CMOT_Dibbler

About

Username
CMOT_Dibbler
Joined
Visits
1,621
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • How about taking it another step and offer "Improvers" teaching to people that have completed the beginners/Fasttrack sessions in the last 16 to 36 months (having had at least 12 months "practice")with a guaranteed entry into a competition later in …
  • Hi Patricks How have you progressed with the "Value Proposition"? Have any ideas come through which might help other Counties? If no progress, no problems but I am interested in any "new" directions taken up. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Thanks Gordon, Steve and Robin for the help. We might have to put two of the sitters together on the first round. I assume I can go into the "sitter" tab and change the moved pair to "sitters" after the second round draw, but before moving them?. …
  • Ok Thanks Steve. We had worked out the new assignments but was worried that there was something else that we had wrong causing the problerm. Will do the "back" bit in future. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Have to say that I have been know to have played my "second" card before actually winning with the first card. So I would say who is to know that this hasn't happened in this case. This usually happens when opponent takes along time deciding what t…
  • You could be right Tag but as yet we don't know whether a card was played then declarer claimed and then opponent announced "Oh! I have revoked". Declarer could have been told that the opponent had revoked and then said" well it doesn't matter as I…
  • @Robin_BarkerTD said: If instead, declarer claims immediately after the revoke, the revoke is not established. The revoke is corrected and play ceases - because of the claim. The TD rules on the outcome of the hand with doubtful points dec…
  • Thinking about it I am not sure that in most clubs, the "problems" mentioned, would cause many problems as the saying "people in glasshouses shouldn't throw stones" would be appropriate. The other point must be the dummy can prevent an irregularity…
  • Hi Steve Thanks that fits the bill. I might have a go at a "dry" run myself (to see if I can "screw" it up). Might have a follow up on the scrolling screen bit. Many thanks CMOT_Dibbler
  • Steve, I think what you have done is tremendous but I got to "I fired it up" and then froze. Perhaps I don't need to know but somehow sometimes I would like to be able to work it out. Is it possible to have a little more info? CMOT_Dibbler
  • Ah! thank you Gordon. So we set up a "category" in the "Properties" dialogue box, which could be "NE" (non expert) for some pairs and we can see their separate results. Nice one. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Psyches are allowed but the "fielding" of them isn't. As this individual is a prolific psycher can you give us full details of a board played as such against "beginner/novice" players? The white book at 1.4 gives some details as to how to deal with…
    in Psyches Comment by CMOT_Dibbler March 9
  • As you say weejonnie question 1 is most interesting. Looking at Law 7 B (2) it does not say "s/he must inspect the faces of their cards ""and sort them into suits and order them""." [my double quotes] But we have seen this done many times and it c…
  • JerremChild, Full of admiration that you have been asked and that you have put some good thoughts on paper. You might need to do it in two or three sittings but perhaps you could let us know how you get on. I would suggest that once done, you might…
  • I am sorry to hear that it has come down to this. Yes I can understand how unpleasant it is to be questioned and (basically) attacked about an action/decision you have made. I don't have any suggestion on a way to move forward, for you and the oth…
  • Thank you Gordon CMOT_Dibbler
  • Hi Vlad As an example Law 74 A 2 says that "A player should carefully avoid any remark or extraneous action that might cause annoyance or embarrassment to another player or might interfere with the enjoyment of the game." That paragraph uses the wo…
  • Wendy I am not sure but you could probably consider a disiplinary penalty as well for "blowing up" at you; eitquette etc. etc. Weejonnie, nah only hogs eat cards, wellll. you could be right. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Ok Gordon, see what you mean , however, it is a bit of a fine line to take. I assume it was based on a poll of players as to what they would do, without knowing about the BOOT. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Thanks Gordon. I have read those e-mails and something seems counter-intuitive with the Prague case. I can see the N/S would be saying that in normal circumstances (when are there normal circumstances!!) West would pass Souths overcall of 2 Clubs. …
  • Jeremy I can understand your confusion. However, to start at first principles i think we need to consider the words at the bottom of page 17 of the Laws of Duplicate bridge 2017. "Established usage has been retained in regard to “may” do (failure …
  • Ok had a thought about an insufficient bid which is changed for a sufficient bid in the same denomination but the change is deemed/seen by NOS to give an advantage to the offending side. How do you go about sorting out if it does give an advantage […
  • Thanks Gordon Good point about the poll. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Sorry brain failure here. "As to how to score it, tag was on the right lines except that it would have needed each of the three scores to first be converted into cross-IMPs (or match-points if that had been the scoring method) and then the IMP amou…
  • Thanks both that is most helpful. It always helps to have first hand experience, especially from those in the know. CMOT_Dibbler
  • I think you might need to have a word with the committee, you could get together details from a few people and find out how the 50/50 scoring has affected their NGS. It may only be small but sometimes the little worm brings down the dam. However, I…
  • "torneamentum directors non quaerere " or "torneamentum directors non oportet quaerere" yes clear as mud. Depends on where you go LOL!! CMOT_Dibbler
    in OLOOTS Comment by CMOT_Dibbler January 7
  • Ah! "and for his next nightmare..." What starange lives we all weave. Ok, on being called to the field I would say that the auction period has finished (17D). Declarer has shown one card and should therefore spread his hand (54A). As far as the…
    in OLOOTS Comment by CMOT_Dibbler January 6
  • Wow, I mean Gosh and there was me thinking of two of those pavement Blackboardy/advertising thingys with our system chalked on it for everyone to see. I suppose I could take two 55 inch TV screens and put our system cards up on them! Wonder if tha…
  • Thanks all for your time and thoughts. I appreciate the example Abbeybear. Another to go into my little "red" book CMOT_Dibbler