VixTD

About

Username
VixTD
Joined
Visits
395
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • I agree that the regulations aren't working, at least at lower levels of the game, but I dread another change of alert regulations for doubles, at least if it's on the lines of "alert the unexpected". You've given some examples where the meaning is …
  • I think a lot of nonsense is spoken about sample sizes for polls, and practical limitations should also be considered. I'm sure statisticians could come up with calculations for sample sizes to give suitable statistical power to our poll, to reduce …
    in UI (16B1b) Comment by VixTD December 4
  • Black Topaz: "If North's bid was not alerted or announced, there is no reason for East to assume it is a weak bid." Well it has to be something. If it was natural (showing only spades) the strength should have been announced. If it was anything els…
  • I don't really understand the comment of "doesn't really exist in their system". Assuming they are playing a natural bidding system, 2 would be expected to have the natural, default meaning of "strong, GF with 5+ spades". Pairs can change the meanin…
  • The licence to East to have some thinking time at trick one is to allow them time to think about the defence to the entire hand, not about which card to play from three small, AJxx, a singleton, or anything else. So long as South cannot tell whether…
  • If declarer's last three cards are Qxx (or Jxx) of trumps, and one defender has the 10 of trumps and two other cards, I'd give declarer all three tricks if they were on lead. If they had some additional side-suit winners that could be trumped I'd ex…
  • I think I've seen the article Frances refers to, and it made me wonder too. Wouldn't this be a good thing to add to the White Book, perhaps under 8.42, since it causes confusion?
  • Thanks, ** [Name & original comment removed at contributor's request]**. They had entered the six scores for round 1 when I swapped the bridgemates. I'm sure the scores were retained in the scoring programme, server etc., but the problem was th…
  • An appeals committee can apply its own procedural or disciplinary penalty if a ruling is appealed and they consider the director has been too lenient, or reduce the TD's procedural penalty if they think it was too severe. I don't think a conduct com…
  • If you have opened an artificial "strong" (?) two bid and the opponents call the director and ask if what you have done is legal, you are the "offending" side, by virtue of being under suspicion of having done something unlawful. It is up to you to …
  • ais523: "If partner doesn't know your methods, you have no agreement and thus there's nothing to conceal. The correct answer to a question would be "we agreed to play Benji, we didn't discuss what that means"." You cannot use this argument to get a…
  • I think the director has to decide whether the evidence (EW's different understanding of the bid) suggests that their actual agreement was one or other of these, or "no agreement". However, I don't think that East can be blamed for not alerting the …
  • "(3) - North comments that he should have alerted the X as showing a major/ minor combination. (OK he should have called the director, but that isn't the problem)." I think that's exactly what the problem is. NS have given misinformation to EW, who…
  • [495670] " However, if there was ever a misunderstanding that could have been resolved clearly by having a system card available, I would always rule favourably with the "non-offending side," which tends to be a more experienced pair in most cases a…
  • I've never charged anyone with playing an illegal method because they didn't disclose it either, but I would have done if they had, and that's what I've been teaching directors to do. I shan't any more.
  • [Robin]: "Adequate disclosure is not part of 7C1: no agreement is illegal because it is inadequate explained. The requirement for adequate disclosure is universal." The reason I asked was this used to be the case. An older version of the Blue Book …
  • [Robin]: " If it is a permitted agreement which is inadequately explained then there may be misinformation and the pair should be educated to improve their disclosure." BB5C3 states that it is permissible to agree to open e.g. 2 with lots of playin…
  • I was the perpetrator, and it was as minor and innocent and "green" a deviation as you could possibly imagine, but in the general case I think the cynic does have a point, and I have some sympathy for him (although not for his jaundiced outlook on l…
  • To be equally honest, I've not seen much evidence that the EBU do either. I would say most of the clubs I've played in that have appreciable numbers of serious players (those who play in county events and congresses) have a "psyche book", an actual…
  • Thanks, Name removed at contributor's request . I take my hat off to anyone who understands this stuff, and your reply was nearly in simple enough terms for me to follow. I used to know how to upload the hand files via BCS, but I might struggle to …
  • Black Topaz: "It is worth pointing out that Scorebridge gets the "small subfield formula" wrong." I imagine ScoreBridge is catering for games played in other jurisdictions which do not follow the English advice for scoring small subfields. It's a b…
  • I've done some research on what a rebid of three of a new major shows after a 2NT response to a multi. "The Mysterious Multi" (Horton and van Cleef) doesn't really mention it. A current discussion on Bridge Winners shows popular methods for playing …
  • No, the "mechanical error" referred to in law 25A2 is referring to the action of removing a bidding card from the box (or a slip of the pen or tongue using other means of bidding), not to any other sort of error. The "intended call" and "mechanical …
  • OK, I've seen the hands now. First of all, if we look at the auction from North's perspective, he's made a strong enquiry and heard a minimum weak two in hearts, signed off in 3 , and heard partner jump to 4 . This can't be a splinter in support of…
  • What you should have done is explain that West has the option of accepting the insufficient bid, and that if they choose to do so the auction proceeds from there with no further penalty, but if they don't it must be replaced by the original choice o…
    in Law 27C Comment by VixTD June 15
  • My answers are: 1) Yes 2) Probably, but it's difficult to know without knowing the hands and what 3 would mean to South 3) Yes, but only if there's no legal way for them to reach 4 4) If North's expression of annoyance conveyed UI to South (qui…
  • Ozdeniz: "Since....3H is alerted and explained by N verbally as 6-7 6cH , then 3H must be to play." Not to South it isn't. South has to assume that 3 means whatever it would mean in response to a multi-2 opener and a 3 rebid showing a good weak two…
  • Thanks, if it comes up again, I may try one of those options.
    in Swiss or Danish? Comment by VixTD June 7
  • TawVale: "I was TD and I instructed the Scorer to simply arrow-switch the pairs at Tables 4, 3 and 2 to obtain a realistic result. The Scorer went home and decided not to implement what I had suggested. He decided to treat the board as "fouled" a…
  • Abbeybear: "I'm a bit confused. Were they playing Granville responses to 1" Lord only knows what they were doing. I confess I've never heard of "Granville responses", but it seems to fit here. A certain number of players in this club play bizarre m…
    in Law 20F1 Comment by VixTD May 16