February 2015

England retain Junior Camrose & Peggy Bayer trophies

The England junior teams were once again dominant in the annual home international series which took place in Wales at the weekend. The Under-25s in the Junior Camrose were run close by Scotland in the first half, but pulled away with a strong second half to win by 19 VPs. In the Peggy Bayer, the Under-20s won every match, mostly by large amounts, to finish up 28 VPs ahead of second-placed Ireland. Congratulations to both teams.

Junior Camrose: Shivam Shah & Tom Paske, Toby Nonnenmacher & Michael Alishaw, James Paul & Alex Roberts with NPC Jon Cooke.

Peggy Bayer: Freddie Illingworth & Ben Norton, Nick Dean & Sam Behrens, Laura Covill & Stephen Kennedy with NPC Michael Byrne.

Croswell and Brown win at Harrogate

Congratulations to Croz Croswell and Matthew Brown, who took home the main Swiss Pairs trophy at the Harrogate Congress at the weekend. They led for most of the second half and, despite losing to second-placed Derek and Celia Oram, managed to hold on to win by 4 VPs. Rick Irwin and Francis Eddleston were third.

In the Swiss Teams on Sunday the Winter team went through all 7 matches undefeated to win by a comfortable 11 VPs. Congratulations to Richard Winter, Willie Crook, Gary Hyett and Alan Mould. Lishkov finished second, just ahead of Harris and Sansom in joint third.

Hackett team wins NEC Cup

The team of Jason Hackett, Brian Senior, John Holland and Gunner Hallberg has won the prestigious NEC Cup in Yokohama, Japan. They overcame a deficit at the halfway point to beat the team of David Bakhshi, David Gold, and Dutch pair Ricco van Prooijen, Louk Verhees, in the almost-all-English final.

Another English team - that of Frances Hinden, Graham Osborne, Alex Hydes and Mike Bell - were defeated in the semifinal by the Hackett team.

Middlesex win Tollemache Cup

Middlesex have won the Tollemache Cup, their third victory in the competition in the last six years.

The team of Ian Pagan, Thor Erik Hoftaniska, Tony Waterlow, Waseem Naqvi, Tom Paske, Neil Rosen, Victor Silverstone, Martin Jones, Simon Cope and Jeremy Dhondy (pictured left to right) won six of their seven matches, and took the title by 10.5 VPs.

The Manchester team was second, and the London team was third.

Fun, despite no sun, at the Lanzarote Congress

A great time was had by all at the Bridge Overseas Congress in Lanzarote, which concluded on Wednesday, and spirits weren't dampened by the surprisingly mediocre weather which affected the island.

Rhona and Bernard Goldenfield (pictured with Jane Taylor of Bridge Overseas) were the big winners of the event, taking the Swiss Pairs title, and then teaming with Joy and Irving Blakey to win the Swiss Teams prize (picture). Other results and pictures of the winners are available via the links below.

The next overseas congress is in Rhodes on 7th - 13th October 2015. Extend your summer by joining us for some sunshine, wonderful beaches and scenery, and most of all some great bridge.

Spring Sim Pairs now supporting EBED charity

Following the success of the EBED Autumn Simultaneous Pairs last year we are pleased that the Spring Simultaneous Pairs will also be supporting the English Bridge Education and Development charity.

The event will be organised by English Bridge Education and Development CIO, with the EBU running the event and acting as its agent for entry fees. The funds raised from the event will go to the charity to help in its mission: encouraging more people to take up bridge, as well as building the infrastructure which will make that aim a reality, to ensure bridge has a strong future.

Information on some of the work being undertaken by EBED can be seen on the charity’s website - www.ebedcio.org.uk. For any information on its activities please contact simon@ebedcio.org.uk

The event takes place 5th-7th May. Clubs should enter via the EBU website. Members interested in playing can find lists of all the clubs taking part on the EBU website.

Playing card orders being processed

Please note, if you have ordered your cards by email/phone they will be processed and dispatched as soon as possible. Please do not duplicate your order by contacting us by email or telephone.

If you have ordered Superluxe cards, they will be dispatched when the new stock arrives at the end of February. The Duplimate cards should be with you in the next couple of weeks.

In March we will contact all clubs from which we have not received an order, so there is no need to contact us at this stage to 'confirm we got your email'. If it initially went astray we will contact you next month to ensure your order has not been missed.

If you have not yet ordered your cards please email bridge.shop@ebu.co.uk

Peter Bentley, 1933 - 2015

Peter Bentley, a stalwart of Surrey bridge for many years, has died aged 81.

Peter (pictured with his sons) was awarded the Dimmie Fleming Award by the EBU in 2004 for his services to bridge in Surrey - amongst many contributions he twice served as Chairman. An obituary is available on the Surrey CBA website. The funeral will be on 26th February.

John Holland tops Master Point list again

Congratulations to John Holland who has won the Sunday Telegraph Salver for the most Master Points accumulated in the calendar year for the fourth time.

John, who also won this award in 2009, 2012 and 2013, gained a total of 28,824 points in 2014. Ed Scerri, highest points earner in 2010 and 2011, was second with 24,510 points. Derek Oram was third with 23,665 (just 62 points ahead of Celia Oram).

John Durden remains atop the all-time list of Master Point winners, though Derek has reduced his lead to around 74,000.

In the Gold Point ranking list David Gold (perhaps suitably) reclaimed top spot with 102.48 points. John Holland is second, with 100.60, and both are well clear of the rest of the list. Andrew Robson, Tony Forrester and Alexander Allfrey complete the top five. Gold points are awarded for any performance in a single event which merits an award of 5 Green Points or more. Gold Points devalue at the rate of 20% of their original value per annum (so, after 5 years, any Gold Point award has devalued down to zero) so are often used as an indicator of current form.

The winners of the Club Champions prize draw have also been selected. Club Champions are those who won the most Master Points in events held at each club. The winner was Chris Chowney of Ross-on-Wye Bridge Club who receives £400. David Brace of Hutton Duplicate Bridge Club was drawn in second and wins £200, and John Copson of Afternoon Bridge Club wins £100 for being drawn third.

The full Master Point lists for 2014, including a breakdown by county, can be accessed below.