Tag

About

Username
Tag
Joined
Visits
2,492
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • East's contradicting partner's explanation during the auction is probably worth a penalty, certainly a warning and some guidance regarding not doing it again. If East bids 5D, I can't see how that could be viewed as natural and West should be biddi…
  • Try as we might to drill it into people that they should call the director, many remain unwilling until they run out of other options. I think the hand can be played and the knowledge of the ace is authorised to all players by 16A1(d). If the knowl…
    in Whose fault? Comment by Tag December 11
  • Equally, I've seen a slam that would fail if the player who tried to cash his ace and king were allowed to and also situations where the only guard in a suit was the ability to impose a lead-restriction.
    in Five Options Comment by Tag December 8
  • @gordonrainsford said: @Tag said: I think the only redress is the "could have known" in Law 73C but that's a bit of a stretch. I don't think it's much of a stretch to use 72C (which is what I assume you meant) as directed b…
  • I think the only redress is the "could have known" in Law 73C but that's a bit of a stretch.
  • Whether by agreement it shows diamonds might be judged on what the response would be to a redouble.
  • In my view, if the partnership can't reasonably raise the suit with three or four opposite then a lack of alert could be misleading, thus a "potentially unexpected meaning". Of course, in any particular instance, the doubler could believe that part…
  • Note that there is 16B1b and also 73C1. Did the player "carefully avoid taking advantage of the unauthorized (sic) information"? This situation is where a poll comes into play. If you can't hold a poll of comparable players then you're left with yo…
    in UI (16B1b) Comment by Tag December 2
  • In a similar situation, one could have (1D) - 1NT - (p) - 2C!. The 2C is alerted whether it's normal Stayman or some other flavour of Stayman. A 2H bid could then have the potentially unexpected meaning of showing five hearts. I accept ais523's log…
  • Is there a neighbouring building with a stronger wifi than yours that could be swamping your signal? The support guy is probably trying to find a clear channel not in conflict with a nearby signal.
    in Arcscorer Comment by Tag November 25
  • What shocking news. He was my instructor on the TD course and we often exchanged good words when I saw him at events. RIP, Rob.
    in Sad news Comment by Tag November 25
  • @ManchesterRambler said: I think the director should first offer South the chance to change their final pass under Law 21B1a now that the misinformation has come to light. I suspect South might decide to double instead of pass at this stage…
  • My view is that if he didn't call for the ace or "cover" then he didn't play the ace.
    in Please! Comment by Tag November 21
  • He called for the ruff. TD's ruling stands. Had he started with "I'm going to ruff it and..." then I would view it as the start of a claim statement in progress and might allow a change, assuming there has been no further input from anyone else.
  • To me, the choices seem to be either 3NT or 4C, which partner could view as showing tolerance for diamonds. Passing is fairly low on the radar. Double is also an option, unless our agreements mark the bid as clearly punitive. I'd also add 4Hx-2 to …
  • This is an aspect of bidding I regularly use to try to educate players regarding the need to call for the director when something goes awry. Firstly, West has the right to accept the 1S bid, should he choose to. Assuming the 1S bid has been rejecte…
  • I'd extend it to trying to restore equity and hold to the idea that there is never an automatic adjustment for a revoke in dummy. The extra cards in dummy might have caused a mis-defence, which needs to be taken into consideration.
  • @gordonrainsford said: @BlackTopaz said: Once 1NT has been doubled, it is normal practice to play doubles of any "escape" contract as penalties, and this is the expected meaning. Do such doubles require an alert? Doubles o…
    in UI Comment by Tag November 18
  • Likewise, Frances. Ais523 also commented regarding announcing the meaning of doubles. I think that this would aid the side making the doubles more than the opponents. Currently, players are expected to know their own system and it could be very usef…
    in UI Comment by Tag November 18
  • Were they alerted as penalties? If not then EW were giving misinformation. If the doubles weren't alerted and N thinks that they are for takeout then I can see 2D being a reasonable bid, showing willingness to compete in the minors, especially at f…
    in UI Comment by Tag November 17
  • After the double, I don't think it's that clear with the information we've been given. North knows that he intended to show diamonds but he also has clubs if his partner wants to play in clubs and cares to compete. What are the hands? What was the v…
    in UI Comment by Tag November 17
  • As I see it, absent the pained expressions, dummy simply misbid. Given that the bid is, essentially, "out of system", declarer is aware that something might be awry. One could argue that he should have alerted the lack of agreement on the 2S bid. Ho…
  • Yes, sorry,** [Name & comment removed at contributor's requst]**, I meant in the alerting/announcing section.
  • I can't see any reason for there not to be a mention of an opening 3NT in the Blue Book, though. Almost everything else is covered.
  • I had something similar come up recently. The hand which passed had paused to consider whether to double 4H and 4S was a decent sac, which would have given them a top, since it wasn't doubled. I asked a couple of players of comparable ability, witho…
  • Assuming that they have sequences which show stronger hands in the 23-37 range, I'd say that it should be alerted, due to, as you suggest, the unexpected relative weakness of the bid. The 3NT opening bid does seem to be missing from coverage in the…
  • I take your point, Barrie, but was thinking more of the situation where West, in your example, has tapped the table and, maybe picked up his numerous earlier pass cards and now North says, "You haven't passed yet. Please don't remove your earlier pa…
  • The section discusses the difference between: 2H (strong) - p - 4H - p - p (oh, wait, we play weak-twos) - x (on principle, since my hand is quite strong) and 2H (strong) - p - 4H - p - p - p (Director please! We play weak twos and have had a mis…
  • I think we need to avoid an officious mentality over what many would reasonably view as trivial matters. What are we suggested to do after a player clearly and incontrovertibly indicates that they have passed by a gesture or verbal shortcut? Are we …
  • @Vlad said: @Tag said: The laws don't have any cross-referencing between 28B and 29A. By 28B, the auction proceeds as though the opponent had not called. Partner, however, has called and that might be considered a call out of turn.…
    in 2017 Law Book Comment by Tag November 8