The Junior Camrose & Peggy Bayer 2018


England wins Junior Camrose and Peggy Bayer Trophies

Junior Camrose

1st England 143.70
2nd EBU 130.17
3rd Scotland 111.64
4th Wales 93.40
5th Ireland 69.91
6th Northern Ireland 50.18

Peggy Bayer

1st England 170.55
2nd Ireland 81.45
3rd Scotland 57.02
4th Northern Ireland 50.98


Team photos

Event Programme


Junior Camrose Peggy Bayer
Yvonne Wiseman & Alex Birchall, System
Kyle Lam & Toby Nonnenmacher, System
Ben Norton & Shahzaad Natt, System
NPC Paul Barden
Kripa Panchagnula & Harry Madden, System
Sam Anoyrkatis & Theo Anoyrkatis, System
Jack Ronayne & Theo Gillis, System
NPC Michael Byrne
Northern Ireland
John-William Carey & Ridwan Farouki, System
Gavin Irvine & Phil Adams, System
Ryan Lightowler & Craig Smylie, System
NPC Wayne Somerville
Conor Gallagher & Luke McGarvey, System
Molly O’Donnell & Lucy O’Kane, System
Xander Todd & Lauren Colville, System
NPC Sandie Millership
Republic of Ireland
Stephen Barr & Michael Donnelly, System
John Connolly & Nathan Doyle, System
Arran Bolger & Laurence Childs, System
NPC Thomas MacCormac
Sheila Walsh & Ariane Kane, System
Denise Walsh & Leah Finnegan, System
Joseph Carthy & Conor Farrell, System
NPC Margaret Murphy
Gints Freimanis & Stewart Pinkerton, System
Liam O'Brien & Ronan Valentine, System
Glen Falconer & Botond Hadjara, System
NPC Liz McGowan
Christopher Docherty & Gideon Green, System
Adam Tobias & Wan-Hew Tran, System
John Russell & David Tobias, System
NPC Jim Hay
Sarah Greener & Stephen Loat, System
Jonny Richards & Jason He, System
NPC Paddy Murphy
Laura Covill & Siyu Ren, System
Michael Alishaw & Stephen Kennedy, System
Daniel Winter & Liam Sanderson, System
NPC Harry Anoyrkatis
Tournament Directors Robin Barker Nicole Cook


From the BGB website

The Junior Camrose Home Internationals for players aged under 26 years

The series, initially for those under 27, but now for those under 26, was launched on 18/19th September 1971 in Glasgow. Scotland won. Members of that team Sandy Duncan, Barnet Shenkin, George Cuthbertson, and Derek Diamond all went to represent Scotland in the Camrose. The other team members were David Shenkin and Cameron McLatchie.

Scotland have won in 1973, 1975 1976 2010 and 2012. In 1972 and 1978 Scotland tied with England.

England won outright for the first time in 1974 and again in 1977 (the event that year was actually played in December 1976). Since 1979 England has dominated the event, tying with Scotland in 1998 but winning every year since except 2010 in Porthcawl when Scotland won both age groups (in the Juniors overtaking the Republic of Ireland by a single point in the final round) and 2012. Wales, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (who joined in January 1999 when the event was played in Dublin) have yet to win the trophy.

Winning teams and England teams

The Under 21s Home Internationals for the Peggy Bayer Trophy

The Under 19 Home Internationals was launched on 3/4th February 1990 in Cheltenham with a trophy donated by the late Palmer Bayer (also the founder of the Educational Trust for British Bridge) in honour of his wife Peggy. Later it became the U20 and then U21 championship in line with European age limits. Only Scotland and England in 1990 took part with Scotland winning. The Scottish team contained Geoff Bateman, 13 (the older of the Bateman brothers who subsequently played many Junior events for Scotland) and his partner Caldwell, 14. Scotland won again in 1995 and 1997 but England has won the rest except 2010 and 2016. Wales and Northern Ireland have yet to win. The Republic of Ireland (who joined in January 1999) won for the first time in 2016.

The youngest-ever competitor was Claire Evans of Wales who competed aged 9 on 30/31 January 1999 in Dublin having been born on 2nd May 1989.

Winning teams and England teams