June 2017

Kent wins Pachabo Cup

The Pachabo Cup has been won by the Kent team of Peter Law, Phil Bailey, Michael Hampton & Patrick Collins.

The Pachabo Cup is contested by the holders of the teams-of-four Championship of each County Association of EBU, and 29 teams took part in the event held on 10th - 11th June. It uses a hybrid system of scoring, combining both 'point-a-board' and IMPs converted to VPs.

Kent finished on 200.5 points, with the Manchester team of Andrew Woodcock, Catherine Draper, John Hassett & Jeff Morris second on 197. Staffs & Shrops were third with 193 and Dorset fourth with 188.5.

Universal Membership rebates processed

Members who have played more than 150 club sessions in the 2016-17 financial year (1st April to 31st March) are entitled to a rebate on the Universal Membership subscription payments which they have paid. These rebates have been processed and are being held as credits on the members' EBU accounts. If you have a rebate you can see it by logging in to My EBU (for more details on this, click 'read more').

These credits can be used for entry to competitions or for purchase through The Bridge Warehouse.

Please note: these credits cannot be applied online - to use a credit for purchases or entries please telephone the Competitions Department (01296 317203) or Bridge Warehouse (01296 397851).

If you would prefer to have your credit transferred to you by BACS, then please contact julie@ebu.co.uk or call 01296 317200.

Welcome to three newly affiliated clubs

Welcome to three clubs which have recently affiliated with the EBU:

  • Cutthorpe Friendly Afternoon BC, Derbyshire - a new, friendly club, which plays at Cutthorpe Village Hall in Chesterfield. They start on 13th July, and there will be sessions on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons, plus Sim Pairs and 'full day' events.
  • Market Harborough BC, Leicestershire - an established club in the centre of the town, which plays on Monday evenings.
  • Friends BC, Middlesex - They play in Hatch End, and will be hosting heats of Sim Pairs during the summer, with regular weekly sessions starting in September

Byrne & Holland win Corwen Trophy

Michael Byrne & John Holland, from Manchester, have won the Corwen Trophy which took place on 3rd - 4th June.

The event is for the leading pairs in the most recent pairs championship of each County Association of the EBU.

Surrey's Mike Scoltock & Jeffrey Allerton, and Frances Hinden & Graham Osborne, were second and third respectively.