johnlw

About

Username
johnlw
Joined
Visits
39
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • Bridge is a game of mistakes. If declarer accidentally leads the wrong card ends up in dummy where there are no winners we wouldn't allow them totake it back, so why if they revoke. Legal carelesness should not be punished less than illegal carele…
  • I am not sure i agree here. Assuming a fairly standardAcol with weak no trump. Opening 1spade might basically show... at least 4 spades with 11- 20 points but not 12-14 balanced Does 1S response show a sub-set of this - obviously not as the stren…
  • Now that all your opponents who read this are aware of this habit you could use it to mislead them! I reckon that would be illegal.
    in Law 41D Comment by johnlw August 2018
  • See my other post for the really good reason for this late reply OK I do take your point - but the original post was suggesting that pairs do cheat and this would be just another opportunity if this procedure was the norm for everybody. I supp…
  • Apologies for the delay in replying but I had such a Happy New Year that I have only just got round to logging on again Our Club never has had this 'agreed method'; our scorers have always been asked to check scores against contracts and now S…
  • I read it that you need the opponent's permission for anybody else's hand
  • We do try to encourage players to draw attention to possible mis-scorings before the end of the evening (rather than finding a question mark when you get home). But when faced with 2NT made 8 scored as -100 and no way of checking with players or an…
  • Referring to my post under 'leaving contract visible' thread. This is a good reason not to allow 'angled bidding cards' in the bidding box to indicate the contract
  • Strangely 7C3 seems to partially contradict this: allowing the 'touching' of another player's cards with the permission of an opponent. Is there a difference between 'touching' and 'handling'?
  • We still allow the contract to be placed on the board during play. This appears to be much more preferable to 'angled cards'
  • @ManchesterRambler said: I almost always wait about 10 seconds after a jump bid, whether the STOP card has been used correctly, incorrectly, or not at all. Occasionally I forget, as with my driving That raises an interesting question: "…
  • The actuality was slightly different: As the TD is never present when these things happen the balance of probabilities is Declarer played the HQ and after LHO played called 'top' and when dummy did nothing (possibly because they hadn't heard) then …
  • Absolutely agree it should be alerted - 'pass' is a good weak bucket bid after interference. Unfortunately those players who, probably through inexperience, continue to use 1NT as if the auction was uncontested will also probably not understand why…
  • It is not that players don't understand the rule; they don't understand the reasons for it.
  • I always like the idea of the 'perceived infractor' calling the TD themselves; and for the TD to try and let them have the first 'say'. 'He did ...." can sound so much more accusatory, than "I ........"
  • Really depends on what the pair have agreed; if anything. If the agreement is Unusual No Trump then unless W has taken advantage of the UI the result stands. If the agreement is strong then there is a case for penalising E/W if damage has occurred…
  • Club Bridge is a rare example of an activity where players of vastly different ability and experience meet in direct opposition. What is 'normal' for some will be deeply disconcerting for others. Many Bridge Clubs are not in a position to deter n…
  • Thanks for that Barrie; you are quite right. Should really think more about the situation before committing myself to paper. This is the problem with logging on late at night - brain not in gear!!! Obviously doesn't affect you - Thanks again - b…
  • If the players are of a standard to play different defences then they should really know when each is applicable. I can't think that 'no partnership agreement' is acceptable - if the player is not sure; then both defences should be described (witho…
  • Whilst I agree that the TD should help with understanding the law it should not go as far as advising the player as to which bids are 'comparable'; this is for the player to decide. At higher levels, or in more complex situations, it may be necessa…
  • Director should explain all the options and outcomes below that the offender and LHO have. Then: a) allow LHO to accept the insufficient bid and let the auction continue - might be quite useful if LHO has a heart suit that they would rather like t…
  • a) As with all irregularities the director should be called (I assume 'Dummy' was not yet dummy) b) The Director will have given the option to pass (if the LHO does not accept the bid) c) There is no need to make a sufficient bid - pass (but not d…