MikeK

About

Username
MikeK
Joined
Visits
192
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • Just uploaded an event with two robots. The entry I used in the 'names' file for BBO extractor was robot, ,BBO Bot A, 900002 His/her forename is 'Advanced' but I didn't bother with that! Does it matter that there were two (identical) uploads for…
  • Interesting responses. Not sure there is a consensus here, though. This happened in a League Match (Club not Lockdown).So in accordance with EBU Guidance, I advised it was up to the Team Captains to resolve. They decided to treat it as a flat boa…
  • Peter, you may have been refunded. I was trying to do a reconciliation of the Hants & IoW April position, and found no refund in our MyEBU account. But our treasurer says our bank a/c received monies on 5th June.
  • Thanks for the responses. Particularly for ais523's analysis of the principles involved. That was roughly where I went as well, but the wording of 40B3a does appear wrong. The specifics of this case are of less concern. (The explanation was prob…
  • Firstly, I would think that 3C should not be alerted, its a natural call. Secondly, the player has given a correct explanation of the system, so no need to offer further information. In essence this mis-click is analogous to a pysche/mis-bid. But…
    in On-line Games Comment by MikeK April 4
  • As requested, a bit of feedback. A friend and long term on-line player highly recommended BCL. So we (Petersfield Bridge Club) tried to set something up. I am afraid it has not been a happy experience. It has taken over a week for BCL to acknowl…
  • I wasn't TD so I can't be definite, but knowing N/S well, I am pretty sure Pass does not force redouble. I only got involved when this was discussed at the end of the evening. North's rationale for bidding seemed to be 'but I only have a small dou…
    in More UI Comment by MikeK January 26
  • My query really is, what is the bit about mechanical error doing in 25A2 anyway, why not in 25A1? 25A1 deals with NOT making the call intended, 25A2 with making the intended call. (A bit bizarre since the heading to 25 is 'Unintended Call.' Also …
    in Law 25 Comment by MikeK January 23
  • BUT the counter argument goes:- The player's intention was NOT to make the call selected, therefore Law 25A2 does NOT apply. (Sorry, I wrote 25A & B before should have been 25A1 & 25A2)
    in Law 25 Comment by MikeK January 23
  • ....and the descriptions are in PSUserMoveManual. Thanks, got it now!
  • Thanks for all the responses. I think the main point is that 'style' is covered. Though I agree it is difficult to judge, in this case West was one of my regular partners. I am also a bit worried that this opens the door to the 'I was always goin…
  • VixTD, their words not mine! The gist of the above posts is that dummy has mis-bid (maybe through mechanical error). As I said before the system card was silent on jump shifts. But declarer thought it was weak NF, so should have alerted. I think th…
  • Entirely disagree!( Assuming I would be agreeing with Michael.) Sure, the Majors aren't handicap events, but I don't think anyone is suggesting the Spring Fours or the Gold Cup would become handicap events. A tournament schedule that is oriented t…
  • OK, I get the point about weighting the mps not the score. But as I mentioned, in this instance it makes marginal difference. I don't know whether Sheba977 lives North of Watford, but I fear there is a 'Suction' wave spreading North! In competent…
  • Thanks, Gordon. It looked intimidating, but actually I didn't find it too difficult to use the spreadsheet. The resulting score is marginally different in %, but the rankings are unchanged. However I don't think it can be considered an 'easy' way …
  • To clarify. a) West had forgotten the system, they had a card(s) b) It wasn't an 'artificial' score, my mistake: should have said 'assigned'. c) Yes the calculation of mps was non-rigorous, but that wasn't the issue. Is there is an easy way to d…
  • Thanks Barrie. Not sure whether I will use Butler or X-Imps. With the latter outlying/outlandish results will be discounted which might be 'fairer.' I expect we will only play 18 boards. (Some of the Improvers are not that quick, and we are havi…
  • When I was called to the table, N/S complained that W should have 4+ hearts! East knew it might only be three, which might have explained the 'maybe I should alert.' It wasn't clear whether he thought it might only be two. That was why at the ta…
  • Long long time ago, I posted a comment about running handicapped teams at Petersfield Bridge Club. I promised an update. Well, better late than never! Firstly, the handicapping does seems to have stimulated a sustained higher level of attendance. …
  • Thanks for the comments. I won't bore you with the details but I think they generally vindicate TD's decision. Declarer's reasoning for the line of play was a bit flakey. But that is irrelevant, I am 99% sure they wouldn't have played that way in …
  • Seems to me to be some cake and eat it here. Declarer considers the dbl to be based on the hesitation; yet bases the line of play on it being legit!
  • Basically you are saying 73E2 trumps (!) 73D1. TD at the time (I was RHO) was unsure. He read all of L73 and decided these two paragraphs seem to be contradictory! Eventually it was decided that the 'otherwise' in 73D1 was a key consideration, and…
  • We (Petersfield BC) have just run our first session of handicapped teams using the 0.3086 formula. It was multiple teams(9) over 24 boards, IMP scoring, and I knew the teams in advance. I calculated a handicap for each team using 60% as a datum. The…
  • Thanks for the help. Unfortunately the problem was that the BCS dBase was also missing the scores. So the only place they might be was in the table-top units. And I couldn't figure out how to get at them! fyi It was a single session event. I th…
    in Loss of data Comment by MikeK July 2018
  • We run an Improvers section, and this happens a lot. We may schedule 21 bds (7*3) but run out of time after 18. I can use 'Close Rounds' in BCS to cover the unplayed last round. Using ScoreBridge, this reads that data from the BCS dbase. It then…
  • In response to Tag's comments. I believe S did continue to bid D, but I think that is exactly what he should do. He is the one playing the 'correct' system. If this had been played with screens, he would have continued in D. He is in receipt of …
  • The reason I raised this is seems to have similarities to a case many years ago. Once upon a time, before Alerts and Announcements (or BB@B) playing in a County event we arrived at a new table; all Vul. While I was scrutinising the magnum opus th…
  • NS were a very experienced pair. And there are a number of pairs who list Pottage on their cards. Joking with S afterwards we decided an immediate Dbl of 2C would have shown values for 2N. And thus the delayed Dbl (of 2H) showed 'nearly the val…
    in Mis-informed Comment by MikeK March 2018
  • I wasn't TD, but I think the weak Diamond option only came to light during the play. So it looks like S didn't correct the mis-explanation.
  • The problem is that North, if in hand, has to be leading a trump! So I am not sure that really means he was aware of an outstanding trump.