June 2018

EBU seeks Membership Development Officer

Applications are no longer being accepted

The EBU is recruiting a Membership Development Officer (MDO) to assist its expanding Membership Campaign.

We seek someone to support the participating clubs and counties, and the Membership Development Committee. The role will include creating, and updating, a 'resource centre' which can be used by clubs and counties to get more people playing bridge - this will include promotional materials, 'how-to-guides', etc - and the MDO will be a point of contact to assist those involved.

Knowledge of marketing/promotion - including using social media - and graphic design skills are required. You must be a bridge player, and have a full driving licence.

This is a part-time position (14 hours per week), and can be 'home-based', though an initial period of time spent at the EBU offices in Aylesbury will be required, as well as further regular face-to-face meetings. The contract will initially be for one year, though it is hoped it will be extended.

Applications close on Monday 16th July. See here for a full job description and more information.

Devon wins at Inter-County Leagues finals

The National Finals of the Inter-County Leagues took place at Coventry Bridge Club on Sunday 24th June.

Congratulations to Devon who won the 'A' final for the first time.

Oxfordshire won the 'B' Division final, and Hertfordshire the 'C' Division title for the third year in succession.

Pictured are the Devon team (L to R: Richard Lingham, Stefan Lindfors, Harry Anoyrkatis, Gillian Fawcett, Ann Slee, Warner Solomon, Joe Fawcett, Alex Maddocks)

Leslie team wins Hubert Phillips Bowl

The Hubert Phillips Bowl - the mixed pivot teams knockout competition - has been won by Paula Leslie, David Gold, Tom Paske, Susanna Gross, Richard Hillman and Graham Orsmond (not pictured).

In Sunday's final they beat the team of Brian Senior, Sandra Penfold, Justin Hackett & Nevena Senior by "about 500 points" (aggregate scoring is used).

Tunbridge Wells wins Garden Cities Trophy

Tunbridge Wells BC has won the Garden Cities Trophy, the competition for each county's 'teams-of-eight champions'.

The final featured the eight teams which qualified from the Regional Finals which took place in April, and Tunbridge Wells finished in first with 101 VPs. Deva BC was second with 89 VPs, and Reading BC was third with 76 VPs.

The winning Tunbridge Wells team was Colin Wilson, Espen Erichsen, Helen Erichsen, Steve Barnfield, Gerald Soper, Jeremy Willans, Frances Connell and Ian Draper. This was Ian's fifth victory in the competition, making him one of the most successful players in the event's history (Steve Green and Roger Bryant of Coventry BC have also won five times).

England U16s reach quarterfinals of world online teams

England's U16 team have reached the quarterfinals of the WBF Youth Teams Online Championships and will play France.

In the qualifying stage the U16s won five of their seven matches to finish in sixth place, and progress to the knockout phase. The team is: Jasmine Bakhshi, Dido Coley, Roland Bourne, Henry Rose, Liam Fegarty, Jamie Fegarty, Oscar Selby, & Andy Cope.

The U26 team lost only twice in their matches, finishing eighth of fifteen, but with only four team progressing from their pool they will not be in the knockout rounds. The team was: Toby Nonnenmacher, Kyle Lam, Yvonne Wiseman, Will Roper, Ben Norton & Shahzaad Natt.

Most of the participants in the two teams will be representing England in the World Youth Teams Championships in China in August. Information on making a donation to sponsor the squads can be seen here.

All 3 England teams qualify for World Championships!

England's campaign at the European Team Championships has ended with all three teams qualifying for the World Championships. Although no medals will be coming back across The Channel, England can be pleased to be one of four European nations represented in all three competitions in China next year.

The Senior team had out-performed many expectations by lying within a VP of second place before the final day. That results went against them on the final day, seeing them slide down to eighth, should not detract from the performance of a team all making their debuts at this level. France were the convincing winners.

The Women's team fell tantalising short of another international medal, finishing just 2.56 VPs behind the bronze medal place. But for a team which at one stage was 20th of the 23 teams, their strong comeback to finish in fifth will be a consolation. Scotland also qualified, finishing in seventh, and the competition was won by Poland.

Like the Women, the Open team had to recover from indifferent early results. Rarely in the top ten in the first week, the team remained resilient, and found form in time to record eight victories in the last ten matches and move up the table. They finished seventh, with Norway taking the top prize.

The NPC's have written blogs from the event, and can be seen here.

Well done to all the teams, which were: While the opening rounds of the competition for the Open Teams took place, there were Women's and Seniors' Pairs competitions. The leading English performers were Fiona Brown & Helen Erichsen who finished 10th.

Manchester wins Pachabo Cup

The Pachabo Cup has been won by the Manchester team of John Holland, Michael Byrne, Rodney Lighton and Michael Newman. All were part of Manchester's winning team in 2015.

The Pachabo Cup is contested by the holders of the teams-of-four Championship of each County Association of EBU, and 25 counties took part in the event held on 9th - 10th June. It uses a hybrid system of scoring, combining both 'point-a-board' and IMPs converted to VPs.

Manchester scored 238 with Nottinghamshire (Ankush Khandelwal, Graham Kirby, William Crook, Rob Sharpe) in second on 234. Hants & Isle of Wight were third with 232.5, and Surrey fourth with 226.5.

Holland & Mould win Corwen Trophy

Manchester pair John Holland and Alan Mould won this year's event with 60.98% over four sessions. The Corwen is the EBU's inter-county pairs championship for which pairs qualify from their county's pairs championships. John has won it twice previously - last year with Michael Byrne and in 1991 with Alan Nelson.

Second place was taken by Steve Root and Shahzaad Natt with Giles & Gabriel Ip in third.

More Help With TD Rulings

The EBU, in conjunction with the EBL and the WBF, has updated our acclaimed series of TD Videos to bring them in line with the 2017 Laws of Duplicate Bridge. The new videos, together with three of the original ones that have not been superseded, are available on the Laws & Ethics section of the website.