December 2013

England Under 25s win Channel Trophy

Congratulations to the England under 25 squad who won the Channel Trophy in Ostend.

The team of Alex Roberts & Shivam Shah, Kyle Lam & Simon Spencer and Toby Nonnenmacher & Michael Alishaw won five of their six matches (the only defeat being by one imp) to win by a comprehensive 12 VPs.

Both the 'Girls' team of Laura Covill & Alex Birchall and Katy Lee & Carina Negreanu, and the 'Youngsters' team of Freddie Illingworth & Ben Norton, George Siddons & Oliver Powell and Jonathan Derrick & Nick Dean, finished 4th in their events. Nearly all are relatively new to the international teams, however, and the experience will serve them well as they continue their development in the game.

Dates for 2014/15 Trials

Premier League
1st Weekend: 20th - 21st September 2014 (Venue to be confirmed)
2nd Weekend: 27th - 28th September 2014 (Venue to be confirmed)
3rd Weekend: 7th - 9th November 2014 (Venue to be confirmed)
Reserve Weekend: 31st October – 2nd November 2014

Seniors Trials for the Teltscher Trophy
19th - 21st December 2014 (Venue to be confirmed)

Lady Milne Trials
23rd – 25th January 2015 (Venue to be confirmed)

England Women end successful 2013 at World Mind Games

The England Women's team of Nevena Senior & Heather Dhondy, Fiona Brown & Susan Stockdale, and Sinéad Bird & Sarah O'Connor have brought 2013 to a close with good performances at the World Mind Games in Beijing.

The photograph shows them receiving their medals from the team event - Fiona is not pictured.

Read on for full information and links.

Allfrey team wins Gold Cup

The 2013 Gold Cup has been won by the team of Alexander Allfrey, Andrew Robson, Tony Forrester, David Gold, Peter Crouch and Oliver Segal.

In the finals, held in Solihull on 14th and 15th December they beat the Senior Team (Brian Senior, Nevena Senior, Sandra Penfold, Ed Jones, Glyn Liggins, Joe Fawcett) 124-112.

Tony Forrester has now won 12 Gold Cup Titles and moves clear of Boris Schapiro (11) as the most successful player in Gold Cup history.

Online games Christmas schedule

EBU-run online games will continue over the Christmas period, with the exception of Christmas Day.

The schedule is:

Wednesday 18th only: 2pm and 4pm -
Saturday 21st and 28th: 4pm (IMPs scoring)
Sunday 22nd and 29th: 4pm, 6pm and 9pm

The matches are available on Bridge Base Online (BBO) and are open to everyone, but with masterpoints available to EBU members.

With an EBU director online to supervise there is always someone there to assist you if required.

Brown and Hasenson reach final of Online Knockout

The semi-finals of the Online Knockout competition have taken place, with the Brown and Hasenson teams progressing to the final.

The team of Peter Hasenson (Captain), Steve Eginton, Barry Myers and David Sherman will take on the team of Fiona Brown (Captain), Tommy Garvey, Hugh McGann and Susan Stockdale.

The event was a trial in 2013 with a view to introducing an online option for some tournaments. The feedback has proven positive and an online option will therefore be available for some rounds of the Seniors Knock-Out for the Gerard Faulkner Salver in 2014.

Tony Forrester wins at American Nationals

England international Tony Forrester has won the prestigous Open Board-a-Match Teams at the American Nationals in Phoenix.

Partnering American Jim Mahaffey, and in a team with Jean Quantin and Marc Bompis of France, and Josef Piekarek and Alexander Smirnov of Germany, Tony's team came from behind to win by the very slim margin of less than one board.

The EBU is holding a Board-a-Match (often called Point-a-Board in the UK) teams event in January. If you would like to try this less commonly played, though no less popular version of the game then join us at the National Teams Congress.

Young Chelsea wins the NICKO

The 2013 National Inter-Club Knockout has been won by Young Chelsea D team of Neil Rosen (Captain), Richard Bowdery, Simon Cope, Ian Draper, Anne Rosen and Catherine Seale.

In the final held at Reading Bridge Club they beat the West of England A team of David S Jones (Captain), Tim Brierley, Robert Covill and Steve Tomlinson. Alan Jones also represented the West of England team in earlier rounds.

The Young Chelsea Club, who last won the trophy in 2009, and knocked out defending champions Cambridge in the quarter-finals, won the final by 34 imps.