January 2014

Issue 15 of Event Focus now available

Issue 15 of Event Focus is now available. It includes details of our 'multi-venue' events - with locations in many parts of the country you can easily take part in nationwide competition.

The Masters Pairs also has free entry for those who have achieved a 'landmark promotion'. Find out more in the newsletter.

English players victorious at Reykjavik Bridge Festival

English players were victorious at the Reykjavik Bridge Festival, held 23rd to 26th January.

In the pairs event Andrew Robson partnered Zia Mahmood to an emphatic victory by over four per cent.

The Swiss teams event was won by the team of Brian Senior, Sandra Penfold, Nevena Senior and Rumen Trendafilov. The team of Janet De Botton, Artur Malinowski, Nick Sandqvist and Tom Townsend finished in joint third, adding to the strong performances by the English players.

Moore & Fawcett win Lady Milne Trials

Jane Moore & Gillian Fawcett have won the trials for the England team for the forthcoming Lady Milne.

The trials were held at Richmond Bridge Club on 24th to 26th January, and Moore & Fawcett won by a large margin of over 100 imps. They will therefore return to the Lady Milne to defend the trophy they won as part of the successful 2013 England team.

They will be joined in the team by Catherine Seale & Anne Rosen, and Christine Jepson & Catherine Curtis. These pairs finished second and third in the trials, comfortably clear of the rest of the field.

A photograph all the full team can be seen here

The Lady Milne takes place 11th to 13th April in Gormanston, Ireland.

Prize competition and new times for EBU online games

A new Prize Competition for the EBU online games will begin on Saturday 1st February.

The player who accumulates the most BBO Master Points in our games in each calendar month will receive BB$20. Second place will receive BB$10. In the event of a tie for any position the prize will be shared. This will reward those who are successful on a regular basis and hopefully gives an added incentive to those who play infrequently, or are thinking of playing for the first time. The competition is open to everyone, including non-EBU members and those overseas.

This competition will run alongside the award of EBU Master Points, so EBU members can still accumulate those even if they are not in the running for the monthly prize.

We hope that you enjoy this new competition and we wish you luck with it.

New games

We are pleased to announced that from February we will be introducing two new games - 4pm on Tuesday and 4pm on Thursday.

Unfortunately is has been necessary to end the Wednesday 2pm game. We are sorry for any disappointment this causes.

The schedule is now: Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday at 4pm, Saturday at 4pm (with IMPs scoring), and Sunday at 4pm, 6pm and 9pm

Lord Skelmersdale plays minibridge at Carshalton High School

Lord Skelmersdale, Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords, visited Carshalton High School for Girls on Friday 17th January for a game of mini-bridge.

Girls from the school will be visiting the House of Lords in March to play with Lord Skelmersdale and other peers, so Lord Skelmersdale visited their bridge club to see them in action. He was impressed by both their play and their enthusiasm for the game.

The club, which was founded by teacher Amy Huber, plays every week and is helped by bridge instructor Christine Atwood.

The girls will start to learn full bridge next term, and hope that will be off the back of a strong showing on the visit to the House of Lords.

De Botton and Holland teams win at National Teams Congress

The main events at the National Teams Congress, which took place in Northampton on 18th & 19th January, this year included two parallel events - a Point-a-Board teams and a Swiss teams.

The Point-a-Board teams was won by the team of John Holland & Ben Green and Jeremy Dhondy & Brian Callaghan, and the Swiss teams was won by the team of Waseem Naqvi & Thor Hoftaniska and Janet de Botton & Artur Malinowski (pictured).

For further information and results, please read on.

Jones team wins Silver Plate

The final of the Silver Plate has been won by the team of Gary Jones (captain), Jerry Harouni, Ray Robinson and Ed Scerri.

In a close final in which both teams led in the second half of the contest, they beat the team of Martin Edge (Captain), Alan Brosgill, Adam Dickinson, Robin Jepson, Dominic Pinto and Nick Woolven by 22 imps.

The Silver Plate is contested between teams knocked out in the 1st or 2nd round of the Gold Cup.