JeremyChild

About

Username
JeremyChild
Joined
Visits
2,053
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • @gordonrainsford said: It is general bridge knowledge that a call made by a player whose partner must pass is natural even if it would not otherwise be. Logical, certainly. even "obvious on reflection" but common bridge knowledge? I doubt …
  • @Vlad said: If a player knows his partner must pass. they can (as here) make a conventional bid that must essentially be taken as natural. There's an argument that says their system has been modified in the light of the non-comparable …
  • When making his replacement bid North is perfectly entitled to make a bid that takes into account the fact that his partner must pass. The usual bid is these circumstances is 3NT, but anything that seems like the best contract will do. Rather than…
  • I've changed my mind, albeit reluctantly. BB 4B2 defines "show" as "‘it is natural, or shows willingness, in the context of the auction, to play in the suit, or it has been followed by two passes." "Show" appears twice in 4B2d, so the definition a…
  • I think that's OK. If the bid shows (or suggests) any other suit then I think it needs alerting. If not, then you're just showing diamond strength and suggesting them as a lead.
  • @Senior_Kibitzer said: Let's say we want to know if passing is a LA to action. I would want at least three to say "pass" before I stop after polling just 5 people. My personal record is about 30 polled when it has taken me that long to get suf…
  • Didn't realise you cold do a triple for Swiss pairs - although it's obvious now. Every Swiss pairs event I've ever been to has had an odd pair willing to drop out if there is a half table.
  • I'm not sure there is misinformation here. An undiscussed bid should only be alerted if there is no specific agreement about it and there is some reason to think it may not be natural (or it may contain specific information). Most systems have by …
  • @ais523 said: A response in a major to show 5 of that suit is not alertable (because it's natural, and because the length is expected in the context of your partner just having asked for 5-card majors). A 2NT/3NT response is less obvious; I'…
  • Thanks, Gordon. Feel a bit silly having missed 45D1!
  • @gordonrainsford said: @JeremyChild said: Most people I know who play Benji play a jump rebid (techincally a reverse) as only a 1RF. A jump rebid is not a reverse. Everything I can find defines a reverse as "a second bid…
  • @gordonrainsford said: @JeremyChild said: @gordonrainsford said: @JeremyChild said: N E S W 1D P 1H 2C 1S Without the 2C, 1S shows 12-15 poin…
  • @gordonrainsford said: @JeremyChild said: N E S W 1D P 1H 2C 1S Without the 2C, 1S shows 12-15 points. With the 2C, 2S shows 15+ => not comparable. 1S would be quite a bit wider than …
  • It occurs to me that there may be occasions where it might be in doubt as to whether a claim has been made. According to 68A, "I'm going to claim - ooops no I'm not" is not a claim (no number of tricks specified) whereas "They're all mine" is. Wha…
  • @Sheba977 said: Easy to understand but do the faced cards remain or can declarer pick them up? If the claim is made and either accepted or challenged then they must of necessity stay down so the claim can be validated. If the players agree …
  • N E S W 1D P 1H 2C 1S Without the 2C, 1S shows 12-15 points. With the 2C, 2S shows 15+ => not comparable.
  • On first reading, I can't see any reason not to delete 29C. For 27B1a, though, the "lowest sufficient bid which specifies the same denomination(s)" may not be a comparable call, yet is still acceptable without restriction on partner. Whether this …
  • @gordonrainsford said: One thing to consider is that because of the angle of view, it will look to the player concerned as though the cards have not cleared the box until some time after they actually have and can be seen by others to have don…
  • @ais523 said: If there were actually doubt about whether the card has cleared the box or not, it strikes me that it's unlikely that anyone but the bidder would know which bid was actually being made; even if the bidding card is held slightly a…
  • I think I'm with Robin and Gordon here (and my original thought). It might seem contrary to other parts of the laws, and maybe even morally awry, but the law is the law. As a follow on, when explaining the 5 options to declarer (after an OLOOT), s…
  • I've just had another thought about this. In the OP, the bid that was eventually deemed to be made resulted in a disastrous score for them, which gave their opponents a very good score without displaying any bridge skill on their part. To allow a…
  • @Martin said: Doesnt this lead to it being advantageous to claim hesitations at every possible opportunity and not doing so is disadvantageous? There is a risk that as players get to know how these things work they may take advantage by cl…
  • @Mark_Brown said: After the first board in a 3-board round, the cards have been returned to the pockets and scoring is being confirmed. A player reaches across to examine partner's hand but instead picks up the hand from the next board in the …
  • @SteveMap said: I would have thought if East hadn’t won or seen the premature card to the next trick. East now has a Major Penalty card. Then Declarer (via the TD) should have the option of a Lead penalty from West. i.e. to Lead or Forbid a …
  • Simultaneous actions are difficult to sort out. Law 63A1: The revoke becomes established when their side plays to the next trick. Law 62A: A player must correct his revoke if attention is drawn to the irregularity before it becomes established So…
  • @Sheba977 said: I have one player at my club who always calls for the "knave". Also I often am not sure if declarer is calling for the A or 8 so I ask - although, as dummy, am I breaking a rule here? I don't think so. As dummy your obligat…
  • @Sheba977 said: There is a lady who plays with her daughter. She just points to the suit and her daughter picks the card. No one has called the TD so what can I do about it? Call the TD when she's playing against you? One game, playing …
  • @SteveFoster said: Law 43B3 would seem to apply. Everything else follows from that. 43B3 only applies to violations of 43A2. Dummy's violation is of 43A1b. The revoke has been established and the result should be adjusted accordingly. The…
  • @gordonrainsford said: The regulation you quote does allow it Having looked more closely at WB 8.50.4, which states "(discretion) can be applied whenever the other side has contributed to the situation that has led to the card becoming a pe…