adam

About

Username
adam
Joined
Visits
131
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • @Robin_BarkerTD said: ......... In terms of what is permitted, I am uneasy that how we rule depends on whether players understand how to describe their agreements. A pair may play that the minimum for 2C-2D-2H/2S is lower than their minimum…
  • @ais523 said: The rule isn't about which bids are legal, it's about which agreements are legal. East can legally bid a strong 2 on only 14 HCP, but only if East's bid successfully deceives West into thinking that East necessarily has the 23 po…
  • @VixTD said: [Mitch]: "Run an all-play-all qualifying round, qualifying (two or) four for the knockout.stage." We did also consider abandoning the knockout format altogether and see if an all-play-all teams championship on one day gets mo…
  • @Martin said: Hi Adam Whilst I don't have any problem with your bids, the failure of your partner to alert is not made better by the fact that your partner just so happened to have a 3 card suit, as the alerts should be based on agreement…
  • @Geoff103 said: Thank you for that. I can see that if one had a sight of cc then one would know. This happened in this morning's acol tourney on BBO. The player bidding 1 club had an empty cc and his p said nothing. It may be legal…
  • @SDN said: I'm confused. If North opened 2D how did W overcall before S bid 2NT and then E doubled? I thought calls went clockwise. Quite right. I must be rotationally challenged.
  • That is very helpful weejonnie Thanks and apologies for getting EW's bids back to front. As you rightly pointed out it must have been E who overcalled their powerhouse S suit. The only problem with North believing that his bidding shows a balance…
  • Law 1 is clear If the board has two Spade 3s then bridge is not being played and the board should be cancelled. If this board has already been played then White Book 2.8.2 f indicates that a procedural penalty should be applied to any pair who has…
    in Wrong Cards Comment by adam January 2018
  • @Alan16248 said: If you alert 2D then 2H is not a completion of transfer. BB 4B2(d) says doubles of "Suit bids that do not show the suit bid Alert unless the double shows the suit bid" So, as 2H is not a completion of the transfer but is a…
  • @adam said: Great idea to have a separate category for scoring but I also didn't notice it until I read Alan16248's post. Perhaps Gordon should start a thread called "Categories" and explain how they work. P.S. I meant that the thread w…
  • Great idea to have a separate category for scoring but I also didn't notice it until I read Alan16248's post. Perhaps Gordon should start a thread called "Categories" and explain how they work.