August 2017

Allfrey & Robson retain Swiss Pairs at the Summer Meeting

Alexander Allfrey & Andrew Robson retained the Harold Poster Trophy for the Swiss Pairs Championship at the Summer Meeting yesterday. Jeremy Dhondy & Andy Hughes were second, the top pair in the B Stratification were Shahzaad Natt & Ambrose Holmes-Mackie, and the top pair in the C Stratification were Jonathan Davis & Kiril Delev.

Results, reports, pictures and articles from the Summer Meeting are all available on the Summer Meeting Hub.

Junior squad leader opportunities available

Would you like to get involved with the junior elite bridge programme?
Do you enjoy working with young people and children?

Two of the EBU youth squad leaders who led England teams to qualification for the 2018 world youth championships in China will shortly "retire". The EBU selectors are looking for two enthusiastic volunteers to take their places. The age-categories of the two squads are under-16 and under-26.

For more information on what these positions entail, please click 'read more'.

If you’d like to express an interest, please contact Dawn Mertens ( in the first instance. Closing date for expressions of interest is 31st August.

English success at ACBL Summer Nationals

The team of Tom Paske, Alexander Hydes, Sarah Bell & Marusa Basa have won the Freeman Mixed Board-a-Match (Point-a-Board) at the ACBL Summer Nationals in Toronto. They won the four-session competition by just over half a board.

Isaac Barden was part of a winning pair (playing with Lukasz Kucharczyk of Canada) in the junior competition, the Morning Cardrook Pairs.

Update: Not to be outdone by his son, Paul Barden, playing with Graham Osborne and Americans Robert Bell and Lou Reich, won the snappily titled Saturday/Sunday Knockout Teams 1 on the final weekend of the event.

Further update: David Gold and Mike Bell reached the semi-final of the Spingold Teams, one of the most prestigious events on the ACBL calendar. Playing with Richard Schwartz, Jerry Stamatov and Diyan Danailov they lost to the Lavazza team in the final four.