Robin_BarkerTD

About

Username
Robin_BarkerTD
Joined
Visits
4,636
Last Active
Roles
Member, Moderator

Comments

  • I had problems this morning, came here to see if any one else had, saw nothing and read another thread ...
  • In apply Law 24 and Law 50 to the defender's exposed card, one might (depending on the relative experience of the two sides) apply 'unless the Director designates otherwise' and designate the defender's card as not a penalty card (because it's expo…
  • This observation does not solve the problem for the moment, just indicates what the laws/regulations could usefully say. Law 36C says When attention is drawn to an inadmissible double or redouble only after the opening lead has been faced, the …
  • You could have renumbered the pairs and arrow-switched the boards played at table 11 in round 1.
  • Emails to @ebu.co.uk are now getting through.
  • JeffreyS's method will do instant IMPs. I don;t think EBUScore provides 'instant match points', This requires a preset frequency table (for each board).
  • @michael said: And yes - a Mature grade playing with someone who is not yet Evolving will not impact their grade. Which appears as a 'stop' sign in the NGS column of the Mature players sessions on My EBU.
  • @JeremyChild said: @Robin_BarkerTD said: Or the director can decide that in hindsight the ruling that the call was comparable was erroneous - and rule director's error and apply Law 82{something} It doesn't necessarily have…
  • The non-offending side may need to call the TD and say they were damaged - or don't like the outcome. The director can decide that 27D/23C applies and make a ruling. Or the director can decide that in hindsight the ruling that the call was compara…
  • The User Movements are in a text file which can be anywhere but by default is C:/EBUScore/Pairs/PSUserMovements.txt You can copy this file to anywhere on another computer and link to it from Main menu -> Administration -> User Movement Fil…
  • We do not expect players to know the laws - we do expect them to call the TD (especially a non-playing TD) when things go wrong. It does not take much bridge experience to realise that taking a board with an exposed card to a new table who have not…
  • Sometimes the law does not arrive at a result commensurate with the severity of the original mistake. Sometimes the law has to be applied as it stands and there is no 'bridge result'. West has UI. Probably has UI (who told them they had not bid d…
  • I agree. The player was carefully avoiding taking any advantage rather than thinking that Pass was (necessarily) a logical alternative.
  • If presumed declarer is inexperienced (and likely to take the option that partner declares) and the wrong opponent knows which suit is the 'killing' lead, then the wrong opponent's opening lead could satisfy Law 72C.
  • Are the two sessions simultaneous? Is so, we would call them two events not two sessions. You want to score two events using one computer and one bridge-mate server with the Bridgemates all on the same section. You have to write a movement which …
  • If you have two section, the TD does not necessarily have to reprogramme the Bridgemates. If the Bridgemates are set to Section=SELECT, Table=SELECT then the players in the second section can change to Section B before entering the table number. M…
  • I think the software is designed to run two sections simultaneously and that is how you should use it. It is not possible to play one section with different numbers of boards per round in EBUScore. You could write the movement as 16-tables with 1-…
  • Triangles in Swiss Pairs are fiddly, consume TD effort and error prone. But if you have odd number of pairs who have all paid to enter then triangles are preferable to 6/7/8 board sit-outs. Triangles in Swiss Pairs also eat up assignments. I had …
  • Getting stand-bys to stay to start of round 1 can be hard enough! I was provided with a stand-by team who left 5 minutes before the start because we had an even number of teams. Of course we only had 4N-1 pairs, but nobody had checked before relea…
  • At table 9, Law 14A applies and the hand is played. At tables 6?, 7, 8, Law 14B applies. The card is deemed to have belonged to the East hand. It is too late for any automatic penalty for any revoke. Unless North/South can point to any actual da…
  • @JeremyChild said: AFAIK, The alerting rules do not change dependent on whether opponents have enquired about the meaning of a previously alerted bid (or indeed any previous bid). The opponents having heard an explanation of an earlier call …
  • 1N-2C and 2N-3C are announced as stayman if the immediate rebids by opener show/deny 4 card majors. If opener's immediate rebids show something else (e.g. 5-card majors) then the response should be alerted. If opponents have not asked about the al…
  • I think "please" is the same as "play" and so (technically) Law 46B5 applies. Nevertheless, when the suit is implicit, and declarer says "play" the intention is (usually) to follow suit by playing low. But declarer intended that "please" was an in…
  • What other have said ... without a statement of how many tricks or what will happen on subsequent tricks, this is not a claim, just a call of a card from dummy and a change of mind (a 'reconsideration of action' in the words of the law).
  • If the 'outcome was marginal' the TD should err on the side of adjusting the score. In misinformation cases it is normally possible that one of the legal outcomes is the table result, so the TD can always adjust to a weighted score including some p…
  • If the director makes an error which is not noticed I think the tournament organiser could try proroguing its own Correction Period regulations and allow the ruling to be changed under the law on director's error. The tournament organiser and the …
  • White Book 2.5.5 Appeal of late ruling If a ruling is given after the players have left the venue (for instance, a telephone ruling in a match played privately), then the 20-minute correction period for the decision to appeal is impractical. …
  • Once the offender doubles (and double is not a comparable call) then Law 27B4 applies and offender's partner must pass for the rest of the auction. Even without the double, the correction to 2C stands (if 1S is not accepted), this is Law 27C.
  • Rovers don't add a table which BCS needs to know about. The movement thinks there is an extra table, but a missing pair play there throughout and no scores are entered there.
  • I think there was something similar in an 'Ask Robin' answer. In some cases where dummy has failed to play to trick(s), the TD will have to assign a result based on the play up to the first missing play.