to get a reasonable number of teams. There used to be a rule of thumb that is is best to have, for n rounds, the mi…
  • White Book 8.16.7 gives some advice. Judging from a players hand whether he may have had something to think about is a last resort, and also check whether the previous call was a jump bid requiring a Stop. I disagree with asking an alleged offender…
  • From what I can tell from the ABF Master Points Handbook, your green points are roughly equivalent to black points in EBU-land. If I am directing a club session, sometimes I am also scoring and sometimes we have a designated scorer on the rota. In …
  • Hi, Sheba, Welcome to the EBU forums. Your post might have been better on the TD forum here, and maybe one of the administrators might move it there. But you ask a good question.... The Laws are world-wide, but they delegate certain functions such…
  • "Odds of Exactly Two Yarboroughs = 1 in [1827^2] * 3 ...... or one in 1,112,643 approx." I think these are the odds for either two or three Yarboroughs for a given player in a given set of three random hands, and this is going to be the statistic…
  • Law 82 is the law that covers errors by the TD. Yes, the premature substitution of the Pass before you arrived means that under 27C, the offender doesn't get any option other than to pass IF the 3 insufficient bid is not accepted. Would West have …
  • It's not a "shady area" at all. You "know" that they have changed their system because if they hadn't, the 2 would have been announced and not alerted. So they then explain that it shows 5+ clubs whatever and you say "Ah! That's announce-able a…
  • The hands can be accessed via Ozdeniz' post on 11 June. I think with Ozdeniz' latest question No 2, North and South have become the wrong way round, reflected also in Vix' answer to Q4, but beyond that, I go along with what Vix says.
  • Since we are unlikely ever to know what the 3 bid systemically means, my favourite candidate for the partnership agreement for the 3 bid is that it is a further enquiry on South's hand. Has South got a good or poor hand in the context of his 8-9 HCP…
  • I have twice given my strong opinion that 4 cannot be EKCB. Why do you think I am wrong? Does this pair even play EKCB? If this pair are sufficiently experienced that they play EKCB, then they will surely have an agreed meaning for the 3 bid in the…
  • Pretty much as ais523 says. It seems likely that the 3 bid is inviting to 4 if, as you say, the 3 bid must (as far as South and partnership agreement is concerned) show an upper range weak 2 in spades. It must be very unlikely that the 3 bid can be…
  • Could 3 also have shown a strong hand with diamonds? It may have some relevance to the meaning of 3 in this sequence as it might be a relay. If it is a relay, then if South bids 3 as it seems he should, North (who has got the HCP range wrong as wel…
  • @MikeK said: So I will use either 2.8 per 1%NGS for X-Imps or 2.3 if Butler, assuming I have got my sums right. I agree re Cross-IMPs but I think you have a typo for Butler. I make it 3.3 IMPs per 1% NG difference
  • There's information about Butler and Cross-IMP Pairs in the main text of the full guide. I suggested on a previous thread here a lazy way by waiting till the next day when the results will have been processed for NGS and seeing which pairs has had t…
  • @MikeK said: By the time the Appeal was held the participants had left. Players are often unable to hang around after the ends of sessions and It can often be unsatisfactory for an appeal to be conducted without the players (and I have even …
  • I would suggest that Blue Book 2A1 supports the views expressed by Frances and Robin.
  • Law 44G is relevant in what it doesn't say. It does say that the player to lead to the next trick is the player who won the previous trick, but there is no mention of timing, and in particular no requirement to wait for other players to quit their c…
  • There's also Blue Book 2B2: "The questioning must not amount to harassment".
  • At my club we frequently have mixed pairs playing in our Ladies Pairs and Mens' Pairs and we frequently have unisex pairs playing in our Mixed Pairs. These pairs are simply ineligible to win the relevant trophy but don't otherwise play "without stan…