May 2016

Allfrey team wins Schapiro Spring Fours

The team of Alexander Allfrey (Middlesex), Tony Forrester (Hereford), Andrew Robson, David Gold, Mike Bell and David Bakhshi (all London), has won the Schapiro Spring Foursomes. Two-thirds of the team are pictured receiving the trophy from Helen Schapiro who supports the event in memory of her late husband, the great Boris Schapiro.

The Allfrey team beat the Irish international 'Moran team' (Rory Boland, John Carroll, Tommy Garvey, Tom Hanlon, Hugh McGann, Mark Moran) in the final. Both teams had earlier in the day come through close semi-finals against the Gidman and Sinclair teams respectively.

The consolation events finished the previous day - see here for details.

Brian Senior contributed articles on some of the deals from different stages of the competition. His report on the final is available here - others are available to read via the results pages.

The event is part of the Championship Series counting towards the Player of the Year Competition. The Allfrey team all moved into positions 2 to 7 as a result of their victory, but Simon Cope is still atop the leaderboard, aided by the points he gained for reaching the semi-final with the Sinclair team.

EBED Spring Sim Pairs

The EBED Spring Simultaneous Pairs is now finished, and you'll be able to find all the results and commentaries linked below. You can leave a comment on any board through the boards pages, where you will also be able to play through the hand in the double-dummy viewer. Master Points will be credited as soon as all the results are in and checked.

This event is supporting the work of the charity English Bridge Education and Development, and will go specifically to EBED's work relating to the social and health benefits linked to playing bridge, including combatting social isolation and cognitive decline. You can read more about the work which will be done in the April issue of English Bridge.

You can see a list of the clubs which are registered to take part by clicking on the relevant day below.

Tuesday 3rd May Commentary Booklet
Wednesday 4th May Commentary Booklet
Thursday 5th May Commentary Booklet
Monday 9th May Commentary Booklet

English juniors win Punch Bowl at Spring Fours; Penfold team wins Hamilton Cup

The team of Ben Norton (Leics), Ankush Khandelwal (Notts), Alex Roberts (Mersey/Cheshire) and Toby Nonnenmacher (London) - pictured left - have won the Punch Bowl, the main consolation event at the Schapiro Spring Foursomes.

They were knocked out of the main competition at an early stage - though had received an unfortunate draw as they played, in successive rounds, eventual quarter-finalists, eventual finalists, and the fourth seeds. They then found some form, however, reaching the knockout stages of the Punch Bowl after finishing second in their eight team group, and winning three matches in the knockout stage to take the trophy. They defeated an Anglo-Danish-Norwegian team of Gitte Hecht-Johansen (London), Arne Andreasen, Lisbeth Aulid Eide, Henrik Gosvig, and Baard Risnes in the final.

The Hamilton Cup - the consolation Swiss Teams for those eliminated from the main competition or the Punch Bowl, or joining the event at that point - was won by Sandra Penfold (Yorks), Nevena Senior (Middlesex), Rumen Trendafilov and Kalin Karaivanov (both Bulgaria) (see picture here). They won five of their six matches, and scored enough to pip the undefeated Norwegian-Monagasque team of Rune Hauge, Geir Helgemo, Crister Kristoffersen & Jan Petter Svendsen.

The main event concludes today - the semi-finals and final can be followed on Bridge Base Online.

Semi-finals & finals of Spring Foursomes online today

The semi-finals and finals of the Schapiro Spring Foursomes will be shown on Bridge Base Online today. The semi-finals start at 10:30am and conclude mid-afternoon. The final will take place this evening, with play starting at 4:30pm.

The final pits the top seeded Allfrey team against the 9th seeded Moran team.

Earlier they beat, respectively, the 17th seeded Gidman team and 3rd seeded Sinclair team, in two close semi-finals.

Full results to date, along with articles from Brian Senior on some of the deals from the earlier stages of the competition, are available here.

Talbots & Bull team win main events at Jersey Festival

The Lambourne Jersey Festival concluded on Sunday after ten days of competitions.

The four session Swiss Pairs was won by Denis & Kathy Talbot (both Oxon). They won nine of their twelve matches to finish on 170 VPs, three ahead of Joy & Irving Blakey (both Manchester).

The team of Mike Bull (London), Graham Horscroft, Mike Walsh and Andrew Thompson (both Norfolk) were winners of the four session Swiss Teams. They won ten of their thirteen matches, and finished comfortably clear of the field on 192 VPs, Roy Garthwaite, Heather Hobson, Janet Latham and Ted Latham (all Yorks) were second with 163 VPs.

Results of the other events at the congress can be seen via the congress results page.