Frances

About

Username
Frances
Joined
Visits
734
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • Just too late to edit the above.... I meant to say at the end of Scenario 1 A 2S intermediate jump overcall IS a subset of a 1S Opening
  • I wouldn't use the word "subset" to players unless you know they are of a mathematical/logical bent. In a bridge context I think a good way to explain is "you can make any call as long as partner hasn't learned anything only because of the infracti…
  • I like 12A 1 though I think Gordon doesn't particularly like using it (partly because it can seem totally arbitrary) LAW 12 - DIRECTOR’S DISCRETIONARY POWERS A. Power to Award an Adjusted Score 1. The Director may award an adjusted score in favou…
    in 7NTxx-13 Comment by Frances August 28
  • Yes, we have ruled based on MI even when South's explanation matches their hand, but it doesn't match their agreement. It's rare, because usually when the opponents are having a mix-up (in particular, passing a forcing bid) it's not in their intere…
  • I expect 2C majors, not 4-5 (and not super strong) 2D one major 2M that major (5+) together with a minor
  • If the opponents want to know, you are of course obliged to tell them If you are playing online on BBO, I would start by typing into the alert box "D or various 2-suiters" If they ask for more detail, then send it by private message (because there…
  • "For what it's worth, I think the correct solution is "alert any bid that could be canapé, except in the case where it shows a major but could conceal a 6+ card minor if the major is at least 5 cards long". I think any other set of suit lengths woul…
  • The regulation is indeed very vague, and I've deliberately not tried to 'fix' it in the past. The problem is that whether two systems are 'different' isn't really a function of the basic things written on the card, it's a matter of how much discuss…
    in Blue Book 5A5 Comment by Frances May 18
  • Are they actually club games, or EBU games? (the only club games I've played on BBO have been directed by an EBU director, but that director is also a member of the club concerned anyway)
  • There's an approach, more popular in America, but known here, which likes to open 1D on a 1345 and rebid 2C. Do you think that should be alerted? The 1D opening is otherwise 'normal'.
  • "however, the examples in 4H2 are intended to help players interpret what "potentially unexpected" means, and thus presumably the qualifiers on 4H2b are intended to explicitly make some bids unalertable." No. I don't think 4H2b is intended to make…
  • if one defender claims the other defender gets no say in the matter (unlike f2f bridge and unlike what the laws say) in general claims are much more relaxed online, partly because you can't see who has rejected the claim (so you don't know who thin…
  • As Robin says, basically you either have to live with the fact that you might misclick, or live with having to both select, and then confirm, every card you play and every bid you make. I use the hand diagram and to be honest I've never misclicked …
  • I agree with this, although I would have thought it more likely that the passer of 1H wanted to undo than the 1H bidder.
  • @ais523 said: With one partner, I play that if following suit to declarer's lead, if the card we play is lower than the highest card currently played to that trick, we always play the lowest card of the suit. That's very close to "no signals" …
    in No Signals Comment by Frances March 14
  • ps I agree that when 4th hand has a 1-count he will be expecting the double to be passed. But if you are told a call means 'bid again' and it doesn't, it means 'pass if we've got them nailed' I think it's a bit cruel. To put it another way, consid…
  • I don't know, I've never played this method and don't know how they are playing it. I observe that a normal take-out double of a suit bid at the 1-level is passed pretty rarely Some people play that double of an opening 1NT bid shows a single-suit…
  • To be honest, I really hate the description as "bid again, I have support for the other 3 suits" if opener is not going to bid again. It seems entirely possible to me to play the double as a 4054 0-count inviting partner to compete.
  • The description is a bit unclear. As already explained above, If it's intended as a take-out bid i.e. a 3-suiter (4450) then it's allowed; if it must have 5 controls if it's a 15-count then it's a allowed.
    in Bidding query Comment by Frances March 5
  • There's no mention of what 2D meant. I can't see why Law 27 doesn't allow it to stand without penalty IF it shows 4- card heart support (4-card Drury).
  • It's a good challenge for the TD to decide whether he believes "I don't remember how the play went" or not. We had a case where we believed we had made 12 tricks; the opposing side entered 11 tricks made into the Bridgemate but we didn't see until …
  • System cards should show the agreed range, if there is one. The EBL have become very picky recently requiring HCP ranges for all pre-empts to be shown on the card.
    in Weak Comment by Frances February 27
  • I think if you assume "declarer" is a typo for "dealer" it makes sense
  • I would not look kindly on a declarer who was told (correctly) his claim was invalid and then suggested to the defence that they allow him to play on. The playing on Law is there to make the following scenario legal: Declarer: "I've got the rest w…
  • If you watch an expert's hands carefully (which you shouldn't), then between the end of the auction and putting dummy down you will see a fair amount of resorting going on.
  • I once went off in a grand slam by mis-counting dummy. To make it worse, my partner then got it written up in the New York Times (it was a great play hand, if only I had the number of cards in dummy correct). The generous hospitality provided by t…
  • "international events". Does that include the English Open Trials?
  • Does your answer only apply to this instance when the play and defence were unaffected? What if North was declarer both in hearts and in NT, and South had bid 6H, but North and East then played the hand assuming he was in NT? Here's a hypothetical…
  • MyEBU isn't working properly either. I think I may have paid 4 times for the Year End Swiss Pairs and once for the Swiss Teams, whereas what I wanted to do was pay once for the two Swiss events. Oh well, merry christmas to the EBU, they can have a …
  • No, you are correct, most commonly known as Italian DODDS is seen more often in the UK, I think, which is Even encouraging, Discouraging ODD Suit Preference.