July 2013

Ken Drane - thank you

Heather Drane would like to thank the members:

On behalf of Christopher, Sheila and myself we would like to extend our thanks to members of the English Bridge Union who came to Dad's funeral, donated to Macmillan Cancer and, in general, befriended him. A very healthy sum was raised and I know Dad would have been beaming with pleasure at some of the tributes paid to him.

We feel lucky, privileged and proud to have called him 'dad'.
Again thank you for all your support,

Heather Drane

Owen wins third Seniors Knockout

The Clive Owen team has won the 2012/13 Seniors Knockout for the Gerard Faulkner Salver. The team of Clive Owen, John Holland, Jeff Morris and John Hassett beat Jeffrey Alper, Malcolm Harris, Ivor Miller and Richard Spencer by 13 IMPs at the West Midlands Bridge Club on Monday in what the winning captain described as "a close, hard fought match played in great spirit".

Sussex wins the National Inter-County Leagues Finals

The National Finals of the Inter-County Leagues took place at the West Midlands Bridge Club on 7 July. 

Congratulations to Sussex, who won the ‘A’ Division, and to Hertfordshire, whose ‘B’ and ‘C’ teams both won their respective divisions.

Full results can be found at the website.

July edition of Events Focus is now available

Our tenth Events Focus is now available; keeping you up to date with forthcoming events and providing news on changes that we hope will improve your enjoyment of our varied calendar, with less travel for many, no hotel bills, earlier start and finish times. We'll be releasing this each month, so you can keep fully up‐to‐date with what's going on.

Events Focus - July

David Jones wins Torquay double

The English Riviera Congress belonged to David S Jones at the weekend. David, with Jim Grant, Andrew Thompson and Rob Lawy, won the Swiss Teams on Friday, 9 VPs ahead of the junior team of Michael Alishaw, Toby Nonnenmacher, Kyle Lam and Tommy Brass. Then in the two-day Swiss Pairs David partnered with Miles Cowling and again finished first, beating out Alan Shillitoe and Christopher Huber by 6 VPs.