Camrose Trophy 2017 - 1st Weekend


The event will be held at the Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire.

Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire, Main Street, Brandon, Coventry CV8 3FW, UK - (google maps)

Matches can be watched on Bridge Base Online during the weekend. Spectators are very welcome to attend, and there will be an informal 'vugraph' room displaying coverage from BBO.

The second weekend will be hosted by Scotland on 3rd - 5th March.



The full regulations are available on the Bridge Great Britain website.

Event Programme



Team picture
NPC: Martin Jones
Alexander Allfrey & Andrew Robson
Tony Forrester & David Bakhshi
Mike Bell & David Gold

Team picture
NPC: Grainne Barton
Tom Hanlon & Hugh McGann
Tommy Garvey & John Carroll
Mark Moran & Rory Boland
Northern Ireland

Team picture
NPC: John Ferguson
Rex Anderson & David Greenwood
Ciara Burns & John Murchan
Greer Mackenzie & Hastings Campbell

Team picture
NPC: Mike Ash
Alex Adamson & Mike McGinley
Paul Barton & Jun Nakamaru-Pinder
Sandy Duncan & Jim Hay

Team picture
NPC: Anne Symons
Sam Punch & Stephen Peterkin
Iain Sime & John Matheson
Frazer Morgan & Phil Stephens

Team picture
NPC: Alan Stephenson
Tim Rees & Gary Jones
Adrian Thomas & Paul Denning
Paul Lamford & Richard Plackett


Friday 17:00 Captain's meeting
17:30 Buffet meal
19:00 - 21:10 Ireland v Wales SBU v Scotland N. Ireland v England
21:25 - 23:35 Ireland v Wales SBU v Scotland N. Ireland v England
Saturday 10:00 - 12:10 England v SBU N. Ireland v Ireland Wales v Scotland
12:25 - 14:35 England v SBU N. Ireland v Ireland Wales v Scotland
15:20 - 17:30 Scotland v England Wales v N. Ireland SBU v Ireland
17:45 - 19:55 Scotland v England Wales v N. Ireland SBU v Ireland
20:30 Dinner
Sunday 10:00 - 12:10 N. Ireland v SBU England v Wales Scotland v Ireland
12:25 - 14:35 N. Ireland v SBU England v Wales Scotland v Ireland
15:20 - 17:30 Wales v SBU Scotland v N. Ireland Ireland v England
17:45 - 19:55 Wales v SBU Scotland v N. Ireland Ireland v England
20:30 Reception & prize-giving dinner

Event history

From the BGB website

The Home Bridge Internationals for England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (then called the Irish Free State) was launched in 1937. Lord Camrose, at that time proprietor of the Daily Telegraph, donated the trophy in 1938. The original trophy has been lost, but a replacement is competed for annually.

The 1939 series was not completed due to war. The Camrose re-started in 1946. The 2016 series was the 73rd which makes the Camrose the most-played international bridge series in the world, for the European Championships that began in 1932 has recently only been played in alternate years.

The South of Ireland dropped out in 1951 but re-joined as the Republic of Ireland in December 1998. The format from then until 2005 was head-to-head matches played over five weekends, with a different country sitting out each weekend, as in the former Five Nations Rugby. Each weekend was divided into three stanzas of 30 boards victory-pointed separately. From January 2005 the format was changed to match the Lady Milne but over two weekends. All five countries met at the same venue playing a full round robin each weekend with two matches in play at a time and one country sitting out each stanza.

The Republic of Ireland won under the new format in both 2005 and 2006.

The sit-out combined with six-player teams meant some players sat out half the weekend and led to calls for a sixth team to be added. This was done for the first time in January 2007. The sixth team was called “The holders” which meant the Federation winning in 2006 fielded two teams in 2007. The holders (by chance, the same six players who represented Republic of Ireland throughout 2006) won again for the Republic of Ireland. So the Republic again fielded two teams in 2008. This time the trophy went to England who thereby would have two teams in 2009, when by chance England was host for the second weekend. The idea for the sixth team was changed to be “the host for the second weekend fields two teams on both weekends”. One team is called by the name of the country and the other by the name of the Federation (e.g. England and EBU). As the right to have two horses in the race would rotate round the countries in a five-year cycle both could be given the right to win the trophy for their Federation. And, in 2009, it was the EBU team that won the trophy. In 2011 Wales fielded two teams and it was the “A” team called Wales that won the trophy for the first time for the Principality.

The totals over 73 years are as follows:

  • England has won the trophy 51 times (of which one was its second team, EBU, in 2009) most recently in 2016
  • Scotland has won 12 times (most recently in 1998)
  • England and Scotland have drawn three times (in 1961, 1972 and 1973)
  • The Republic of Ireland has won 6 times (most recently in 2015)
  • Wales has won once (in 2011)
  • Northern Ireland has yet to win the trophy.

The Camrose Trophy is awarded to the country with the most victory points over the 10 matches played.

All head-to-head encounters have their own individual trophy. Where a country is fielding two teams it is the aggregate score over the four matches (two each weekend) that determines the trophy winner.