Robin_BarkerTD

About

Username
Robin_BarkerTD
Joined
Visits
4,747
Last Active
Roles
Member, Moderator

Comments

  • I think Law 45E1 applies - if the first card played/lead is confidently identified as being the card deliberately exposed then it is the card played. The second card becomes a penalty card. I know 45E talks about the 'fifth card' played and this s…
  • In an ideal world, the director would be called: to rule on the various UI aspects and to ensure the opponents could here what partner thought the agreement was. If you were the playing director, I think you should have told partner to tell the op…
  • On a different tangent. If the hands are dealt at the table, it is good to make a record of the hand when it has been played for the first time. Traditionally in England this was done with curtain cards - when the EBU used pre-printed curtain card…
  • @Robin_BarkerTD said: I think Law 12C2 applies when a result was obtained but cannot be compared to any other result. Alternatively, we start with Law 87B In scoring a fouled board the Director determines as closely as possible which sco…
  • @JeremyChild said: @gordonrainsford said: 60/40 seems right. Agreed - but under which law? I think Law 12C2 applies when a result was obtained but cannot be compared to any other result.
  • @JeremyChild said: and I mark the board as fouled for that round - presumably the scoring software (EBUScore pairs) treats it appropriately. EBUScore Pairs will give an artificial score for a board in sub-field of one result but it won't kno…
  • @Tag said: Thank you, Robin, 72C is a good one to keep in mind, Unfortunately I meant 73C ... must carefully avoid taking any advantage from that unauthorized information What I had in mind is that an honest player who not 'noticed' …
  • The EBU (and possibly EBU clubs) have had problems. Or Pianola has had problems with a new API to EBU data.
  • Somehow we have to determine whether not looking at the earlier auction is a logical alternative, and therefore bidding on the basis of the original explanation is a logical alternative. Even if there is no logical alternative to noticing 1NT and b…
  • The correct meaning of 2C on this auction is authorised to the player. Nevertheless, the player misunderstood 2C and was prompted to correctly understand 2C by partner's reaction. Partner's reaction is unauthorised information (as per the last wor…
  • For 17 tables I like the merged mitchells - mainly because it can be a two-winner movement where EW are stationary at the high numbered tables. (Moving EW move round 1-9, moving NS move round 9-17.)
  • @00022097 said: That could lead to a law suit in some clubs! The defendants would be able to produce multiple expert witnesses who could explain that the director is allowed to decide score adjustments on the basis of balance of probabilitie…
  • My first thought is that this is a typo or thinko or transcription error. The 5.0 should be 6.0 from the 6 in the upper of the two preceding tables (not the 5 from the lower table) It will be corrected - unless I have second thoughts.
  • A. The Pass card was a mechanical error - although the perpetrator talked about lack of concentration, the error between Pass and Stop was a mechanical one. B. Given Law 25A3, I think South is allowed to recognise that there may be a problem with …
  • I don't see how East can protect himself: there was an alert, they asked, they got an answer with no expressed uncertainty. East does not know there has been an infraction, so he can't get the director and remove North to ask South about their agr…
  • Buried in the White Book (81.4.1) is If the table is told not to play the board [before it is played], the board is cancelled and an artificial adjusted score awarded (Law 12C2). For a pair at fault, awarding 40% should be sufficient, but if t…
  • The default behaviour is that the names will be copied to session two. It is possible to change line-ups in different rounds and different sessions. One approach is the teams tell the scorer what they have done (when they change line up) and the t…
  • @484707 said: Law 64C b ? Law 64C1
  • @16248 said: Is there any reason why it doesn't have a nine-round Web Mitchell for 18 Tables? The same reason that it doesn't have a 13-round Web Mitchell for 26 tables?
  • @JeremyChild said: It is incredibly easy to identify when they are out of order ... Until the labels come off and someone puts them back on the wrong board! All I am saying is that it does take some work and diligence to make these schemes…
  • it is legal to play 2H as 4+ hearts with some strength or a strong balanced hand; 'some strength' can be anything. This is Blue Book 7C1: 7C1(a) + 7C1(b)(i). I don't think disclosure is much of an issue here: this hand as much strength and defen…
  • @Mitch said: In principle you can stop (& rule 'no adjustment') as soon as you get one answer of "No", as Tag observes. But I think that it's good form to actually consider all four questions, even if you don't go through all the motions …
  • We will send movements for Masters Pairs which aims to play 24 boards in each session. For a stand-alone county pairs final you can be more flexible on session lengths, so 13 tables should play 13-round interwoven howell in the second half (not…
  • I would not use 'Benji' unless 2C is stronger than one bids and weaker than 2D. If I can help it, I would not use 'Multi' (without immediate qualification) unless it refers to 2D which may be weak in a major and has strong options. I don't think '…
  • @Randhl said: I was really not bothered about the bidding just curious about the director's ruling Letting play continue was right. The artificial adjusted score would only be appropriate if this a fielded psyche or an illegal psyche or an…
  • There is no time limit in Law 79C2. Subject to approval by the Tournament Organizer, a scoring error may be corrected after expiry of the Correction Period if the Director is satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the record is wrong. If the c…
  • Something should be done to get East/West to have an agreement about their take-out doubles, and to disclose that agreement if it is unexpected. Having a discussion with East/West, with a view to recording the hand, may be that something, even if t…
  • Both players have UI: one from the explanation, one from the wince. The wince suggests bidding, so we need to see if Pass of 2D is a logical alternative. As far as openers rebid goes: when I played strong twos. 2M - Pass or 2S or 2NT was negative…
  • @GrahamC said: What is dummy allowed to say during the play of the hand? What are defenders allowed to say during the play of the hand? Dummy can attempt to prevent irregularities - to do so, dummy must speak up before the irregularity ha…
  • @Simmoal said: It was after selecting the 'Set all player EBU Details' button. All I can think of is that the EBU Database was missing or corrupt, or the attempt to access the internet to read NGS failed in an unexpected way.