November 2013

England Junior teams selected for Channel Trophy

The teams have been selected for the forthcoming Junior Channel Trophy, to be held in Ostend 20th-22nd December 2013:

Laura Covill & Alex Birchall; Katy Lee & Carina Negreanu
NPC Alan Shillitoe

Freddie Illingworth & Ben Norton; George Siddons & Oliver Powell; Jonathan Derrick & Nick Dean
NPC Michael Byrne

Under 25s
Alex Roberts & Shivam Shah; Kyle Lam & Simon Spencer; Toby Nonnenmacher & Michael Alishaw
NPC Mike Bell

Players in EBU online games passes the 1000 mark

EBU-run online game are proving to be popular as over 1000 players have taken part since they began less than two months ago.

They are open to everyone, but with Master Points available to EBU members, and with an EBU director online to supervise there is always someone there to assist you if required.

The matches are available on Bridge Base Online (BBO) as follows:
Wednesday: 2pm and 4pm
Saturday: 4pm (IMPs scoring)
Sunday: 4pm, 6pm and 9pm

All times are UK time.

Selection of Women’s team for European Championships

Sally Brock & Nicola Smith and Heather Dhondy & Nevena Senior have been selected for the Women’s team for the European Championships in Opatija, Croatia, 21st June – 2nd July 2014.

Applications for consideration for the third pair are invited.

Pairs wishing to be considered should contact the secretary of the Selection Committee . The pair should give details of their partnership’s experience and plans. It would be helpful if the candidates for selection were to play in the Lady Milne trials on 24th-26th January 2014, entries for which close on January 5th 2014.

Tollemache finalists confirmed as holders progress

The qualifying rounds of the Tollemache took place in Daventry on 23rd-24th November 2013.

Holders Berks & Bucks moved on to the final, winning their group with relative ease. Bedfordshire also qualified from group A. In group B three teams were well clear of the rest, but London and Gloucestershire took the top two spots, leaving last year's runners-up Surrey outside the qualifying places.

In group C Manchester and Kent took the two qualifying spots. Group D was extremely tight, with 11 VPs covering the six teams behind runaway winners Middlesex. Northamptonshire and Hertfordshire finished with the same score, but Northamptonshire took the final qualifying spot by virtue of their earlier head-to-head victory.

The final takes place on 8 - 9 February 2014 in West Bromwich.

December issue of English Bridge available online

The December issue of English Bridge is now available online for members to read. It can be accessed by logging in to the members area.

The members area of the EBU website also contains the previous six issues. All online issues have the relevant web links enabled so you can click to go directly to any site mentioned. In addition, page numbers can be clicked on and you will be taken directly to the article you wish to read. The online version of the magazine also includes additional content. Please note that you do not need special software for the online magazine and you will be able to print all, or part of it, if you wish to do so.

England teams for Camrose selected

The England teams for the 2014 Camrose have been selected.

As England hosts the second weekend of the competition they are permitted to enter two teams - an England team and an EBU team.

The first weekend is 10th to 12th January and hosted by Wales in Llandrindod Wells.

The second weekend is 7th to 9th March, and is hosted by England at the Park Inn in Manchester. The EBU invites everyone to attend to support the team and watch on vu-graph.

Please follow the link to see the teams.

Senior, Owen, Kendrick and Gibbons win Senior Trials

The Teltscher Trophy Trials, held on 16th/17th November, were won by the team of Brian Senior & Clive Owen and David Kendrick & Roger Gibbons. They won four out of five matches to win with a total of 68.87.

The team of Paul Hackett & David Mossop, Gunnar Hallberg & John Holland and David Price & Colin Simpson were second on 55.7, with Sandy Davies & Tom Gisborne and Warner Solomon & Dave Robinson third on 53.58.

Brian, Clive, David and Roger will now represent England at the Teltscher Trophy which takes place on 16th, 17th, 18th May 2014 at the La Mon Hotel and County Club in Belfast.