Home Senior_Kibitzer Comments

Senior_Kibitzer

About

Username
Senior_Kibitzer
Joined
Visits
2,715
Last Active
Roles
Member

Comments

  • This takes me back a bit!

    It is a long time since I last saw mention of the WBF Code of Laws for Electronic Bridge 2001. I remember being invited to comment on the draft back in 2000 as CTD for the EBU Online Bridge Club (that later becam…

  • As Gordon says.

    I would add that I don't play on BBO so I am not at all familiar with its movements, but if the movements for small numbers of tables is as flawed as you suggest, then either

    -- you could see things like swings and…

  • Weejonnie has covered it!
    .
    Just as an aside, at club level particularly, I try to discourage players from using the expression "I'm reserving my rights" as many less experienced players have no idea what it means and so it often soun…

  • I think the MI is a bit of red herring. NS have been damaged by the UI (more than by the MI), so I would rule as you did. Perhaps West might make 4 tricks in hearts some of the time, but unless that is the reason to appeal, your ruling is so righ…

  • (Quote)

    Nice typo - it fooled me for a minute! :)

    Anyway, as a club, you can have a regulation that players are not required to complete system cards. It is the only regulation that my club has that is different from EBU Regulations, e…

  • (Quote)

    That makes the 2C Non-promissory in principle! :))

  • (Quote)

    These are different concepts. "Garbage Stayman" is when a player bids Stayman with a weak hand intending to pass opener's re-bid, or else correct to another suit at the 2-level (or 3C) intending opener to pass

    "Garbage Stayman"…

  • The confusion is in the words:

    "Stayman is announced whether or not it shows a four-card major."

    Maybe the context of 4E2 should make this last sentence clear but if these words are taken in isolation, they could be interpreted as…

  • I can understand the misunderstanding. The answer currently is your Option A. The announcement is "Stayman" and we announce "Stayman" whether or not it shows a four card major. If opponents want to know if there is an agreement either way of whet…

  • I had to re-count several times too!! :)

  • In EBU-land, all except Hands (a ) and (c) fall within the requirements for a hand to be considered "strong".

    Hand (d) has only 12 cards, but let's assume another small card. Hands (b) and (d) then have 13 HCP but they have 5 controls (A=…

  • If a player is forgetting that 2D shows both majors, and they switch to playing Natural, then I don't think that player is about to start thinking that 2D shows both majors. Players tend to forget they are playing a convention rather than forget …

  • Thanks, CMOT. I had assumed that I should be able to sort it under the PairsScorer Bridgemate options that I didn't think to look at BCS. I'll try that next week.

  • I probably prefer more than most to take a player away from a table, especially if the player hasn't blurted out too much at the table. If I know what the player was intending, it helps me to work out the replacement calls that would be Comparabl…

  • It is essentially a "weak-only Multi". It is not Brown Sticker.

    "The following conventions or treatments are categorised as ‘Brown Sticker’:
    .....
    Any opening bid of two clubs through three spades that:
    could be made…

  • If it is not barometer and if there is a half table, it could very occasionally affect the ranking list as the pair that would have sat out the last round, if having a good score, is advantaged.
    For NGS, if you assign Av/Av scores for the l…

  • That is exactly the question upon which I seek opinions. I have never come across Long Suit Trial Bids being alerted but it seems to me that there is a case for those LSTBs that to some extent seek a feature in the trial suit to be alertable in s…

  • 4 < 3 should read 4 <3

  • "The Laws for online bridge that were published in 2001 didn't really do the job and as far as I know have never much been used."

    I would agree with that. I did use them for Bridge Club Live, not that they made any significant di…

  • "EW say they are unhappy with the way NS behaved towards them when they raised their concerns - I didn't see this of course."

    I would also want to know from the players how EW "raised their concerns". Some players can be quite in…

  • For how long after the last card of the session should one not take calls? Surely play had ceased in order for Jeremy to give a ruling? If so, I would hold South primarily at fault as he should have known that by phoning North and swearing explet…

  • Currently planned courses are shown at http://www.ebedcio.org.uk/td-course-calendar

    There are four lots of Club TD series scheduled at present, but refresher course…

  • "How about these:"

    None of these are Negative Doubles. Negative Doubles exist when RHO has overcalled partner's opening bid (with both opening and overcall being natural and in different suits). Negative doubles are a sub-set of …

  • "I think there was something dodgy about opponents’ bidding so would like an eye kept on them."

    Players say something like this in various circumstances. For example, the EW players in your thread about negative doubles up to 3S …

  • "While NS say they play negative doubles up to 3S .... "

    Playing negative doubles up to 3S specifically caters for jump overcalls, which are not too uncommon. Otherwise you would be playing negative doubles only up to 2H. The evidence her…

  • (Quote)

    I also find it less prevalent online than F2F. But then I only use BCL. :)

  • I am not sure what you are asking. Did your screen freeze or did BBO freeze? Were you playing at the time? Did someone want a ruling?
    Were other players waiting for you to call? If so, then all you have to do is say "Sorry - screen froze" …

  • Hristo, you wrote: "BUT there was an announcement that they have an agreement to lead 2/4 (from shortness) vs NT."

    I am surprised that they might actually have an agreement to lead the low card from Ax, Kx, Qx!

    You wrote:…

  • Hristo, you seem to want to decide whether or not to accuse this pair of "cheating". You don't want or need to do that. You don't want or need to look at or investigate other hands. As Patrick wrote above, and as I preach at TD training courses, …

  • Yes, players may lie, but usually they don't. We don't know why Defender 2 led spades unless we ask Defender 2, and then we get an answer. If Defender 2 has no values outside :spade: A, then it might be quite reasonable for him to look for partne…