May 2017

Bell team wins Online Knockout Teams

Mike Bell completed a successful week, as his team won the EBU's Online Knockout Teams competition to add to his earlier victory in the Schapiro Spring Foursomes.

Playing with Paul Gipson, Alex Gipson and Paul Russell (Sarah O'Connor played in an earlier round), they defeated the team of Robert Plumley, Rune Hauge, Daniel McIntosh and Andy Hall (Erik Saelensminde played in an earlier round) by 33 IMPs in the final.

The Plate competition has reached the semi-final stage. A new competition will start in January 2018 with entries opening later this year.

Welcome to Settle Bridge Club

We are pleased to welcome Settle Bridge Club, in Yorkshire, the most recent club to affiliate with the EBU.

The club meets in St. Johns Methodist Church in Settle on Tuesday evening and Thursday afternoons.

McIntosh & Hauge, and Thompson team, win at Jersey Congress

The Lambourne Jersey Festival concluded on Sunday with both locals and visitors from 'the mainland' enjoying the ten-day event.

The Green Pointed Swiss Pairs on the first weekend was won by Dan McIntosh & Rune Hauge (both Channel Islands). The Green Pointed Swiss Teams on the second weekend was won by the team of Andrew Thompson (Norfolk), Mike Walsh (Devon), Mike Bull (London) and Graham Horscroft (pictured).

The main midweek Seniors events were won by Chris Taylor (Essex) & David Wing (London), and by the team of Gary Hyett (Manchester), Alan Cooke, Maureen Stairs & Brian Stairs (all Beds).

The results of the other events are available via the link below.

Allfrey team wins Schapiro Spring Foursomes

The Schapiro Spring Foursomes has been won by the second-seeded Allfrey team.

Alexander Allfrey, Andrew Robson, Mike Bell, David Gold, David Bakhshi & Tony Forrester reversed a result from earlier in the event by defeating in the final the Barton team which beat them in the fourth round. Due to the 'double-elimination' format the defending champions got their chance at revenge and defeated the seventh seeds - Rory Boland, John Carroll, Tom Hanlon, Krzysztof Martens, Hugh McGann and Mark Moran - in the final. Brian Senior's report from final is available here.

The winning team are pictured with Helen Schapiro, who generously supports the competition in memory of her late, great husband, Boris Schapiro. Their victory takes them all well clear in the Player of the Year Championship with David Bakhshi holding the top spot.

The main consolation competition, the Punchbowl, was won by the team of Gerald Haase, John Matheson, John Murdoch, Victor Silverstone, Iain Sime and James Thrower.

The Swiss Teams competition, with acted as a secondary consolation competition, and as a 'stand alone' competition for those joining the event at that stage, was won by Robert Boeddekev, Paul Gruenke, Roland Rohowsky & Flora Zarkesch (pictured here).

Brian Senior has been writing bulletins from the event, and they are available via the results pages.