May 2018

Natt does double at Spring Bank Holiday Congress

Shahzaad Natt was the winner of the main pairs and teams competitions at the Spring Bank Holiday Congress in Stratford. Playing with David Bakhshi he won the Championships Pairs, ahead of Ben Norton - his partner in August's World Youth Team Championships - and fellow participant in China, Stephen Kennedy, with Eddie Lucioni & John Dakin in third.

Shahzaad then teamed up with Nathalie Shashou, Nick Sandqvist, & Stefano Tommasini (picture here) to win the Swiss Teams, with Mark Hodgson, Maggie Jones, Bill Taylor & Robert Miller in second.

The B Final in the Championship Pairs was won emphatically by Marusa Basa & Diana Nettleton (picture here), almost 5% ahead of Susan Johnson & Steve Root.

Those not reaching the A or B Final, or joining the Congress on the second day, contested a Swiss Pairs which was won by Nevena Senior & Martin Lee, with Phil Downham & Chris Mooney in second.

June issue of English Bridge out now

The June 2018 issue of English Bridge is out now and will be delivered to eligible members in the next few days.

The online version, which contains extra content, is available via My EBU (use the 'Magazine' link in the top right corner of the My EBU webpage). More information on accessing and using the online version is available here.

Extra online game this weekend

A bonus game for the Bank Holiday has been added to our schedule of online games with Funbridge. You can now play on Monday 28th as well as the usual games on Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday.

In these games you can stop and start as often as you need, so you can fit it around whatever else you're doing that day. For more details on how to play, please see our FAQ page.

There is a prize for those with the highest average from their best four results each month - so with five chances left to play in May you can still be involved in that competition. Or if you can only play once there's still a chance to earn Master Points and have fun seeing how your scores compare with the dozens of regular players.

Megan Jones first recipient of Junior Award Scheme Diamond Level

Congratulations to Megan Jones on becoming the first ever recipient of the Junior Award Scheme's highest award, the Diamond level. The certificate was presented by EBED's David Emerson at Stratford-upon-Avon Bridge Club, where Megan regularly plays and directs.

The Junior Award Scheme is run by English Bridge Education & Development, and recognises achievement and improvement in all levels of bridge, from minibridge up to the Diamond level. For more information on Megan's achievement, and on the scheme, see the EBED website.

Gisborne team wins Hubert Phillips Plate

The Hubert Phillips Plate - the consolation event in the EBU's mixed pivot teams competition - has been won by Dave Robinson, Sandy Davies, Richard Pike and Tom Gisborne (pictured l to r).

They beat Barrie Cantello, Ann Sharples, Keith Bartlett and Robert Mott (Chris Stevens played a match earlier in the competition) by 1880 points in the 48-board final at Cheltenham BC on Sunday.

U26 Women's team for World Championships selected

The team to represent England in the U26 Women's competition at the World Youth team Championships has been selected.

The team is:

  • Yvonne Wiseman & Liz Gahan; Olivia Bailey & Ewa Wieczorek; Laura Covill & Siyu Ren; NPC: Sally Brock

Yvonne, Olivia, Ewa and Siyu were part of the medal winning team at the 2017 European Youth Team Championships. Liz played in the last World and European U16 events and is moving up to the U26 team this year. Laura has made numerous international appearances, dating back to 2013.

This is the fourth and final team to be selected, so the line-ups for China are now set.

Donations to support the teams continue to come in, with the total now reaching £37,000. Many thanks to everyone who has donated so far. There is still lots of time to make a donation before the young players fly to China - the event is not until August - so we can still hit our target of £60,000. No donation is too small, and all are gratefully received. Individuals can make a donation through this page on the EBED webpage so gift aid can be reclaimed. Any bridge clubs, counties, or other organisations should contact us to find out how to donate.

Scotland wins Teltscher Trophy; England second

Scotland has won the Teltscher Trophy - the 'senior Camrose' competition - with England finishing second.

At the event in Mold, in Wales, Scotland were undefeated in the double round-robin, scoring 147.67 VPs. England finished with 131.71 VPs, a long way ahead of Ireland (89.33) in third.

The England team was: Sandra Penfold, Norman Selway, Tony Forrester, David Kendrick, Brian Senior, NPC: Derek Patterson (John Holland was selected but was unable to participate).

The winning Scottish team was: Iain Sime, John Matheson, Gerald Haase, John Murdoch, James Forsyth, Nigel Guthrie (NPC: Anne Perkins)

Raising our Game: Strategic Aims 2018-2023

At the Shareholders Meeting this week the EBU Strategy Document for 2018-2023 was launched. It has been produced by the Board of Directors and is designed to guide and measure the EBU in its progress over the next five years.

The document is available here and will be printed in the forthcoming June issue of English Bridge.

Martin Hoffman: 1929-2018

The EBU is sad to learn of the death of Martin Hoffman. Martin was a hugely popular player, and was considered for a time to be the best pairs player in the world. He enjoyed a long string of successes, both in the UK and abroad, spanning half a century. Amongst other victories he won the Spring Foursomes twice - for the first time in 1969 - and Harold Poster Cup at Brighton three times - most recently in 2011.