November 2013

Hinden Team finishes 9th for England in European Champions' Cup

The team of Frances Hinden, Jeffrey Allerton, Chris Jagger and Graham Osborne have finished 9th in The European Champions' Cup.

After finishing bottom of their group in the first stage they then recorded two comprehensive victories to finish 9th of the 12 teams involved.

The team qualified to represent England at the tournament, which took place in Croatia from 14th to 17th November, by virtue of winning the Premier League in 2012.

New club affiliations with the EBU

Caterham Bridge Club

Having started out as teaching group, Caterham Bridge Club has expanded to incorporate regular playing sessions, and today became the EBU's newest affiliated club.

The club will continue running classes to help introduce, teach and develop players new to the game of Duplicate Bridge, and will in future offer an increased amount of 'unsupervised' sessions. The classes are being run by an accredited English Bridge Union Partner Teacher using the 'Bridge for All' syllabus.

Those in the East Surrey area who would be interested in joining them should visit their website for more information.

Bourne Bridge Club

Bourne Bridge Club, in Lincolnshire, affiliated this week. They play duplicate bridge every week on Thursday evenings. Visitors and new members are always welcome.

Lines Bridge Club

Lines Bridge Club, in Saffron Walden, affiliated in mid-October. They meet on Thursday evenings, and are a friendly club catering for all standards.

Team Allfrey win the Premier League

The team of Alexander Allfrey, Andrew Robson, Tony Forrester, David Gold, Tom Townsend and David Bakhshi have won Division 1 of the Premier League.

They entered the final weekend with a clear lead, but saw this reduced over the first two days, with a number of teams in contention going into the final day. Two large wins, however, including a near maximium against their nearest rivals, meant they moved away to win by 39 VPs.

The team of Cameron Small, Phil King, Ben Green and John Holland finished second, 2VPs ahead of the team of Sandra Penfold, Brian Senior, Nevena Senior, Norman Selway and Derek Patterson.

In Division 2, the team of Heather Dhondy, Brian Callaghan, Sally Brock, Barry Myers, Frank To and Jeremy Dhondy overhauled the long-time leaders - the team of Sarah Dunn, David Ewart, Alex Hydes, Gunnar Hallberg, Tom Paske and Ed Jones - on the final afternoon to win by 13VPs.

Tom Townsend, David Bakhshi and David Gold are pictured receiving the trophy from Sally Brock.

House of Commons defeats House of Lords

On an afternoon when party allegiance was put to one side, the House of Commons came together to defeat the House of Lords in the 39th annual bridge match for the Jack Perry Trophy.

The Commons team led throughout the 24 board match and, with aggregate scoring being used, ended as convincing winners by 8100 points.

The victorious Commons team was Bob Blackman & Duncan Brack, Michael Mates & Robin Squire, Evan Harris & Tony McWalter, Bridget Prentice & John Marek.

The Lords team was Lady Henig & Lord May, Earl Of Caithness & Lady Blackstone, Lord Skelmersdale & Lady Billingham, Lord Hamilton & Lord Kalms

The Tony Berry Trophy for best played hand, judged by current England international Tom Townsend, was awarded to the Earl of Caithness, with John Marek also congratulated for his play.

A hand commentary was provided by former England international Paul Bowyer, and this is available for you to read and enjoy.

England Juniors win B final at Youth Paris Open

Having narrowly missed out on a place in the semi-finals of the main competition at the 1st Youth Paris Open, finishing 5th in the qualifying rounds, England 1 went on to win the B final comprehensively. They ended on 108, with Poland second on 95.

England 2 completed a good weekend for the team, winning 8 of their 11 matches in the B final to jump up the table and finish =8th out of 22 teams.

The teams were: England 1: Freddie Illingworth, Tom Paske, James Paul and Graeme Robertson; England 2: Ankush Khandelwal, Kyle Lam, Shahzaad Natt and Ben Norton.

Pictured are England 1, along with captain Jason Hackett, and two friendly members of the Botswanan team.

Cindy Cole and Joan Bennett recognised for contributions to junior bridge

The recipients of the EBU's two awards for contribution to the promotion and teaching of junior bridge have been announced.

The Alec Salisbury Award has been given to Cindy Cole for her teaching of minibridge at Pembury School in Kent, and for her support of the Minibridge initiative and of the EBU Youth & Education Trust.

The Tom Bradley Award has been given to Joan Bennett for her contribution to the development and promotion of junior bridge and minibridge in the Home Counties.

Congratulations to them both, and we thank them for their efforts.

Senior and Owen win Seniors Pairs

The Seniors Congress took place in Daventry over the weekend of 1st - 3rd November and almost fittingly the Championship Pairs 'A' final was won by Brian Senior and Clive Owen. Alan Bailey & Jette Bailey were second and Dan Crofts & Andrew Thompson were third.

The B final was won by Kath Nelson & Alan Nelson, and the Swiss Pairs was won by Ann Wall & Toby Wall.

The Swiss Teams was won by Jane Jensen & David Jensen and Angela Chester & Richard Chester, finishing 2 VPs ahead of David Dickson & Roger Gibbons and Ken Ford & Ian Swanson. Janet Smith & Geoffrey Bailey and Lynne Heath & Ron Heath finished third.