August 2016

England lose in quarter finals of Chairman's Cup

The England team's bid to reclaim the Chairman's Cup, the most prestigious teams event on the Swedish bridge calendar, ended on Tuesday at the quarter final stage on Tuesday. Sally Brock & Barry Myers and Frances Hinden & Graham Osborne put in a strong performance to emerge to the knockout stages from the initial entry of 170 teams, but after two victories they were then beaten by the Abax team from Norway. They have moved on to the consolation event where they have won their first match.

Also defeated in the quarter-finals were a team including EBU members Simon Gillis, Artur Malinowski and Gunnar Hallberg alongside Erik Saelensminde.

Davis & Taylor, and Thrower team, win at Scarborough Summer Congress

Ron Davis (Beds) & Bill Taylor (Hants & IoW) (see picture here) were the victors in the Scarborough Summer Congress's main event, winning the twelve round stratified Swiss Pairs event by just 2 VPs. They started the final session in a tie for 18th, but surged through the field, scoring 84 out of a possible 100 to finish on 173 VPs. Most significantly they won their final match against then-leaders John Hayton & Philip Clark (both Yorks) 19-1. This meant they not only vaulted John & Philip - relegating them to third with 168 VPs - but also Robin Jepson & Alan Brosgill (both Yorks), who finished second with 171 VPs.

The leading 'B stratification' pair were Ann Wilkins & Jeff Wilkins (both Lancs) and the leading 'C stratification' pair were Steve Roswald & Hamish Brown (both Yorks).

The Multiple Teams event was won by James Thrower, Daniel Winter, Tim Prior & Paul Brereton (all Yorks) (pictured). In a tightly contested final they finished just 2 IMPs ahead of the team of Barrie Partridge (Yorks), Linda MacFarlane, Michael Read & Nick Hodsdon (both Herts) - 12 IMPs covered the top eight places. The 'B' final was won by Bill Wattleworth, Liz Wattleworth, Veronica Petrie & Andrew Petrie (all Lancs) (see picture here), 30 IMPs clear of the field. The winners of the consolation event were Liz Commins, David Stevenson (both Mersey & Cheshire), Diane Kurbalija & Filip Kurbalija, playing in the yellow section. The team of Ajit Shivdasani (North East), Vijay Anand (Middlesex), Norman Gray & Rosemary Gray (both North East) were highest scorers in the blue section.

The Pre-Congress Pairs was won by Rob Richardson & Rosa Richardson (both Norfolk) (see picture here) with an impressive 67.49%. Jim Deacon & Robert Miller (both Northants) were second on 62.27%.

During the congress Jim Proctor, a Scarborough resident, received a commendation from the Yorkshire CBA following his retirement as an EBU TD after over 40 years of service (see picture here).