CMOT_Dibbler

About

Username
CMOT_Dibbler
Joined
Visits
1,219
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • Psyches are allowed but the "fielding" of them isn't. As this individual is a prolific psycher can you give us full details of a board played as such against "beginner/novice" players? The white book at 1.4 gives some details as to how to deal with…
    in Psyches Comment by CMOT_Dibbler March 9
  • As you say weejonnie question 1 is most interesting. Looking at Law 7 B (2) it does not say "s/he must inspect the faces of their cards ""and sort them into suits and order them""." [my double quotes] But we have seen this done many times and it c…
  • JerremChild, Full of admiration that you have been asked and that you have put some good thoughts on paper. You might need to do it in two or three sittings but perhaps you could let us know how you get on. I would suggest that once done, you might…
  • I am sorry to hear that it has come down to this. Yes I can understand how unpleasant it is to be questioned and (basically) attacked about an action/decision you have made. I don't have any suggestion on a way to move forward, for you and the oth…
  • Thank you Gordon CMOT_Dibbler
  • Hi Vlad As an example Law 74 A 2 says that "A player should carefully avoid any remark or extraneous action that might cause annoyance or embarrassment to another player or might interfere with the enjoyment of the game." That paragraph uses the wo…
  • Wendy I am not sure but you could probably consider a disiplinary penalty as well for "blowing up" at you; eitquette etc. etc. Weejonnie, nah only hogs eat cards, wellll. you could be right. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Ok Gordon, see what you mean , however, it is a bit of a fine line to take. I assume it was based on a poll of players as to what they would do, without knowing about the BOOT. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Thanks Gordon. I have read those e-mails and something seems counter-intuitive with the Prague case. I can see the N/S would be saying that in normal circumstances (when are there normal circumstances!!) West would pass Souths overcall of 2 Clubs. …
  • Jeremy I can understand your confusion. However, to start at first principles i think we need to consider the words at the bottom of page 17 of the Laws of Duplicate bridge 2017. "Established usage has been retained in regard to “may” do (failure …
  • Ok had a thought about an insufficient bid which is changed for a sufficient bid in the same denomination but the change is deemed/seen by NOS to give an advantage to the offending side. How do you go about sorting out if it does give an advantage […
  • Thanks Gordon Good point about the poll. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Sorry brain failure here. "As to how to score it, tag was on the right lines except that it would have needed each of the three scores to first be converted into cross-IMPs (or match-points if that had been the scoring method) and then the IMP amou…
  • Thanks both that is most helpful. It always helps to have first hand experience, especially from those in the know. CMOT_Dibbler
  • I think you might need to have a word with the committee, you could get together details from a few people and find out how the 50/50 scoring has affected their NGS. It may only be small but sometimes the little worm brings down the dam. However, I…
  • "torneamentum directors non quaerere " or "torneamentum directors non oportet quaerere" yes clear as mud. Depends on where you go LOL!! CMOT_Dibbler
    in OLOOTS Comment by CMOT_Dibbler January 7
  • Ah! "and for his next nightmare..." What starange lives we all weave. Ok, on being called to the field I would say that the auction period has finished (17D). Declarer has shown one card and should therefore spread his hand (54A). As far as the…
    in OLOOTS Comment by CMOT_Dibbler January 6
  • Wow, I mean Gosh and there was me thinking of two of those pavement Blackboardy/advertising thingys with our system chalked on it for everyone to see. I suppose I could take two 55 inch TV screens and put our system cards up on them! Wonder if tha…
  • Thanks all for your time and thoughts. I appreciate the example Abbeybear. Another to go into my little "red" book CMOT_Dibbler
  • interesting weejonnie. I will definitely have bated breath at my next congress waiting for a pair to arrive with their system cards printed on A0 size paper (3B2) and watch how they make their system cards available for their opponents at each roun…
  • You could try stratification and also spread the load by making tables A, B or C stratification tables for the start. So if out of 13 tables you have 8 pairs that are A strat then you allocate 2 tables as A. If there are 8 pairs of C strat then ma…
  • You may have checked this, sorry if not what you want. On the Scorebridge website there is a page of user guides. The South Bucks one covers this at page 21 http://www.scorebridge.com/userdocs.html (you will have to copy and paste ths in your bro…
  • I wouldn't condone the "shouting and agressive" manner. However, I just wonder why this member thinks this way? Is it possible that there is some "background" to this situation. Perhaps a friendly chat about it may resolve a few issues. Only a sug…
  • Strangely in PairsScorer if one clicks the "restore EBU Pairs defaults" the tick is taken out of the box "show previous results". However, if one does the same action now in EBUScore pairs the tick in the box next to "show previous results" is repl…
  • Hi Jerseybean Not sure if your "explanation" complies with Blue Book 7C1 (a) as specified with Notes (1). Or are you saying that the 8 playing tricks are part of the "19-20 balanced"? I only have one big thought on this and that is why do we wonder…
  • I don't think this is the correct forum to deal with this in public. what happened should be dealt with by the club on their current policies. CMOT_Dibbler
  • Vlad I think you have not taken into account Gordon's first comment to this thread. Any comment is likely to be tainted. However, having said that and having been pushed, if polled without knowing the pause I would be inclined to bid 2 Spades with…
  • Have a look at Law 16 D [1 & 3 in particular]. Also Law 9 A 5. Seems that both might be in conflict The only problem is that the individual is required to "self report" and, as you say, Law 74 C 5 says that the receiver of such information "ca…
  • Thanks VixTD agree the suggestion about 16C2. Not sure about the example you used. If the offender could open 3 clubs with " x xx Jxx KQJxxxx" then I would wonder why they didn't bid that out of turn. Ok they might downgrade their hand but what w…
  • Interesting thread. Assuming that the offender has not previously called, I think that we should first say that the offender's partner can make any legal call they wish at their proper turn to call if the pass is cancelled ( Law 30 B1(a) and subjec…