Frances

About

Username
Frances
Joined
Visits
621
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • I agree it comes down to what we think South's class is. I would give an expert no redress because a) an expert is likely to be aware that xx is almost never played as a strong hand, and b) they are capable of looking at their hand and listening to…
  • The EBU record all psyches that they are sent, and a sub-committee of the L&E review all the forms.
  • sorry my fault
    in BB=OB? Comment by Frances August 2019
  • To be honest, I don't know anyone who actually keeps records (apart from the EBU) as opposed to saying that they do.
  • I think this is actually quite subtle. If EW have the agreement that double specifically asks for the lead of dummy's first bid suit, that is alertable. That is consistent with the EW statement that double asked for a spade lead. As already menti…
  • That's not really "exaggerated for effect". If you want to show a real "exaggerated for effect" example, how about a MI ruling on defensive carding in which you want to give 50% of 6D making (+1370) and 50% of 6D-1 (-100). Everyone else in the fie…
  • This is just my opinion, but I think you should announce it as 11-15 and say on your convention card that you use a different evaluation method to decide what to open and some 11-15 hands are opened one of a suit. The reason why I think this is tha…
  • Just to confirm what others have said, any responses to a strong 1!C (in fact, any responses to any opening bid) are allowed in the EBU, the EBL and the WBF. The only place I've played where there were restrictions on responses was the US.
  • I think you are right (speaking as the one who originally wrote that bit). In my view, both of the offences mentioned should be treated equally. Hearing from the next table that you can make 7NT via the heart finesse, then bidding and making an in…
  • I am generally in sympathy with the NOS but not here. Declarer (I assume you mean West, not South) is in dummy with one trump outstanding, the 9. He has the Q in dummy and the 10 in hand He can if he wishes ruff the third heart high in hand, cash…
  • I have to admit I am confused by a lot of this. The pair made their own ruling at the table, in a position where it's not entirely obvious to me that West was entitled to change his call over 2H (I would at least like to understand why he was damag…
  • Playing a strong club system, 1S - 4S is sometimes stronger than it would be in a 'natural' system, but we don't say that should be alerted either - although that one is much closer to being 'unexpected' to those not used to strong club systems
  • In the general case, if a defender knew that the play of the penalty card was the right defence, they simply had to win the previous trick without bothering to revoke first. (And if they couldn't win the trick, it wouldn't be automatic to lead it to…
  • Shorter summary: "very little"
  • Doesn't sound surprising to me either.
    in Alertable? Comment by Frances July 2019
  • The most common is when declarer (or indeed a defender) starts to pull a card out of their hand, dummy can stop them if it's not their lead as long as it's before they have actually led the card.
  • As others have said, the 2D opening is not 'Brown Sticker' under WBF definitions 'Suction' is also not Brown Sticker under WBF definitions, which for the most part only apply to opening bids and overcalls of a natural 1-of-a-suit opening. (Suction…
  • Well, I didn't think it was obvious, at least to start with (although I am also now convinced)
  • ...if it's authorised for partner is it also authorised for fourth seat? By the same argument, they were the offending side, so should they be allowed to know opener was trying to 'stop' ? What happened was the following: N/S Vulnerable (not sure…
  • Gordon - I understand your distinction that comparison to an extraneous comment was irrelevant. I am not sure what you think the answer is though - you are saying it is authorised (i.e. agreeing with Abbeybear and disagreeing with JeremyChild's sec…
  • "play 5 rounds of Swiss and a Danish last round, with the provision that teams lying 1st/2nd after 5 round are guaranteed 1st or 2nd, and similarly for 3rd/4th." Is this another way of saying you play 5 rounds of Swiss to qualify two finalists and …
  • Yes it's a psyche Passing it is fielding Otherwise I agree with Robin
  • I'd have to have recourse to 6D2 and say that they are playing the hand from a 'sorted deck' (a pack of cards not randomized from its prior condition) but that is definitely stretching it. Everything Gordon says about the Law is right; they weren't…
  • If it isn't natural (defined as showing 3+ cards) then it is alertable. Assuming that this was their system - i.e. the bid showed a stopper which could be Ax/ Kx rather than length, then yes it should have been alerted. The TD/AC have to consider …
  • ais123: If I were teaching the alert rules to new-ish players, I would just go with the following: Alert - if it isn't natural - if opponents might be surprised by what it means - If you aren't sure whether or not it needs alerting (e.g. becaus…
  • Tag - there is definitely a point at which an announcement morphs into an alert, and sometimes the rules are not entirely explicit on when that should be. For example, I play a 2C response to 1NT as promising at least invitational values, but the L…
  • A few comments. In this forum (for example) you are entirely welcome to question to rules. They will improve the more people raise questions/issues or disagreements - even if they aren't changed as a consequence, the L&E will always think abo…
  • I think it's too late to alert the pass as 'may not have diamonds', also I don't think this is necessarily required - the pass says 'if this ends the auction I am happy' which seems to me to be the unalertable meaning of pass. The multi will be ale…
  • I play 1H - 1S as artificial and 1!H - 1NT as 5+ spades. There are lots of possible continuations (in fact in two partnerships I play different continuations by opener). There is quite a good argument for not playing this by a passed hand, so the …
    in Law 20F1 Comment by Frances May 2019
  • The outcome of what you have said is correct, but I think Gordon's explanation of the motivation is right. It is not so much that you are 'entitled' to protect yourself by delaying, it is that the old Laws gave an advantage to people who didn't cal…